We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood in Maine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anglers

Anglers
91 Coldbrook Rd, Hampden, ME 04444-1635
(207) 862-2121
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Hampden
Cuisines: Dessert, Seafood, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Takeout
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Great seafood in Maine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We drove here in the dark from a hotel about 2 miles up the road. It was March, snowing, and the parking lot was full on a Sunday night. That told us something right there. The seafood specials were fresh - not something frozen and shipped in. The service was quick. The waitress pointed out the specials - which I think is the way to go - but even if you don't like it, one of our party tried the standbys and were happy.

There are a lot of choices on the menu, and prices are affordable. You aren't paying for fancy ambiance. There's a fireplace inside - for some of that - yet the key is the food. The atmosphere is not intimate, but it is not noisy either. For food, they go for quality not quantity.

You can do better at a fancy, expensive restaurant - yet for a small town in Maine - this was unexpected for very good food at an excellent price.

Finally, the dessert was huge (quantity) - and if you get the blueberry pie - you know you're tasting a Maine specialty!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    14
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Fresh seafood!! Yum! Homemade desserts!! YUM!!! If you are in the area check this place out, the haddock and the scallops are delicious.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canaan, Maine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Seafood at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Anglers has great seafood and very large portions, you will not go away hungry. One of my favorite places to go when I want real fresh seafood. I usually go to the one in Newport Maine, but I would think the other two would be just as good. I am a Cape Cod girl so know my seafood, don't give me a frozen piece of fish from the Gorton's box just won't do for me.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinth, Maine
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Worth the trip every time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This particular Angler's is newer than the one in Newport and we have eaten at both several times. The service is always excellent and the foods are of high quality and taste. The Hampden restaurant is newer and offers a more quiet atmosphere but the seating is not intimate and overly apart from others. The price for meals at Angler's if comparable with other local area dining and they do offer a deal on your birthday which we like. Good place to eat, very good foods especially seafood and well worth the trip each and every time!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

the food was wonderful.........great service........atmosphere great...and it was Veterans Day........and pleasantly surprised when my son in laws meal was free........

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anglers also viewed

 

Been to Anglers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anglers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.