We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to take a family!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Colony on Frenchman's Bay

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hulls Cove
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Colony on Frenchman's Bay
# 20 rr3, Hulls Cove, ME   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Hulls Cove
Harrison, Maine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place to take a family!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

My wife and I have spent many summers here. The property is always wonderful. The cottages are well kept. The motel is where we stay when the cottages are full. The Colony is to me my Bar Harbor / Home away from home. The staff always is welcoming and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    36
    8
    4
    10
See reviews for
40
35
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick, Maine
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I was very pleased with my recent stay at the Colony. The staff knew who I was when I arrived, it was an unusally cold late summer night and the heat had been turned on in the cabin. There was a current copy of Downeast magazine in the room and the owner provided me with quarters for the ice machine. The Colony is located directly across the street from the ocean and there is a great little beach there also. It's within short walking distance to a restaurant on the ocean side and a general store with chips and beer and burgers. About 3 miles from downtown BH. Another reviewer wrote that it is clean and that it was. Staff was very accomodating as well.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

The Colony is not fancy. It is dated. If you're looking for luxury, go someplace else and pay a lot more. The Colony has the essentials, is clean, is modestly priced, and is SO convenient. It is mostly cabins but has several motel units. Our unit had a microwave oven and small refrigerator. The WiFi is extremely slow in the afternoon and evening, so plan on using it in the morning. The Acadia Loop Road entrance is almost next door, and The Colony is also convenient to roads to Cadillac Mountain and Southwest Harbor. This is a great place to stay if you like convenience over luxury. The Colony is just a short distance out of Bar Harbor, so you can avoid the crowded streets and parking problems if you had stayed in Bar Harbor. The one irritating event was to find a note on the door that the office person was out for dinner. That's no way to run an office for this place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We have been staying at the Colony for about 23 years now. We return year after year, and this year we were blessed to be able to return three times within a six week period. What can I say other than Kyle and his mother Jean are just terrific people. We feel safe and at home at the Colony, and refuse to stay anywhere else. Kasey (Kyle's sister and Jean's daughter) - cleans the rooms to a sparkling clean finish. This past trip we stayed in Room 70 - that captured the most spectactular sunrises. Other times, if available we usually occupy one of the cottages. I really can't say enough about the Colony - other than make it one of your destination places to stay!!! We give it an A++++++. Oh and btw one of the few places where the proprietor can pronounce our Italian last name!!! :)

Room Tip: I recommend any room you can get based on availability.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Loved The Colony! We had the premier room, end unit, with a picture window overlooking the bay. Two leather chairs with ottomans to relax and enjoy the view when the weather is a bit chilly or wet. It was late September when we Floridians visited, so the inside view was perfect. Very comfortable oversize king bed, that if you opted to leave the curtains open can watch the sunrise through the picture window. The road is between you and the bay with traffic heading to Acadia, so you will want to close the curtains for privacy. Room clean, sink in bathroom and another outside. This room was just redone, refurnished with a bit of old charm left. Jean, the owner, is very friendly and accommodating. Great restaurant, The Chart Room, just steps away. Highly recommend it, told a few other couples heading towards Acadia about it and they plan to stay there, too.

Room Tip: Room 70 has the big picture window - especially great if the weather isn't perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

We stayed at The Colony on Frenchman's Bay in Cottage #3 for 3 nights from 9/18-21. We were early to check in, but when greeted by the owner upon arrival we instantly new we had found a great place to stay. She was very accommodating and allowed us to preview the cottage unescorted to make sure it was to our liking. Everyone on staff that we talked with was polite and friendly. The cottage was spacious and extremely clean. Something the owners were very proud of. It's a perfect place to stay if you are going to visit Acadia and/or Bar Harbor, since both are only a short drive away. Also, the view of Frenchman's Bay is spectacular from almost anywhere on the property, especially the private beach. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: If you'd prefer not having other vacationers' in the neighboring room, or just want somethin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

What we loved: 1. It's close to Acadia -- we loved that it was so VERY close to Acadia that we were able to drive up Cadillac Mountain for the sunrise in our PJ's, waking everyone at 4:45 a.m. and were still able to be back at the Colony by 6:30 so that we could sleep in a bit more before a long day in the park. This is the number ONE reason to book at the Colony - the sunrise on the mountain is an unforgettable and awe-inspiring experience! It's also just a short drive to Bar Harbor, and though we didn't use it, it's also on the bus line. 2. Beautiful grounds and a view that will remind you that you are definitely in MAINE. We were way in the 'back' in cottage 16 and still able to sit on the porch with a gorgeous view of the harbor, water, and landscape. We watched various ships sailing in and out of the Maine landscape - including one large cruise ship, and a very pretty three-masted schooner. 3. Pool - super clean and heated. 4. Cottages are cozy and quaint, and very clean! Loved the kitschy retro feel and especially the seafoam green bathroom!! 5. Huge lawn was great for the kids to safely play. There was none of that 'cooped up' 'what are we gonna do now?' feeling that you get crammed into a hotel room.... Even with six people, with all that outdoor space, it felt very livable and relaxing. For the kids, it's almost like being at a campground as it's safe for them to run around in the yard playing ball and making friends with other kids. 6. Within walking distance there is a very good seaside restaurant - casual fine dining with a full bar, as well as a pizza place, an ice cream shop and a small general store. What else do you need?! 7. Didn't have a dog with us, but, how can you not love such a wonderful pet friendly place? 8. If you are there on a Saturday night, be sure to meet the bagpiper. He plays first out near the small beach overlooking the water - later made the rounds to each cottage and serenades you with a private song if you like. 9. Prices are very reasonable compared to other places in Bar Harbor area. 10. Gotta love the separate bedrooms in some of the cottages - after all that 'togetherness' on vacation, was very nice to have our own room - and the kids loved that the TV was in their space in the main room. GREAT PLACE!!!! (One suggestion: It is so nice to sit outside on your little porch, whether watching the kids in the pool, or just admiring the view. That said, it might be worth packing a couple of comfortable lawn chairs, as the two porch chairs provided are just your basic straight backed hard metal chairs, and not too comfy for kicking back with a glass of wine and taking in the view. We were glad we had our soft folding beach chairs with us)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Colony on Frenchman's Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colony on Frenchman's Bay

Address: # 20 rr3, Hulls Cove, ME
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Hulls Cove
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Hulls Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
The Colony On Frenchman`s Bay Hotel Hulls Cove
The Colony On Frenchman's Bay Hulls Cove, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Colony on Frenchman's Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Colony on Frenchman's Bay to your Saves list