We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 302 West Smokehouse & Tavern

302 West Smokehouse & Tavern
636 Main St, Fryeburg, ME 04037-1127
207-935-3021
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Fryeburg
Price range: $8 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: 302 West Smokehouse and Tavern is a family owned and operated business, with a dedicated staff and strong local following. With a committed focus on happy customers, the entire restaurant is passionate about great food and good times! The restaurant can be found in the renovated, yet rustic, barn of an old Maine farmhouse. It is centrally located in the heart of Fryeburg village.
Sharon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good pub food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

busy pub with good pub fare and good beer selection. Somewhat noisy. Wait staff was attentive and we were seated promptly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    34
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We had a very good meal and enjoyed the atmosphere of this rural tavern. Our server was helpful in our selections...especially the mud pie sundae for dessert.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bottom of the barrel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Don't think I can recall a meal this bad in many, many years. I ordered a brisket sandwich & was presented with a bun with several tough, dried out, grey hunks of meat on it. Chewy doesn't begin to describe the texture, try jaw muscle workout to the max. I thought that a real test of any barbecue establishment would be something other than "pulled" pork or chicken as those would be easier to produce, less likely to present a challenge to the kitchen. Well, I got my answer, & the answer was a resounding never again. Since we are not from the area, maybe that's a moot point. Have read some positive reviews, so perhaps I just hit them on a real bad day, but I would be hard pressed to recommend that's for sure.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Really fun scene”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed the Sebago draft, house Bloody, fried Clams and half chicken. Terri the server was really warm and humorous. Be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estreito da Calheta, Madeira, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food, Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We ate at this rustic eatery on a number of occasions and found the food good and the service excellent.
On the evenings when they had local musicians entertaining us it was great, as too were the Trivial Pursuit evenings. Very competitive bunch in there.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 302 West Smokehouse & Tavern also viewed

 

Been to 302 West Smokehouse & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 302 West Smokehouse & Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.