We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Islands Lobster is great.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Five Islands Lobster Co

Five Islands Lobster Co
1447 Five Islands Rd, Georgetown, ME 04548
(207) 371-2990
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Georgetown
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Macon, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Five Islands Lobster is great.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My wife and I visit Maine each fall. While there, we try to visit as many lobster shacks as possible. Many are good, some are better, but Five Islands is the best for us. It's a hike to get there, but, hey, it's like heaven. Great food, great service, and great people. What more could one ask?

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    42
    13
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Lobster Roll in Maine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

As a connoisseur of lobster rolls, I think this is one of the best I've had. It's well worth the half hour detour off Rt 1/I-95 to try the lobster that was literally just pulled off the boat. Plus, there's hardly a better spot for a picturesque coastal Maine vista.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danvers, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“If you like lobster”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Tourist attraction. Everyone goes here. I don't eat seafood. But my husband said it was good
I enjoyed the scenery

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Go for the Food, Stay for the View!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We were winding up our week-long stay on Georgetown Island and thought we had better visit this well-reviewed lobster place, wondering really what the hype was all about, one lobster shack is the same as any other, right? Wrong!! What a lovely surprise then, to drive into the parking lot and have a 180 degree view of the five small islands, crystal blue water, moored lobster boats, the village in the distance, and a lobster fisherman unloading his catch to the folks cooking up the lobster nearby. It was very interesting to watch the process between fisherman, merchant, and market, and it felt great knowing that the lobster we had just ordered for lunch was about as fresh as anything you could get except for catching it yourself. We felt the lobster meal was the best of all the lobster meals we had enjoyed during our vacation, although I don't think there is a bad lobster meal to be found in coastal Maine! Because there is no indoor seating for eating, plan to go on a cooler day in summer, or a bright sunny day in the fall, and to spend at least an hour there enjoying the wonderful food and drinking in the beautiful and authentic surroundings. Nothing fake or put-on about this place, it is the real deal .... Beautiful natural surroundings, very friendly and warm people, and a lovely drive out through winding roads and forests as well. So wonderful to find a place like this, it is the quintessential Maine fishing village eatery.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Off Season”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We visited just 2 days after the restaurant was closed for the season but the photo opportunities were still worth the drive. During season it must be a terrific place to grab a lobster roll and watch the lobster boats arrive and unload.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Five Islands Lobster Co also viewed

Georgetown, Mid Coast Maine
Georgetown, Mid Coast Maine
 
Bath, Mid Coast Maine
Georgetown, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Five Islands Lobster Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Five Islands Lobster Co, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.