We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ruth & Wimpy's

Ruth & Wimpy's
Main road-route one, Hancock, ME
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 12 Restaurants in Hancock
Cuisines: American
Description: A great rusticated Maine restaurant where you can get a reasonably priced lobsta dinner and the best homemade pie anywhere. The personnel are always great and Wimpy is a neat guy. I love it there. No trip to Bar Harbor is complete without a stop at Ruth & Wimpy's (and I haven't got a dime in this).
Restaurant details
Description: A great rusticated Maine restaurant where you can get a reasonably priced lobsta dinner and the best homemade pie anywhere. The personnel are always great and Wimpy is a neat guy. I love it there. No trip to Bar Harbor is complete without a stop at Ruth & Wimpy's (and I haven't got a dime in this).
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bad service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Bad and slow as s$@t service. Food meh... Wait staff is leaderless and clueless. Waited 20 minutes to have someone take our order. Another 30 minutes for drinks to arrive. Wait staff was not rude per se just slow and rudderless

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    17
    2
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
353 reviews 353 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“The locals eat here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We ate lobster everyday during our 5 day stay in the area. This was the best priced with friendly staff. Entertaining decor. You can eat inside or out. Lobster is made many ways. This is a down home local place nothing fancy. Wear your jeans and get going.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverhead, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Terrific Seafood, Great Value & Fun Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We where staying on the Schoodic Penninsula for a week this August and kept passing Ruth & Wimpy's on Route 1 in Hancock. They have a fun huge fiberglass lobster out front and what looks like a restored '46 Plymouth sedan parked in the lot-and lots of customers. We tried them first for lunch. It was pouring outside-Maine teaming downpour. We walked in totally soaked, and they where so nice to us. Hostess and waitresses all welcoming, and the locals chatting. The staff obviously enjoys working here and the locals like eating here. We had a wonderful lunch of Clam Chowder and their combo deep fried clam bellies and Maine shrimp. Absolutely delicious and perfectly battered and not at all oily. The Chowder was chock full of clams and creamy and delicious. Blueberries now in season and they make a great pie to top it off with.

The food was so good at lunch, we went back a couple days later for their $14.95 1 1/2 pound boiled Lobster dinner special with sides of your choosing. Great price and Lobs where full of meat and perfect. The place has a fun, campy interior of toys, bumper stickers, models of trucks and cars etc., the staff is great and the prices are right. Not much more you can ask for in a Route 1 Seafood house. We will definitely keep it on our list for future visits.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Four of us had a mid-afternoon lunch of lobster, clams, mussels and even a hamburger. Funky decor, very casual and relaxed family atmosphere, this is the popular place to go for a reasonably-priced, almost-touristy, down-home lobster experience. A must-see, must-eat area attraction!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellsworth, Maine
1 review
“big portions, friendly service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

A little kitschy but full of old-timers, huge portions and interestingly decorated. Huge lobster outside is GREAT for photos!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruth & Wimpy's also viewed

Hancock, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Hancock, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Hancock, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Hancock, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Ruth & Wimpy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruth & Wimpy's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.