We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wondrous Coastal Maine Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Captain's Watch Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpswell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Captain's Watch Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added The Captain's Watch Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
926 Cundy's Harbor Road, Harpswell, ME 04079   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Harpswell B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wondrous Coastal Maine Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We had a most wonderful time during our weekend stay at The Captain's Watch. I am delighted to let you know that I had selected The Captain's Watch as a very special B&B for the weekend that I proposed to my fiance. The Captain's Watch is a magnificent space and Donna was such an excellent host and made our stay extremely special and memorable. She was very knowledgable and spent time with us to help us to plan out our days. The breakfasts we consumed were fantastic and we had the pleasure of staying in The Captain's Quarters where we had access to the cupola. Might I just state how incredible the vantage point is to observe coastal life from the cupola!!! Fantastic! Cundy's Harbor was glorious and I can't see how I would ever not stay at The Captain's Watch whenever back in the area. We hope to be back soon!

Room Tip: The Captain's Quarters is a great choice if available. Access to the cupola is key!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    2
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
38
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington DE
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

The delay in reviewing our two night September stay at Captain's Watch in no way diminishes our enthusiasm and raves. Donna and Ken are the most gracious of hosts, welcoming, comfortable and involved with guests and their requests without being intrusive. The relaxing drives to restaurants, small galleries, shops and other attractions are what a coastal ME experience is about. They know the Harpswell area well and are available to make suggestions. Our next visit will be for longer with time to include a sail on Symbion. As sailors in our younger days, there were many sailing tales to share. We didn't take advantage of the cupola but had a wonderful harbor view from our room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Very enjoyable stay at The Captain's Watch. We stayed for three nights; first two in the Captains Watch Room and the last night in the Harbor View Room. Both were very nice. We loved the access to the cupola for wine and cheese that we had brought the first night. Donna and Ken were delightful hosts! They had great suggestions for dinner (Morse's on Orr's Island; so good we ate there two of our three nights in Maine!) We didn't have time to go sailing with Ken on his boat this time, but will next year for sure! They did allow us to use their dock to put in our rental kayaks that we had picked up and transported on our car. We had a great time paddling around the bay and exploring the litlle islands and coves.
All in all, a great mini-vacation and one we would love to repeat. We highly recommend the Captain's Watch B&B. Wonderful breakfasts, great accomodations and delightful hosts! A truly winning combination!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent two nights at the Captain's Watch Bed and Breakfast. We had traveled to the area with my sister and brother in law, both avid Maine travelers for many years. Through those years, I had heard my sisters opinions of the various Inns and Bed and Breakfast establishments they had visited, and there were many. Always, The Captain's Watch was their favorite in all ways. Naturally, it was on top of the list of establishments they wanted to share. Expectations where high, and they were certainly met. The Captain's Watch is perfect in our opinion. It's location at Cundy's Harbor is amazing, as is the 1860's era inn itself. Add the personal touch of Inn Keepers Donna & Ken, and Donna's amazing breakfasts, and you simply have the perfect Maine destination.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Ridge, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Captain's Watch and enjoyed it very much. Normally, we have either stayed with relatives in Freeport or rented a house in Harpswell but this time we chose a B&B as we had limited time to travel. Donna and Ken are fun hosts and know a great deal about the area of Harpswell and surrounding towns with excellent recommendations of things to do. I felt very much at home by her welcome. Next time, we plan on sailing with Ken on his sailboat! Donna's breakfasts were excellent and filling which left us with no desire for lunch!
Accommodations very comfortable and clean.

Room Tip: We were showed several rooms on the 2nd floor. The one we chose had views of Cundy's Harbor. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado, USA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Not a thing to complain about. We wish we had discovered the Captain's Watch years ago. Very clean, quiet (well, there are lobster boats puttering about in the harbor, but not very noisy... and it's a working harbor after all), very clean and excellent, varied breakfasts. Noteworthy was the conversation at breakfast with some fascinating guests; this place attracts some very nice people!

Donna is ready early each morning with good coffee and seems to enjoy having people in her kitchen. Ken pitches in when not taking out a sailing charter. Library and several wharfs just a short walk away. The view from the cupola is quite nice.

Lastly, their "sitting room" has comfortable couches and chairs and a fine stock of reading material to augment the strong internet wifi signal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We have spent our summer vacation in Maine for the past 5 summers. We found the Captain's Watch B&B for our first trip to Maine in about 20 years 5 summers ago. For the past 3 summers, we have "bookended" our days in ME by spending our first and last nights of vacation here. Each spring when we contact Donna and Ken, they are always gracious and accommodating to our requests for both dates and preferred rooms. Once we book our dates with them, we work out the rest of our trip and we don't usually stay at other B&Bs because we don't think any could compare to our experiences at the Captain's Watch.

Donna and Ken are wonderful hosts and they take the time to get to know their guests. Their suggestions for ideas of things to do around Harpswell and along our routes to other parts of Maine are excellent. The rooms (we have stayed in all but 1) are clean, comfortable and charming and we never get tired of the views. Breakfasts are excellent! and Donna does a wonderful job of planning so that we don't eat the same breakfast twice during our stays. We haven't been disappointed any of the 5 summers that we have visited and our stays at the Captain's Watch are where we feel most at home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Captain's Watch Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Captain's Watch Bed and Breakfast

Address: 926 Cundy's Harbor Road, Harpswell, ME 04079
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Harpswell
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Harpswell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Captain's Watch Bed And Breakfast Harpswell, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Captain's Watch Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.