We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pet Friendly Cabins” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Colony on Frenchman's Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Colony on Frenchman's Bay to your Saves list
The Colony on Frenchman's Bay
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   # 20 rr3, Hulls Cove, Bar Harbor, ME   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hulls Cove
Ridgefield, Connecticut
1 review
“Great Pet Friendly Cabins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

Just came back from a vacation with my daughter and my dog. The Colony was a great place to stay. Clean, quiet, and very dog friendly (they even have a dog walk). The heated pool was a nice break between activities. The cabins are not right on the road, so it is quiet. The Colony is 2 minutes from the entrance to Acadia, and 10 minutes from town. The kitchen only consists of a fridge and microwave, so plan accordingly. Also, I would suggest bringing your own towels (you are given the standard small hotel towels). I am writing a review because it was helpful for me when I was looking for a place to stay. I will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    37
    11
    6
    11
See reviews for
42
41
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Stayed at the Colony for a family reunion. It reminded me of vacationing back in time. Clean little cottages that were close to the attractions, but very dated. The last updates to decor seemed to be in the 1970s, complete with crushed velvet chairs! The staff was very friendly. If you are not particular about having all the extras, this was a clean place to stay at a better value than the places inside Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

My husband and I , our adult daugher and her friend rented two side by side rooms in one cottage 31 a-b over the July 4th weekend. We stayed for 5 nights.This was our third stay at the Colony. This is a Downeast Maine Mom and Pop type hotel. The cottages were clean and comfortable. They were bright and airy with lots of windows. The sea air just wafted through our rooms. The colony is a modest cottage, very retro, clean and cozy. The views of Hulls Cove are fantastic and the location and value cannot be beat. The best part are the owners. It is family run, Jean, is so friendly and accomodating.She did everything she could to get our rooms for the dates we wanted.
She would stop by and "visit" with our dog Harry in the morning. she is a wonderful host!! Her son Kyle, is very down to earth and cooked a FREE 4th of July barbecue.. There was lobster, ribs, steaks, chicken, hamburger, sausages, baked potatoes, salad , deserts,etc.. all for free., he was very patient as the guests were eagerly requesting their food. How many establishments would do this for guests?? This is a comfortable, clean place to stay, you cannot beat the location . I get homesick when I am away, but seeing the family bond between Jean and her family made me feel at home...If you are looking for lavish, fancy duds, this is not for your, but down to earth comfort and people. .. you have it here!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

Highly recommend, not luxury but very clean with an awesome view and bang for your dollar. Lots of space including a great lawn for kids to run around on. Great place for a family. We had a cabin with two rooms giving everyone a bed & a great night's sleep!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

We first stayed here in 1989 and have stayed almost every year now for 15+ years. We truly enjoy our stay each and every time! The staff is friendly and thoughtful. The view is beautiful and it's easy to visit all the greater Bar Harbor locations from Hulls Cove. Staying at The Colony at Hulls Cove is now tradition and always will be! Great for all ages!

The Bartley family
Maine

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

My wife and I honeymooned some years back at the Colony. We came back to relive the memories. We had such a good time. The room had been updated which was nice to see. We also loved the new pool! My wife loves having coffee in the morning on the lawn overlooking the water too.
We got to know the family that runs the place, Kyle and his mom Jean...they were always full of ideas on where to go and where to eat.

I guess it's fair to say that we'll be back. Thanks Jean!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

We stayed at The Colony on Frenchman's Bay for a whole week and it was the most relaxing stay EVER. We woke up every morning and stepped out right onto the bay, the seagulls, fresh air, and took lunch outside to take in the view. Our room was perfect, cleanest place we've ever been. It had a very clean kitchenette inside, and was super comfortable and quiet. And we can't say enough about the friendly staff. The English woman in the office was so friendly and helpful with activities, restaurants, and things to do in the area. We loved it and we can't wait to return in the summer. We highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for a beautiful place to stay on Frenchman's Bay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Colony on Frenchman's Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colony on Frenchman's Bay

Address: # 20 rr3, Hulls Cove, Bar Harbor, ME
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor > Hulls Cove
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hulls Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Colony on Frenchman's Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your The Colony on Frenchman's Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colony On Frenchman`s Bay Hotel Hulls Cove
The Colony On Frenchman's Bay Hulls Cove, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Colony on Frenchman's Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.