We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Seafood Enchilada Ever!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Slates Restaurant & Bakery

Slates Restaurant & Bakery
167 Water St, Hallowell, ME 04347
+1 207-622-9575
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 22 Restaurants in Hallowell
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Seafood, Bakeries, Vegetarian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Northern California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Seafood Enchilada Ever!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

On a business trip and out to dinner with collegues. Slates was highly recommended and lived up to the recommendation. Desserts were over the top!! My entrée was one of the best meals I have ever had at a restaurant. Nice sized portions and not too big. I would definitely return on my next trip to Augusta area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    39
    15
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harvard, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Food & Creative Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

A recent visit to Slates restaurant was a great experience. From the delicious raspberry martini, to the amazing fish dish, I'd say this was a satisfying family dinner. Slates came recommended to us by family friends and it certainly disappoint. There was even live music!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have been coming to Slates for many years when we visit the area in the summer. It has always been a favourite of ours, and we were shocked when the fire happened some years back. This was our first visit at the reborn Slates.

The building itself has been restored, and while it didn't keep exactly all the old charm, it was a good effort.

Where we were disappointed was the food. My wife and I had soup and sandwich; the sandwich (chicken and pesto) was lovely, but the soup was lukewarm. Worst was my daughters burger. She asked for it medium well, and it came out very rare. But it got worse.. when she complained they took it back and cooked it more - but in doing so lost all the cheese and burnt the bacon.

The only positive was the waiter deducted one of our meals from the bill to compensate. I appreciated that, but would have rather had a good old Slates experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Mixed review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

While we enjoyed our meals we were all disappointed with the portion sizes, particularly given the high price of the food. The service was slow as well. The taste of the food was good to excellent. There simply should have been more of it given the price.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islesboro, Maine
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Ok, but dirty.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The food is adequate, but I do not trust it because the cleaning standards are rather low. Trash accumulates and overflows outside, the only way to get ice is in a dirty, much touched cooler, and just generally not clean. They do have vegetarian choices, and if you get a drink from the cooler with no ice, it is tolerable.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slates Restaurant & Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Slates Restaurant & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slates Restaurant & Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.