We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed in the Winter, But you can Walk In” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lily Bay State Park

Lily Bay State Park
Greenville, ME
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 14 attractions in Greenville
Type: State Parks
Activities: Camping, Swimming
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Located in the Moosehead Lake region, this park offers a small beach, campsites and boat launch facilities.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Closed in the Winter, But you can Walk In”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

This is usually a Spring, Summer, Fall attraction, but being from Phoenix, I wanted to experience a "real" winter for once, so I headed to the deep, dark woods of Maine and I was not disappointed. I was told by a guide in the area that although the park was closed in the winter, I would be able and welcome to walk (or ski) into the park. I did, and I am glad I did! I was so peaceful and so beautiful! I hiked on just about flat land for several miles to and from the lake, enjoying the birds and squirrels. There were several animal prints in the snow, including moose and coyote. The views on the lake were just spectacular! I was not the only one there, as a pair of cross country skiers and their dog were enjoying the park as well. There were park workers there maintaining the park as well. There was no fee as the park was closed, but there is a fee when the park in open.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    11
    9
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Lovely almost level hiking trails along the lakefront, a good walk but not strenuous. Especially lovely in the fall .

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful park!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

My husband and I stopped by here for a few hours while staying in Greenville. We really enjoyed the park and its scenery on the last day the park was open to the public for the season. The lake was absolutely gorgeous. We wished we'd been able to rent kayaks or canoes but this didn't seem to be an option. We didn't interact with any staff as no one was available at the welcome booth. The overall presentation of the park was nice though.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullahoma, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I highly recommend visiting Lily Bay State Park. The innkeeper at the Greenville Inn recommended we visit and it was worth the short drive from Greenville. We wished we had had more time to spend there.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant afternoon hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Another pleasant part to our visit to Greenville/Moosehead Lake. Trail winds through peaceful forest of fragrant spruce and fir, feathery hemlocks and red and sugar maples that were starting to turn bright read and orange in the final week of September, with outstanding views of the lake and surrounding mountains.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lily Bay State Park also viewed

 

Been to Lily Bay State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lily Bay State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lily Bay State Park to your Saves list