We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabin living straight out of the 1960's but not for everyone.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Colony on Frenchman's Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Colony on Frenchman's Bay to your Saves list
The Colony on Frenchman's Bay
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   # 20 rr3, Hulls Cove, ME   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hulls Cove
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cabin living straight out of the 1960's but not for everyone.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

My wife and I, having come of age in the late 60's / early 70's found this cabins to be quite nostalgic, and has some have pointed out, perhaps a bit worn / worse for the wear. I can juxtapose our stays at the Colony to other, more luxurious places on MDI, but that would not be fair. If you are looking for luxury, bell hops, over-the-top guest services, this place is not for you. If you are looking for a reasonably priced place to stay with a full sized refrigerator, stove, microwave, toaster and coffeemaker so you can make your own breakfast (and maybe lunch or bring home a couple of lobsters to boil) and save some $, then this place is for you.

Bottom line: This is a nice compromise between camping (which can be cold and wet on MDI) or spending a bunch of money on a room (without a kitchen, dining area or front porch).

Room Tip: Ask for one of the single cabins, if you get one of the "duplex" cabins you might be shari...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    37
    10
    6
    11
See reviews for
42
40
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Lovely view and nice pool. That's about all I can say. Rooms are musty, there were spiders in our towels and we lost power on the Fourth of July. We stayed the night anyway because we already paid. Not one person asked if we needed anything and when I called to report the problem the man was rude and condescending. Beds left me with a back ache for 2 days. Not worth $150!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orrington ME
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Visited here for the 4th of July weekend! We (my daughter, son-in-law and granddaughter) were in 17. Found it to be a nice cabin reminding me of my childhood camp. Clean, comfortable with older furnishings. You would hunt long and hard to fine nostalgic stuff like this to furnish a camp! Loved the retro green bath fixtures. Real wool blankets too to warm up from the ocean breeze! Price was great for the quality and especially if you pay by cash! Amazed at the hospitality with a 4th of July BBQ for all! The pool was one of the best outdoor pools I have every seen at cabins. Kyle and family work hard to make your experience a good one - and we did have some horrid rains, high winds and things this weekend. Working a business like this in a high tourist area is not easy. Kudos to them having a lovely private beach across the road - something few in the area own. Pet friendly too! Thank you all - I know we will be back as a family! Hope their season is a good one!

Room Tip: Some cabins have little kitchenettes with a stove and larger frig. We had an adequate frig, microwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed over the 4th of July weekend at a premium rate during hurricane Andrew. We lost power the morning of the 5th and weren't scheduled for reconnection until the 8th. The owner offered no amenities, no transition to the many cabins with power and was annoyed with our calls for service. If you're looking for a subpar "cabin" with multiple dificiencies (spiders, ants, broken showers, and noisy neighbors) than this is the place for you! Don't expect refunds for nights without power and/or heat, as well as not having a working shower because they aren't the owners fault (as we were told). Be cautious with this stay....and you've been warned!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is our 4th stay at the Colony. This year we stayed in cottage 26a . We traveled as a couple with our dog. We loved staying at the Colony. It is not a 5 star hotel. The cottages are simple, the furnishings are vintage and have not been updated, but it is CLEAN and COZY. It fits with the rustic setting of Acadia National Park. The Colony is family run. It is laid back and friendly. Jean is a sweetheart. Kyle is always helpful and accommodating. There are other family members that help run the motel and always are helpful. The location is wonderful ,you are on the water, with great views, and a short walk to the beach. The Colony does not offer a lot of frills, but if you are a "Rusticator" and enjoy the simple pleasures of Acadia National Park then this is for you. They are also very dog friendly, and our dog Harry loved his stay also. Our daughter and her husband stayed in the cottage next door and enjoyed their stay also. Thank you Kyle,

Room Tip: If you need a little extra room, choose the a side of the cottage, they have a second room with a tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We got both rooms 30a and 30 for my wife, 2 boys and my self. Very cute set up. A bit out dated for furniture but very comfortable non the less. Warm, cozy, & quite. We stayed off peak season so the complex was almost completely empty. Not sure what it would be like sharing a wall/cabin with another family. Beware of the water pressure....If not careful the shower will blast you through the wall! Haha. We enjoyed the stay and will definitely be back.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown PA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Great dog spot with beautiful sunrises and lots of walking space. Chart Room restaurant is next door and always good, and the bathroom, although small, was updated.

Beds are a little on the soft side, but everything was clean and rates are a value!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Colony on Frenchman's Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colony on Frenchman's Bay

Address: # 20 rr3, Hulls Cove, ME
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Hulls Cove
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hulls Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Colony on Frenchman's Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Colony on Frenchman's Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colony On Frenchman`s Bay Hotel Hulls Cove
The Colony On Frenchman's Bay Hulls Cove, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Colony on Frenchman's Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.