We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Wonderful Getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oxford House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fryeburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oxford House Inn
548 Main St, Fryeburg, ME 04037   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Fryeburg B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Portland, Maine
1 review
“What a Wonderful Getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

My husband and I enjoyed every minute of our stay at The Oxford House Inn. The atmosphere was warm and welcoming, as were our hosts, Jonathan and Natalie. We ate a delicious dinner in front of the fire and had a cocktail in the bar's lounge area before retiring to our cozy room. The view of the mountains was beautiful the next morning as we enjoyed a wonderful, hearty breakfast and excellent coffee. We can't wait to go back!

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    7
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
81
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amesbury, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

My fiance and I arrived at the Oxford House Inn on a Saturday, got married there on Sunday and spent our honeymoon there for the week. What a fantastic place! Where to begin? The innkeepers are the nicest people and very accomodating. It is so refreshing to know that normal people still exist in the world. They go out of their way to make every guest happy and comfortable. When we decided to elope there, Natalie was fantastic helping plan everything out. She genuinely loved to help us. Our room was wonderful and perfect for a honeymoon/romantic week getaway. And the food..there are not words to describe how GOOD the food is. There was a gourmet breakfast offered with the room every morning. The dinner and bar food is the same, fantastic. We will be making a yearly trip to go there. Both the dining room and bar area of tastfully decorated and very chic and cozy at the same time. We loved the art work in the bar. The views for our wedding and breakfast are fascinating. When we went skiing (at the very close Shawnee Peak), we would make sure to talk up the inn because they are the ultimate example of the way a bed and breakfast should be operated. The Oxford House has ruined us for other bed and breakfasts. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIInnkeeper, Owner at Oxford House Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2010
Thank you for your wonderful review! We feel like we have known you both for years and look forward to your return- your first anniversary will be here before you know it! We wish you much peace & happiness in your future. N&J-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alna, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

We will highly recommend the inn to anyone looking to stay in the area. We have stayed at many B&B's and this one rates top notch.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, MA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2009

Just perfect. From the moment we arrived on Friday evening everything was perfect. I drove from Providence RI and had a long drive getting there. I arrived a late (9:45pm) and was greated by Jonathan owner and chef. He could see that we had a long drive and offered to take get us drinks altought the bar and resturant were closed. He brought two awsome martinis right up to our room. I offered him a tip for doing this and he would not accept it. In the morning when we walked down the stairs to get breakfast we were greated by him his wife and two friendly dogs. Breakfast was of course amazing! and dinner was nothing short of perfection. Every detail was perfect. The staff is attentive and friendly. I'm already planning my next trip back.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

We stayed here in September for 4 nights, partly to be near North Conway for the shopping, and partly to revisit the White Mountains area, We had read reviews on Trip Advisor and were certainly not disappointed. The hotel was easy to find and although it was on a main road it was very quiet. Natalie and Jonathan were very welcoming and helpful and the food was exceptionally good. Our room was excellent with plenty of space and lovely decor. There is nothing in the village but that was not a problem. The hotel has a bar / lounge in the basement and a lovely lounge and porch on the ground floor. The view from the dining rrom was stunning - just as well as it took some time to eat the delicious breakfast ! Natalie checked in on-line for us on our last night as we were going to a concert and Jonathan gave me an umbrella when we left as it was raining. Check out the Stone Mountain Arts Centre if you are planning a stay - folk / easy listening concerts in a converted barn in the middle of nowhere, with food if you want - quite an experience.
Sylvia and Nick, Cheshire, UK

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

I traveled here at the end of May with my husband, brother, sister, and brother-in-law. We had a great time on visit our to the white mountains. The rooms were comfertable. The breakfast was great - and the picky eater in the group was able to find options that suited them too. We also ate at both restraunts which were both tastey. Will stay here again the next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, MA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

We stayed one night here in the Porch Room Suite, on our way to a canoe trip further north, and enjoyed both dinner and breakfast the following morning. The room was simply but beautifully decorated, and absolutely spotless, and we enjoyed having the extra space of the glassed in sun porch to sit and read. Natalie was extremely thoughtful, and made sure we had everything we could wish for - from a cool room when we arrived to the best table with a sunset view of the mountains for dinner. We agreed that if we're back in the area, we'd definitely stay here again - and would even go out of our way to revisit it! Highly recommend both the stay and the meals - breakfast was truly outstanding.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oxford House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford House Inn

Address: 548 Main St, Fryeburg, ME 04037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Fryeburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Fryeburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Price range (per night) $129-$189 USD. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oxford House Hotel Fryeburg
Oxford House Inn Fryeburg, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oxford House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Oxford House Inn to your Saves list