We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent view of the Moose head Lake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Black Frog

The Black Frog
Pritham Ave, Greenville, ME 04441
207-695-1100
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 14 Restaurants in Greenville
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent view of the Moose head Lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

The food was good the menu is really funny. The stafff was friendly.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    60
    28
    17
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

The view of the water is about the nicest thing here and it is somewhat obstructed by the ratty dock. My husband had a steak and it was tough, I had shrimp and pasta which was mostly pasta and no real seasoning or sauce. For the price, this place was really disappointing. We saw other diners leave after just looking at the menu. The service was slow, as well.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinth, Maine
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Lighten Up and Have Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

We vacation in Maine for two months every year--one in summer, one in winter--and The Black Frog is always on our list of places to eat. It's not really about the food, although we've never been unhappy with anything we've been served, and can actually rave about the crispy "Chicken Toes--breaded, fried, and declawed" and the "Old and Moldy" burger with crumbled bleu cheese. The onion rings are unadulterated decadent comfort food. Don't expect to drink great wine here--it's basically "a red or a white", probably from a box. Do expect to have fun, though. Whether it's winter inside, or summer outside on the barge, the good karma at Black Frog is alive and kickin'. The wait staff are so unpretentious and spontaneous, you wish they could sit down and join you for lunch. They'll definitely make you laugh. Remember, you're next door to Maine's Great North Woods; you're overlooking the largest lake east of the Mississippi contained within one state; AND you have crystal-clear views as far as the eye can see. So put it all in perspective, lighten up, and have fun.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So Bad, We'll Eventually Find it Funny”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

After a three hour drive from Bar Harbor, my sweetheart and I had just arrived in Greenville, Maine. It was the start of a week long vacation in this beautiful mountain town. For a late lunch, we chose the Black Frog Restaurant. We should have done a TripAdvisor search, but we were hungry; the BF was right next to where the car was parked.

The Black Frog's picture windowed dining room is right on Moosehead Lake with only a five foot boarder of grass separating us from the lake's more than 30 miles of clear water. Praise the Lord for the view; it was the last of the BF's fond memories.

Sharon ordered a caesar sald with marinated chicken, and I had their burger with curly fries, actually enjoying the menus humorous observations such as when in moose and deer country, never trust anything to be a raisin.

While waiting for food to arrive, an employee approached the outer door with a large dog that appeared to be a gray haired poodle/airdale/retriever breed, allowing it to go outside. I wondered where it was going, turned to look through the window, and to my horror found it grinding out a huge burger-like dump on the grassy plot not 5 feet from my my seat. Sharon's salad arrived, but with the first bite it was obvious the chicken was spoiled, giving off the familiar rancid odor.

We beckoned the waitress who came over and said, "What's Wrong," and upon hearing that the chicken was bad, offered the rebuttal that it was the marinade we were smelling, and walked away.

By this time the group at the adjoining table was making jokes about the dog's activities, asking if anyone was interested in chocolate cake for dessert. Since I was new to this part of Maine, I couldn't help but wonder if we had stumbled onto the original set of the movie Deliverance.

Don't know if this would be redemption, but the waitress noticed that we couldn't eat the salad and allowed there would be no charge for that particular item.

Maybe in a week or two we'll again be able to eat hamburger and marinated chicken.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fun place with a wonderful view of Moosehead Lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

We had a nice dinner and the prices were reasonable. Handy to downtown Greenville.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Frog also viewed

 

Been to The Black Frog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Black Frog, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.