We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Black Frog

The Black Frog
Pritham Ave, Greenville, ME 04441
207-695-1100
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 14 Restaurants in Greenville
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The place looked closed from the outside until someone walked out the door. We were seated by the windows looking out on the lake. The menu was hilarious! We've been to bars with funny menus and they usually hide bad bar food. This was definitely NOT bar food. My husband had what he called "the best steak sandwhich he's ever had in his life." And he is the most picky person alive so that is no small praise. He also raved about the cole slaw. I had the fish and chips and I received 2 enormous (at least 10 inches each) filets on top of a huge pile of french fries. No way one person could eat all that. Obviously we did not have room for dessert. After complimenting the food, our waiter told us that they have a new cook, a busboy turned chef. Glad he traded up! It was great food.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    60
    28
    17
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice spot, enjoyable time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stopped in at the Black Frog when we arrived in Greenville. For dinner I had the french dip (forgot the funny name it was given). Was very tender, could have used a bit more seasoning, but I ate every bit of it. The menu gives you plenty of entertainment and the wait staff were exceptionally nice and well attentive. We even stopped again for lunch the next day and had an equally good meal and service. The view is lovely. The restaurant could use a bit of an update, its a bit worn, but that didn't affect our meal or good time. I'd definitely stop in again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I considered dining experience just average and nothing special. There wasn't much which would make me come back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The service was terrible, waited 45 min for a sandwich and it wasn't even crowded, and after eating half the sandwich which was awful I opened it up to just eat the meat inside and found a hair, never again

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Great Food and Entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Great food......very entertaining menu.....nice view of Moosehead Lake while you dine in this very relaxed setting. Service was exceptional. We ate at a few restaurants while staying at Moosehead Lake and this was by far the best place too eat!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Frog also viewed

 

Been to The Black Frog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Black Frog, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.