We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moose search near Greenville, Maine, on Oct. 8” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Northeast Whitewater

Northeast Whitewater
142 Moosehead Lake Rd., Greenville, ME 04441
+1 207-695-0151
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 16 Attractions in Greenville
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: White Water Rafting outfitter and Moose Tour guides
Delmar, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Moose search near Greenville, Maine, on Oct. 8”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We went on two moose searches with Northeast Guide Service on Tuesday, Oct. 8, 2013 - one starting at 6 am, one at 3 pm. We had a great time, learned a lot, enjoyed some interesting company - and best of all, saw moose! (Not that that is guaranteed - but these folks obviously know what they're doing.) Both trips involved a bit of driving in the van, then canoe trips, then a bit more driving. The groups were small (four tourists in both cases) so it was possible to keep the canoe group reasonably close together and quiet. Both guides were knowledgeable, enjoyable, and unflappable. And they knew were to find moose. We saw a big bull and a cow on the morning run, then a bull (at a distance) followed by an extended closeup visit with a cow and a calf in the evening trip.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    8
    2
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Ethan was exceptional. We were impressed with his ability to see a moose with his naked eye all the way across the lake. Turns out we didn't even have to paddle that far because we found a moose closer and was able to watch her for some time. Not long into our watch, her baby boy came from behind her in the woods and we got to watch them eat together. We were able to get amazing pics and the experience all in itself was unforgettable. Ethan was knowledgable, sweet, and funny and we enjoyed his company a lot. Thanks Ethan!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, New York, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Canoe Moose Watching Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We saw a Cow Moose almost right away, after we paddled over to where she was we sat and just watched her as she ate her dinner. She was munching like crazy as she waded thru the water. After about 10-15 minutes we saw another Moose in the the weeds behind her. After about 8 or 9 minutes it came into view and joined her in the water. It was her Baby!!!! So, there we sat, in the canoe and watched Mama and Son enjoy their evening meal. We sat there for over an hour watching them. It was AWESOME!!!! Our Guide, Ethan was very nice and very knowledgeable. He answered all of our questions and offered up a lot of info on the wildlife in that area.
We had a great time. The scenery was beautiful. It was a wonderful time. I highly recommend this trip for everyone. It is definitely a trip I will be taking again.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Maine, United States
1 review
“One thing checked off 75 YO Dad's Bucket List”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We had the best time with your crew for the big water weekend. Our guide Bourne did a amazing job helping us with my dad. It was a wish that he wanted to do with me. The rest of the group also had a blast, we are looking forward to coming up again real soon. Thanks again. The Mason Group.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfred, New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The guides and staff at Northeast put them well above the others in the area.
All of the guides were incredibly helpful, fun and truly love what they do. We did 3 days worth of adventures including the Kennebec and Pennopscot and loved both of our days. We had an absolutely amazing time and I would recommend Northeast to anyone.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Northeast Whitewater also viewed

 

Been to Northeast Whitewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northeast Whitewater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.