We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lodge at Moosehead Lake

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Lodge at Moosehead Lake to your Saves list
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
368 Lily Bay Road, Greenville, ME 04441-4208   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
NEW YEAR'S EVE GETAWAY
Ranked #3 of 9 Greenville B&B and Inns
Saint Charles, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Views!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The Lodge at Moosehead Lake was exactly what we were looking for in our Maine vacation. We desired a clean, friendly b&b (but definitely not an old Victorian style one) with nice views in a town that is not super busy. The Lodge was a perfect fit. Our room was always clean, the food was always delicious, and the view...it was marvelous! We enjoyed a dinner on the deck overlooking the lake during sunset...and we were not disappointed. The food was very good and the service was great. We also enjoyed the little touches like the nightly turndown service, the little cards with the next days weather (even the weather back home too), and the great DVD library for after dark.

We also enjoyed the Moose Safari trip. It was definitely worth the money. Yes, we did see a few Moose on the side of the road that you might stumble upon, but we also were taken to a remote pond where we were able to canoe right up to the moose and enjoy the moose from the peace and quiet on the pond. Our guide was very friendly and informative...he was exactly what we wanted in a guide. He went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable and had a great time. We got to see 2 moose in the pond, one on a trail, and 2 on the road. We took the morning trip, and I would definitely recommend it! The breakfast that we enjoyed on the trip was excellent as well!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    23
    8
    2
    5
See reviews for
13
116
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bellows Falls, Vermont
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

It's hard to add to all the other perfect reviews, so in their guest book I mumbled something about Thoreau and Hemingway and how the romance of the outdoors was clearly reflected in the lodge. I've been to over 26 countries and the Lodge is one of the finest places we've stayed. Your hosts are gracious, and attentive, and everyone we met was in a good mood, and why not? Your staying in an outdoors person's paradise.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I want to be clear that this place was all you could expect. Our room was perfect. So clean, comfortable, and had everything. Every single detail is look after by the owner and staff. beyond top notch. The bathroom was great. Huge soaker tub with great shower.

Sitting on the porch at any point in the day is one of the best places to possible relax. Million dollar view? No way. Billion dollar view. Make sure to enjoy a beer or glass of wine out here as the sun goes down.

Service was top notch. nothing to be desired.

Food. Breakfast was fantastic. and there is always a little treat available anytime of the day. But take note that during the week there is no dinner served. saturday and Sunday only. no big deal, the fact that they have dinner at all is rare for a B&B. Think website hints to dinner anytime, could be wrong, but just saying.

There is a little dog there named Chloe. She is a sweetheart and just makes the stay a little better.

I want to touch on the moose safari. My wife and I basically decided to visit this Inn based on the opportunity for this experience. I'm sorry to say it was not what we expected or worth the money. Mark (the guide) is fantastic. He is very knowledgeable and friendly and fun. But this is not a special trip. first he takes you to place that any ordinary joe can find (as explained by him). In fact a family showed up right behind us that found the place themselves. We saw a few moose in the distant, was cool. Then drive for about an hour to a pond Mark has found and its a phenominal pond and setting. From there, we saw nothing. It's a total crap shoot if you are going to see anything. We saw nothing. I don't believe that it's worth the money for this trip. I was scared about it being a tourist trap before going and i'm dissapointed to say it is. But Mark is an awesome guy.

The Lodge at Mossehead Lake is a luxurious inn that can make anyone comfortable. It's worth the price to stay there. I felt I needed to give my opinion on the moose safari. But it really has nothign to do with the Inn itself as a place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Loved the lodge. Linda, the owner, was very accommodating and helpful is getting us acclimated to the area. The views are tremendous. The decor shows a great attention to detail and is very warm and comfortable.We had dinner there Sunday night, they just serve it on weekends, and the it was very good. We had a great view of the lake and the sunset while eating. Linda set us up on a "moose safari" with Mark and although we only saw two moose that morning, it was a great experience. Mark did a great educating us on the area and the wildlife, particularly the moose (of course). Breakfast was also yummy. It also has a "pub" for guests, We really did not use it but it has a pool table and a big screen TV as well as a comfortable couch and other furniture.

I highly recommend the Lodge, so relaxing and scenic!

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Loon Room", great patio and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

There are places , hidden jewels, scattered around te country where one can escape from the real world and enter the domain of 'Shangri-La'. These special places provide the traveler(s) with that rare sense of comfort and tranquility, which spells "I AM HOME"
Such a place exists at the edge of the North Woods of Maine. "THE LODGE AT MOOSEHEAD LAKE" is a member of this select few lodges that one must experience to understand.
Driving up to the Lodge, you are greeted by the owners, Linda and Dennis Bortis, and Chloe. Linda and Dennis greet you as if you are long lost, beloved family. Now Chloe is a dog, and a few gentle pets provides you with a friend for life.
Entering the Lodge, you are immediately taken by the elegantly rustic decor. The common rooms are decorated in the fashion of a hunting lodge, with a beautiful fire place, comfortable sofas and chairs, and a world of furnishings that are both fascinating and 'correct'. One could spend a great deal of time exploring the niches and wonders of these rooms.
The five guest rooms in the main house have individual themes. We stayed in the charming BEAR room, which was decorated with all things Bear. There were even carved Bear Headboards on the very comfortable bed, One encountered Bear carvings galore throughout the room. The room was not only charming, bur spacious and well appointed.
The other four rooms had these own themes, whether it be Moose, Totem, Loon. Trout, or Mount Kineo. Three additional suites are available in an adjoining building.
When one goes to breakfast in their dining room. one is treated to a hand made, elegant meal of exquisite taste. Dinner is served on season on Friday and Saturday.
When we returned from breakfast, we found that our room had been made. Since we had never seen any of the housekeeping staff, we could only conclude that "House Elves" really exist.
The views from the patios down to Moosehead Lake are awe inspiring, and the sunsets witnessed unbelievable.
The "LODGE AT MOOSEHEAD LAKE" is ideally situated for all outdoor lake activities, as well as Moose Safaris and back country hiking. Winter activities include Snowmobiling and Cross Country Skiing.
So, if you want an experience of a lifetime, Go to this four diamond establishment; "THE LODGE AT MOOSEHEAD LAKE" Reservations are necessary. Call Linda and Dennis Bortis at 207-695-4400 or 800-825-6977, with their e-mail being inkeeper@lodgeatmooseheadlake.com. Their web site is www.lodgeatmooseheadlake.com. They are located at 368 Lily Bay Road, Greenville, Maine 04441.
ENJOY THE ADVENTURE AND EXPERIENCE!

ALASKASEEKER

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We had an excellent experience at the Lodge at Moosehead Lake this past weekend. Snow and cold and the magnificient winter magesty. Warm hospitality - good food - great breakfasts and wonderful service and attention. Loved it! The room with a cozy fireplace and excellent view of the lake was just the way to spend a long weekend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The bed was comfortable, the other furniture in the room and common areas was comfortable, the fire was warm and the food was excellent. The hosts were friendly and helpful. Their concierge services were invaluable and we had a great experience. I do not know how you could ask for more.

Room Tip: The Bear Room has a separate exit/entrance and side porch and would be very nice in warmer weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lbortis, Owner at Lodge at Moosehead Lake, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope your dog is feeling better after his stay with the vet. We look forward to seeing you both again - maybe when its not quite so cold. But, we did have great snow for all of your activities!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lodge at Moosehead Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Moosehead Lake

Address: 368 Lily Bay Road, Greenville, ME 04441-4208
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Greenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy breathtaking lake and mountain views at our romantic Greenville, Maine inn. Relax in masterfully decorated rooms and suites at our Moosehead Lake lodging with Jacuzzis, fireplaces, private decks, and luxurious linens and robes. Sit back in our pub with full bar and games, or enjoy our complimentary snacks, DVD library and Wi-Fi. Don't miss out on unforgettable breakfasts and sumptuous weekend dinners at this Moosehead Lake adventure lodge. Activities galore - many exclusive to the Lodge at Moosehead, a Select Registry Property. AAA 4 Diamond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and T4B so you can book your Lodge at Moosehead Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Moosehead Lake Hotel Greenville
Moosehead Lake Hotel
Lodge At Moosehead Lake Maine/Greenville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodge at Moosehead Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.