We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem in the woods” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Saco Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Old Saco Inn to your Saves list
The Old Saco Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   125 Old Saco Lane, Fryeburg, ME 04037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Fryeburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sharon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Gem in the woods”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Ate at this charming Maine woods Inn. Although we were not staying there, we were able to eat dinner which is open to the public Fridays and Saturdays. The setting is both charming and comfortable and the food, although limited menu, is delicious.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    14
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
45
93
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tunbridge, VT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in June and had a wonderful time. From the time that we rolled down the driveway into the clearing in the woods, we felt like we were in a different world. The location on the bank of the Old Saco River is beautiful. Every detail of the inn is artful and tasteful. Peter and Sandi were fantastic hosts from the time we called them from Conway to the time we left.

We were in the middle of a bike trip from Vermont to Maine and back, and we had ridden over the Kancamagus Pass that day in a rainstorm. When we called, we were just looking for a spot to dry out, so the lovely common room, the comfortable bedroom, the bar, the very tasty English breakfast, and the canoe trip up the river were all unexpected moments of bliss. Our hosts went out of their way to make our stay easier and more enjoyable without ever intruding. Definitely take the time to have a chat with them -- they are great folks. I can unreservedly recommend the Old Saco Inn to cyclists and non-cyclists alike.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My two friends and I have been coming to Fryeburg/Lovell, Maine for the past three years to play a round of golf and then spend the night at Ebenezer's Pub before retiring at The Old Saco Inn. When I called for reservations this year, I was surprised to learn of the new ownership. When I perused the Inn's site, I was pleased with what the new owners, Pete and Sandi, had done with the place.

I negotiated a one night's stay in the Carriage House in the Emma and Gabrielle second floor rooms.

The rooms:
Having stayed in the main house for two years, I was dubious about the Carriage House. My fears were unwarranted however, because the rooms were spacious, modern and decorated in a very classy way. Each has a king bed and a pull out couch. My friend stayed on the pull out couch and reported it was very comfortable. I slept in the king bed and it was great. Sandi has thoughtfully put up little reminder signs, such as (paraphrased) "Please do not place your luggage on the bedspread. Dirt from traveling and setting them down in the parking lot will transfer onto the bed. Please use the luggage instead." Since the bedspread was a crisp white, it was a good reminder. There was a little coffee maker in the room, which allowed us to brew a quick cup and enjoy them on the shared deck the next morning before taking in the breakfast.

The Breakfast:
Wow! I don't know how Sandi does it all alone in the kitchen. One trick though is that when you check in, she asks you to establish a breakfast time. Then I'm sure she begins preparing multiple meals at the crack of dawn to make the wait very minimal. She started us off with a crepe covered in fresh fruit (fig, strawberries, blueberries, etc.) and vanilla yogurt. Delicious and refreshing. Next was an egg bake, which I had never had. It's essentially like a quiche, but lighter. Inside the egg bake were onions, peppers and ham. I really appreciated the twist on what I expected (scrambled eggs or an omelet). The egg back was served with cherry tomatoes, mushrooms, crispy bacon and toast. Coffee and juice too.

The Bar:
This is new under Sandi and Pete's ownership. When we arrived after 18 holes of golf, and before we got ready to go to Ebenezer's, we ventured into the bar (around 5:00). It was pleasantly crowded with about 8-10 friendly people. We're in our early 40s, but the bar patrons were at least a decade older. Pete mans the bar and for guests, he keeps a tally sheet with all the categories of drink that he puts a mark by when you order. A domestic beer was $3 and a high end Scoth was $8.50. Reasonable prices for these Bostonians. When we got home from Ebenezer's (around 10:00), we checked out the bar again and Sandi was enjoying a glass of wine with Pete. We interrupted this quaint scene had a very enjoyable conversation for about an hour. Really wonderful and interesting people. They are ex-IT execs who moved from Australia about 15 years ago.

General Observations:
- With Sandi and Pete being IT alumni, they really pay attention to technology detail. Pete does the check in on his iPad and there are three separate WiFi routers. One of the carriage house, one for the Inn and one for the covered porch off the Inn.
- The Inn sits on the Old Saco River, which is slow moving and harbors quite a few mosquitoes. However, Pete and Sandi have installed no less than 10 mosquitoe magnets which keep them at bay.
- The grounds of the Inn are really, really pretty. Expansive and green all bordering on the river.
- Despite having just been the Inn owners for a year, Pete and Sandi have made some good relationships with helpful people. For example, before we left for Ebenezer's, Pete told us if we had imbided too much, to ask for Carrie at Ebenezer's to call us a cab to get back to the Inn and then he'd drive us back in the morning to collect our car. We ended up not needing it, but just having that offerred was very nice.
- Though we use it as a guy's weekend, I can easily see this working for a romantic couples weekend, or a family destination. I know Pete and Sandi ride motorcycles, and they are open for business to like-minded travelers. Suffice to say, The Old Saco Inn can fit anyone's ideas of a fun or relaxing time.

Room Tip: Carriage House second floor rooms (Emma and Gabrielle) are good for a group that needs more than one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My wife and I wanted to celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary back in our home state of Maine. We ended up at the Old Saco Inn and had a great time. We live in a 1721 carriage house near Boston so found the renovated stables at the Old Saco Inn familiar. Pete and Sandy are doing a great job keeping the old and making it modern at the same time. We also discovered we had a lot in common including time in Zimbabwe and a passion for solar lamps. Ask them about the South African solar jars when you stay with them.

Room Tip: Satay in the stables for a unique experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Great room, super clean, huge bed, wonderful breakfast, charming hosts, fabulous location on the river. Perfect for an family holiday or a romantic getaway. The Old Saco Inn is excellent, and we will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Naples room - it has a separate entrance to the outdoors, which is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstable, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Old Saco Inn is a hidden gem! A uniquely wonderful place to rest and rejuvenate. My wife and I were lucky enough to stay in the Lexington Suite in the old carriage house in the beginning of June. It was just beautiful. Keeping the doors and iron work from the old horse stalls gives this space a nostalgic flair, though beautifully decorated, and extremely comfortable. Pete and Sandy (the Innkeepers), were very welcoming and friendly. They were really accommodating in considering our dietary needs when it came to meal planning. The two-course breakfast served each morning was delicious; we loved looking out over the pasture from the dining room. We also had a great dinner one night on the porch; it was very peaceful and relaxing after a busy day exploring Lovell Maine. The Inn's pub was the perfect place to catch a Bruin's playoff game, and Pete and Sandy didn't mind our loud cheering! Walking the well kept grounds was nature at its best. If you are visiting the White Mountains, this Inn will definitely enhance your experience. We would highly recommend this Inn to our friends and family. Our own plans include being frequent guests.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This was our third time staying at the Old Saco Inn. This time, we brought the kids. Pete & Sandi were terrific with the kids and made them feel at home immediately. The food is amazing. Pete & Sandi went out of their way to ensure the kids had the breakfast they wanted as they can be picky. We stayed in the Saco Suite which was plenty big enough for the four of us.

During the day, we went canoeing and kayaking in the river. We all fished and caught plenty of them. Bass, perch, and pickerel. Once it got hot enough, the kids jumped in the river and went swimming. They played frisby in the field and thoroughly enjoyed the mountain views. Pete & Sandi made certain that we had everything we needed from a cooler to water & soda outside, toys for the kids, life jackets... You name it. They made us fell like a combination of our grandparents, parents, (but much younger versions...) and friends all at the same time. Taking care of every need and making sure everyone was enjoying their time at the Inn. It is difficult to imagine some place nicer. The grounds and views are amazing - as are the owners. For the same price as a hotel, this place simply can't be beat. Thank you Pete & Sandi!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandi_saco, Owner at The Old Saco Inn, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Hey T & V - thank you for another great review; we do appreciate the feedback from all our guests and it's reviews like yours that has pushed us up to the #1 ranking in Fryeburg.
It was wonderful to see the kids having fun in the river and you guys just chilling out with the canoes and fishing poles - good times! We'll definitely get to roasting s'mores in the fire pit on your next visit!

Cheers...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Saco Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Saco Inn

Address: 125 Old Saco Lane, Fryeburg, ME 04037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Fryeburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Fryeburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Saco Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Saco Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Saco Inn Fryeburg, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Saco Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.