We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a winter getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morada do Sol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Morada do Sol to your Saves list
Morada do Sol
Rua de Italia, Malveira da Serra, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Bath, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place for a winter getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Having been to Portugal a few times, this has to rank as one of my best experiences there. Morada do Sol is a great place to get away and relax, whilst the covered pool and ball court meant there was always something to do outdoors. The 5 minute walk into Malveira da Serra ensures that unlike with other remote retreats, you are not cut off from the world. The staff at Sol Domus were incredibly polite and helpful, they even set up surf rental for me at the amazing Guincho beach (conveniently only a 10 minute drive away). All in all a great experience, and I would highly recommend Morada do Sol to anyone, whether travelling as a family or as a group of friends. My only regret was not getting organised and getting a bigger group of us out there!

Room Tip: Make sure to get in touch with Marcella before booking- the range of rooms mean they can cater to gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    3
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
Couples
0
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I stayed there with family and friends at the end of August and we had an excellent time. In fact, I was getting married in Cascais and the estate was perfect as we were all able to stay within the same complex.The agency was great to deal with, and no request was too difficult for them. The house was very well kept and spacious. Although, it is a drive to Cascais it is easy to get a bus or even a taxi and there is a small town within walking distance with everything you would need. The outside area was very well maintained and it was fantastic to have a private pool, barbecue and outside eating area. Also, they organised outside caterers for us on one of the nights and the serivce and food was amazing. Overall, I would highly recommend Morada de Sol and we are all still hoping to return, perhaps for our wedding anniversary!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

What a beautiful place to stay in Sintra region! We rented the whole complex for a week as we were getting married in Estoril and we had the most amazing time ever. Relaxing, friendly, peaceful - just perfect!

Very close to Sintra, Cascais and Lisbon so perfect for holidays with a bit of sightseeing!

Special thanks to the staff that keeps this place up and running! You are doing a really great job!

All best!

Fiona and Nick

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cordoba
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012 via mobile

very relaxing and welcoming place.they are are thinking of doing retreats.it's an ideal location .very zen

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfcCascais, Owner at Morada do Sol, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Thank you Antonio! Why not join our first Ayurveda retreat to be held 5-12 May, with Dr. Sandeep Shirvalkar – Doctor in Ayurvedic Medicine, will come especially from India. Contact us for more information
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

We had a really good time.The estate is very well maintained, the garden is beautiful and there is plenty of space giving it a relaxing yet welcoming ambiance. Indoors, the fireplace and air conditioning saved us from the temperate weather conditions. Not to mention the covered pool meant the water was never too cold, and we could use it both in the morning and evening! The surrounding town is charming and only 3km from the stunning Guincho beach. It is in the perfect location for exploring Lisbon, Cascais and Sintra, which meant we did a lot of sightseeing!
Thank you for everything! We hope to see you soon

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morada do Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morada do Sol

Address: Rua de Italia, Malveira da Serra, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Malveira da Serra
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Malveira da Serra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morada do Sol is a large, enclosed property to let on a short term basis, in a rural setting near Cascais, Portugal, at the foot of the Sintra hills, 3 km from Guincho beach. This is an ideal location for nature lovers, being in the Sintra-Cascais protected National Park where building is very restricted. Lisbon and its airport are 30 minutes away. With a large swimming pool and beautiful grounds in a 5000m2 estate, close to the beach and the many attractions of Cascais, Lisbon and Sintra, Morada do Sol offers an ideal setting for a perfect holiday: peace and privacy amongst the beauty and tranquility of nature but with all you might want close by. The large, covered pool means the water is warm enough for you to swim from April to November although you are free to use it all year round; sliding doors allow you to catch a cooling breeze in the summer months. The extensive and well-kept gardens with their grand pine tree drive and many areas and spaces of different character have wonderful displays of colour for most of the year and the mature palm trees provide delightful summer shade. Help yourself to fresh tomatoes, lettuces, apples, pears, lemons, oranges, figs and pomegranates from the orchard and vegetable garden, all biologically produced. In winter, relax by a log fire and contemplate the view down a green and unspoilt valley to the sea, or the mystical Sintra hills behind. Enjoy the outdoor games area and sauna all year round. Morada do Sol has two villas in its grounds which can be let as 4 independent units. All units have their own private access and outside space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Morada do Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morada do Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.