We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rod-N-Reel Cafe

Rod-N-Reel Cafe
44 Pritham Ave,, Greenville, ME (Formerly Rodnreel Cafe)
1-(207)-695-0388
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 14 Restaurants in Greenville
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Two story white building located in Downtown Greenville, across the street from beautiful Moosehead Lake.
Greenville Junction, Maine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This is a wonderful place, great menu, & fabulous food. Karen & her wait staff are excellent :-) Looking forward to our next trip back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    27
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Hampton, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We love this resteraunt. . Oysters are awesome Rays prime rib is fantastic! The service is wonderful and they always cater to my gluten allergy. The atmosphere is so friendly and we always meet friends and neighbors we know. One of our favorite stops. M & V

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenwich, Rhode Island
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner, Fantastic Peopl”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

On our first night in Greenville, my boyfriend and I were looking for some good food after our long drive. Recommended by our hotel, we decided to try out Rod N' Reel, and I'm so glad we did. We decided we didn't want to wait for a table, so we were seated very comfortably for dinner at the bar with one of the owners Karren as our waitress. She was so gracious, hospitable, and funny and really made us feel at home. After a fantastic garden salad and haddock chowder, we had high expectations for our dinner, and our expectations were blown out of the water. I ordered the baked sea scallops which were to die for. They were so moist, flavorful, and cut like butter. My boyfriend got the 12oz prime rib which was also delicious and came with 2 sides of gravy mashed potatoes because he didn't want a salad haha. Overall, for the quality of atmosphere, the wonderful people, affordable price, and delicious large portions, Rod N' Reel is definitely a must visit in Maine.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Best in Greenville Maine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We have had the pleasure of enjoying many dinners at the Rod-n-Reel Cafe over the past 12 years. It is our favorite place in Greenville!! Karen and Ray run a first class restaurant. Karen runs the front, and Ray is cooking in the back. Greenville sits on the south end of Moosehead Lake. From all different seats in the restaurant you can see the water and the comings and goings of downtown Greenville. The food is consistently delicious, and presented so nicely by the friendly and knowledgable staff. The drinks are generous. Go in and relax, order a drink and the special, you will never be disappointed at the Rod-n-Reel Cafe! Oh... And get a slice of the Bumble Berry pie, warmed up with a scoop of vanilla ice cream! Wander about town and head back to camp. Now that is a great night in Greenville, Maine!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bowdoin, Maine
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“PRIME RIB”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Amazing staff, and dedicated owners work together to give you some great meals at a fair price. Our favorite followed by the salmon.would be the Prime Rib. I

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rod-N-Reel Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Rod-N-Reel Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rod-N-Reel Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.