We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun if you come by land or sea!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holbrook's Lobster Grille and Snack Bar

Holbrook's Lobster Grille and Snack Bar
984 Cundy's Harbor Road, Harpswell, ME 04079
207-729-9050
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 13 Restaurants in Harpswell
Cuisines: Seafood
Description: Charming lobster grille and snack bar on wharf overlooking fishing port in Cundy's Harbor, Maine.
Restaurant details
Description: Charming lobster grille and snack bar on wharf overlooking fishing port in Cundy's Harbor, Maine.
Weston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great fun if you come by land or sea!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Located in Cundy's Harbor, Harpswell, Maine, Holbrook's offers fresh, simple but delicious dishes such as a killer haddock sandwich, chowder, lobster rolls and other local delicacies. All to order, pick up and enjoy on their open deck overlooking lobster boats, the river and Casco Bay beyond. Beer and wine can be purchased at the small store nearby, or BYOB. Desserts are also good.

A casual, quintessential Maine experience with good food, local fish and a small, local gift shop within easy walking distance.

Enjoy Maine and great food as you view the real working harbor just beyond the deck!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    12
    4
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati , OH
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic view, solid food, BYOB classic Maine cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We are summer residents and go here on our boat about once/week. Classic fried foods (batter on most)' steamed lobster, chowders and fish tacos and lobster quesadillas. You dine on picnic tables on a wharf overlooking one of the most stunning views around MicCoast Maine. Food can go up and down sometimes but classics are always good. Last wk we had a lobster dinner for $12! Key times can be a little bit of a wait on weekends but who really cares as hopefull you are having a cold beer or glass of wine while you wait. Also there is a general store on one side that sells beer, wine. On the other side a little gift store that has Maine gifts at a reasonable price. Definitely go support this community effort as it is a classic Maine dining experience and the drive there is lovely.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton,Ma
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Changed for the worse”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Having frequented this spot over the years I was disappointed to read some of the reviews stating the food was overly greasy, the cole slaw dry and flavorless, and the service too slow. I thought people were being too critical. We went two times recently by boat and lo and behold, recent reviewers were right. What was once jammed with eager tourists and regulars was a ghost town. The fried haddock was dripping in grease and the onion rings tasted like fried fish. The lone exception were the fried clams which were lightly battered and tasty. The cole slaw is dying for some dressing and seasoning and the haddock, while obviously fresh and a good portion, deserves a different, lighter, and less greasy coating. I'm hesitant to complain about restaurants because it is so hard to please everyone. In this case I'm hoping that the lack of customers will alert the current owners to change their recipes and improve the food quality back to what it was several years ago.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takoma Park, Maryland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A view and great seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Since Danny Gilmore took over Holbrook's grill last year things have gotten better and better. We love to go there by boat, have really great seafood and dessert and waddle back to the boat. Try the soups... they are terrific.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“what a view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This lobster shack is a short walk from where we stay when in Harpswell (Captain's Watch B&B). The food is fresh, reasonably priced and the views of the harbor are wonderful!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holbrook's Lobster Grille and Snack Bar also viewed

Harpswell, Mid Coast Maine
 
Harpswell, Mid Coast Maine
Harpswell, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Holbrook's Lobster Grille and Snack Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holbrook's Lobster Grille and Snack Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.