We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb first experience with fine sailing.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sail Casco - Private Tours

Sail Casco - Private Tours
130 Reach Rd, Harpswell, ME 04079
207 504 7341
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Attractions in Harpswell
Type: Boat Tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sail Casco provides private sailboat charters around the beautiful islands of Casco Bay and beyond. Sit back and enjoy the scenery or help sail my Island Packet 37 foot sailboat around some of the best cruising waters of the USA. Half day, full day or overnight, the choice is yours.
Harpswell, Maine
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb first experience with fine sailing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My 17 year old grandson and I spent a grand day with Captain Marshall, exposing my grandson to his first sailing experience.
Captain Marshall provided him with a superb introduction to sailing, learning the handling of his very impressive and comfortable Island Packet.
He was put to work from the very beginning learning to steer a course, hoisting and trimming the sails and learning the theory and practice of sail handling and manning the wheel to make the most of the wind.
Captain Marshall provided us with running commentary on the surrounding shores, fauna, and seaway enroute through the navigation buoys from his anchorage, south through Harpswell and Merriconeag Sounds to Casco Bay.
We picked up a mooring to relax and enjoy a snack for lunch before casting off and enjoying a fine breeze, sailing in Casco Bay and then north again back to his dock, exploring all points of sail, tacking and jibing.
Captain Marshall's obvious sailing knowledge and friendly presence throughout the day contributed to an outstanding and instructive day for us both.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richfield, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ian was the best - GREAT experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Sailing with Ian is a must-do during a visit to Maine, what an incredible afternoon! Ian was a fantastic captain and we enjoyed every minute of our time with him. We met him at his house and quickly got onto the sail boat. We went through a safety briefing and started to move past all of the lobster bouyes to open water. Ian was able to share everything from the how-to’s of sailing to fun Maine lobstering facts. This would be a fantastic experience for a family of all ages. My husband and I sail during every trip (Caribbean, San Francisco, Seattle, New York City and more) and our afternoon with Ian was top notch!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Celebration cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We chartered Sail Casco for a cruise to celebrate our daughter's engagement on the 4th of July this last week. It was a perfect day and a wonderful experience. The Captain, Ian Marshall, is very professional and attentive and the route he chose was gorgeous. He provided complimentary drinks and snacks and made everyone feel safe and secure. I would recommend our 4 hour cruise to anyone. The boat is very spacious with lots of room on deck and under. A first-class experience.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moriah
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Enjoyable and educational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Our 12 year old nephew expressed interest in sailing and we contacted Sail Casco seeking an opportunity to experience sailing and to learn the skills of navigation. Ian Marshall provide expert instruction and direction, allowing our nephew to sail the boat! Highly recommend Sail Casco as a venture in Casco Bay to see the seals, feel the sea breeze and enjoy the scenery.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sail Casco - Private Tours also viewed

Harpswell, Mid Coast Maine
Harpswell, Mid Coast Maine
 
Harpswell, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Sail Casco - Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sail Casco - Private Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.