We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windfall Rafting Day Trips

Windfall Rafting Day Trips
697 Main Street, Jackman, ME 04945
800-682-2009
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Whitewater Rafting with Windfall Rafting. Since 1982, Windfall Rafting has been providing guests with memorable outdoor adventure vacations. We offer white water rafting on the Kennebec and Dead Rivers as well as a broad range of other adventure activities including Rock Climbing, Paintball, Kayaking and more. With a variety of lodging options ranging from affordable family lodging to luxury cabins – we bring you the best of both the outdoors and indoors.
Lindenhurst, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The guides were great, the trip well planned and executed. The kids had a blast and the outing was a five star experience. I highly recommend.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Amazing management and exceptional staff!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I was invited to join a group of friends for our very first rafting trip! A total of 16 in our party. The General Manager (Seth) was wonderful and pleasant he models what customer service is all about!! From the phone reservations to the email confirmation and answering follow up questions! We were greeted upon arrival by a very friendly energetic and welcoming staff! The day we booked there wer other small parties and a very very large group of children. They never once lost focus on us and they made us feel like we were their only customers that day! I had an unfortunate accident a few weeks before and injured my shoulder. They were so accommodating and made it possible for me to watch the send off of our group and pick me up midpoint to coast down the river on the smoother part of the ride. Our guides... Mason and Ashley were wonderful and made the day even more memorable!! They learned our names quickly checked on us gauged our element of adventure to really know and understand what we were looking for. Overall it was an A++ day and would highly recommend this company to others!!! Thank you for an amazing maiden voyage, but certainly not the last!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamorada, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Highly recommended outfit, great rapids for beginner or more experienced rafter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

While travelling in Jackman make sure to include a rafting trip with Windfall. From the begining, Heather in the office was personable and helpful. She was a guide but her expertise didnt stop her from showing that she loved her job and people in and out of the water. She took time on the phone and off to answer all questions and ensure safety and that wed have a great trip. Even though the rapids are a short drive East, they gear you up in Jackman then bus you a short trip to the launch site. Or, apparently, you can meet them there if staying outside Jackman. The rapids were Class III and IV and Windfall guides know the river. I felt safe and exhillerated throughout. They provide a campfire stop with lunch midway which was above expectations. Some outfitters dont and only had snacks. I was a little colder and they even provided fleece jackets for us coldies.

While there were other outfitters there, I wouldnt go with any other group but windfall. On the water, in observation, our rafts seemed to have more personable guides and be having alot better experience. After the major rapids and lunch, the waters were calmer and we were able to take out little one or two person "duckies" and enjoy some eye level low level rapids. Also, Windfall encouraged some free swimming (or floating). Some boats even had some rafting games going on together laughs and all! Windfall prioritizes safety but encourages an enjoyable river rafting experience.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
288 helpful votes 288 helpful votes
“Hands down the best outdoor activity guide company I've dealt with.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

My wife and I have nothing but great things to say about Windfall. They are a class organization. The young people who are hired as guides give me renewed faith in the younger generation among us. We took advantage of going on an all day river rafting trip on the Kennebec River in which we were treated greatly, had a good lunch and all day we felt a part of the group and most of all, safe! They also do other activities such as hikes to waterfalls and other outdoor activities. We went on a hike with a guide to a beautiful falls which is on no maps and was a hidden treasure. I would highly recommend this group if you are visiting the Moose River Valley, Jackman area.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
“Rafting and Rock Climbing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We went through Windfall for our 1st time rafting and rock climbing. We couldn't have asked for a better group of people to take us on our first rafting trip and Rock climbing. We wanted to experience new things on our vacation, and the place we stayed recommended Windfall. We had such a great time. We were a little nervous, but our guides were so great! They made our rafting trip so much fun! And Rock Climbing was very exciting. Everyone was encouraged, and helped throughout the climb. We can't speak highly enough about everyone at Windfall. We cant begin to tell you what a great time we had. We would highly recommend Windfall for any activity you want to do! The people in Jackman were wonderful. That was the best part of our trip to Maine!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windfall Rafting Day Trips also viewed

 

Been to Windfall Rafting Day Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windfall Rafting Day Trips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.