We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Inn!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Saco Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Old Saco Inn to your Saves list
The Old Saco Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   125 Old Saco Lane, Fryeburg, ME 04037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Fryeburg B&B and Inns
Centreville, VA
1 review
“Beautiful Inn!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had a great time staying at the Old Saco Inn. The hosts, Sandi and Pete are gracious and friendly. Breakfast was delicious. We stayed in the Mt. Washington room, views of the river, mountains and the property were beautiful. The location is great, secluded near a forest yet close to town. We were really lucky to be there on a gorgeous day, we used the snowshoes and walked the trails on the property. It was a winter wonderland. I would recommend the Old Saco Inn to friends and family. I'd love to go back in the summer to hike and canoe on the river.

Room Tip: Mt. Washington room had great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    12
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
79
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mechanic Falls, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I would highly recommend the Old Saco Inn to anyone and everyone. As first time B&B people we felt comfortable from the moment we arrived. We were lucky enough to have both dinner and breakfast at the Inn and it was amazing. The dinner was served as part of a party of 20 plus people and everything was managed in a professional, yet friendly manner. I wish we could have stayed longer!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Clean, comfortable, and beautiful room. Delicious breakfast. And lovely accommodating hosts. We'll be making reservations again when we can take advantage of the snowshoeing trails on their 65 acre property along the river.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre, South Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Our only regret of the two week Northeast trip we recently returned from is that we only got to stay at the Old Saco Inn for two nights. This is one of those places you will want to go back to year after year and has plenty to offer in all seasons. We are already planning to return for skiing, snowshoeing, snowmobiling and hot chocolate by the magnificant center fire. The acreage is beautiful with the river, trees and walking paths. The rooms and common areas are both comfortable and clean with the owners, Pete and Sandi, working tirelessly each day to ensure everything is kept up-to-date and clean. As far as the food-just like everything else-amazing. Aside from the sumptuous breakfasts I'd suggest adding dinner to your stay. We taste tested squash soup throughout Maine, New Hampshire, and Massachusetts and hands down Sandi has the market on the best! Don't even get me started on her dinner rolls. The Inn set up is perfect for any type of traveler whether it be families with children, a romantic stay or a friends get-away. If you are a solo traveler - Pete and Sandi will make you comfortable without a doubt! Family reunions and special events held here would be unforgettable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I would definitely recommend the Old Saco Inn to family and friends. A bit difficult to find first time in the dark but we had just landed in Boston from England so probably a bit jet lagged and getting used to driving on the other side of the road! However, it was well worth the effort as our welcome was warm and genuine and we felt at home immediately. I agree with the previous review that it is cozy, clean, charming, comfy, quaint with lots to do on site and nearby. Pete and Sandi, the new owners, are really lovely people but manage to remain professional in their role as hosts so that standards are high. This is not an easy balancing act but they seem to achieve it effortlessly. Consequently they manage to provide a place you dont want to leave. Last, but not least, the food is delicious! My husband and I hope to return one day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband and I came to Maine for a late September hiking weekend. The weather outside was rainy and chilly, but we really enjoyed our trip thanks largely to Old Saco Inn. The new innkeepers Pete and Sandi are very friendly and helpful. The inn is conveniently located for hikes and other activities in Fryeburg, Lovell, North Conway and elsewhere. We had a great time hiking in Crawford Notch NH and along the Kancamagus Highway. (We would have tried the very nearby Baldface loop or Old Speck Mountain, were it not for the iffy weather and my husband's iffy ankle.) The inn's central living room has a gorgeous large fireplace, and the pub area is nice for a quiet end-of-day drink. We stayed in the Mt. Washington room in the main lodge, and there are also rooms out in the carriage house area. Our room had a beautifully peaceful view across the fields and towards the Old Saco River. The inn has a Fryeburg address, but is also well-located for visits to Kezar Lake and Lovell, just north of here. If you stay here, stop at Ebenezer's Pub too!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere, CT
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Its hard to put our past week into perspective but I will definitely give it a go: We spent the week before the Fryeburg fair in the company of brand-new Innkeepers Pete and Sandi, visiting friends in the area. We chose one of the more smaller rooms, the second-floor Blue Room, because we expected to out and about then tucked a way in the Inn. We couldn't have been more wrong. Though we were on our own for lunch, we were offered the most sumptuous breakfast complete with homemade artisan-inspired bread followed by an incredible two to three course dinner --- we structured our whole day around them both! The grounds and the view from the Inn were fantastic, with easy access to lake that boarders the property as well as well-tended walking trails about its 65 acres; the seating areas and tucked way corners were inviting. In such a very short time, both Pete and Sandi have painstakingly crafted the kind of atmosphere that is a both a welcome and a blessing to a wearer traveller. We wish them both every bit of success and happiness that they are due! See you next September, God spare us!

Peace,

Michelle B.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Saco Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Saco Inn

Address: 125 Old Saco Lane, Fryeburg, ME 04037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Fryeburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Fryeburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Saco Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Old Saco Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Saco Inn Fryeburg, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Saco Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.