We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its a coin toss” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ruby Slippers Cafe and Bakery

Ruby Slippers Cafe and Bakery
103 Norway Road, Harrison, ME
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Harrison
Cuisines: Bakery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Everthing is hand made. They are open for breakfast and lunch. They have been open less than one year but with home cooking and baked goods like they have they are on the way for success. They have the best French Onion soup I have ever tasted. If you are in Maine it is a must stop.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Its a coin toss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Some times we have amazing breakfasts here, one other time we waited over an hr for pancakes. We ended up just leaving and paying for the coffee. Cant really put my finger on what bugs me about this place

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    3
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Naples, ME
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Start your day at Ruby Slippers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We recently found Ruby Slippers and it's the spot where we now go for breakfast or lunch, depending on when our group arises. The baked goods are quite good, food is always freshly prepared and you are doing a great job. May business flourish.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fryeburg, Maine
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“So so...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Service is not the best here, but the food is good. If you are a regular, it's a plus as you know how to wait on yourself. Prices are kind of steep for what you get. It's not warm and cozy, it's more cool and not much for atmosphere. Summer time outside looks like it could be fun.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy122, Owner at Ruby Slippers Cafe and Bakery, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
I am very sorry to see that your visit to us wasn't what you had hoped for. We live by the words "there's no place like home, except here". We are very fortunate to have regular customers who do feel at home and often times can be seen brewing coffee/helping themselves/seating new guests etc. We pride ourselves on that. It is part of the atmosphere we strive for and hope that all of our company (we don't call them customers) will feel so comfortable. If you were made to feel uncomfortable or uncozy, that was certainly not our intent. We appreciate your comments as a way to improve! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great and delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Absolutely delicious! I had a egg white omelet that was mouth watering and my husband had their "kitchen sink" omelet which he says was amazing. My son had steak and eggs which he said the steak was very well seasoned and tender and the eggs were done perfect! Also, the toast was made form homemade bread and buttered to perfection! The atmosphere is amazing and everyone is so friendly and it is very clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Catering for Our Wedding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The staff at Ruby Slippers were absolutely amazing! While planning our destination wedding (we are from Indiana) Laurie was great to correspond with and made planning our food a breeze. Not only was the food delicious, they also made the BEST tasting wedding cake ever using fresh ingredients including eggs from local farmers. One stop shop for us which made everything so organized. We will continue to come back to Harrison just for their food. They offered a Sunday brunch buffet the day after our wedding at their restaurant and it was yummy. We had the eggs benedict and then returned for lunch later and had an awesome seasonal soup, pumpkin curry. The entire staff made our whole wedding week feel so special. Their professionalism and dedication to their business is outstanding. Thanks guys! We cannot wait to come back for a visit! Brad & Jess

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruby Slippers Cafe and Bakery also viewed

Been to Ruby Slippers Cafe and Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruby Slippers Cafe and Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.