We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 302 West Smokehouse & Tavern

302 West Smokehouse & Tavern
636 Main St, Fryeburg, ME 04037-1127
207-935-3021
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 10 restaurants in Fryeburg
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Steakhouse, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: 302 West Smokehouse and Tavern is a family owned and operated business, with a dedicated staff and strong local following. With a committed focus on happy customers, the entire restaurant is passionate about great food and good times! The restaurant can be found in the renovated, yet rustic, barn of an old Maine farmhouse. It is centrally located in the heart of Fryeburg village.
fall river, massachusetts
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fun place...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We went for lunch, and had such a great meal with Ribs, burgers, fried clams and all the fixens that we had a hard time ordering the desert. But are we glad we did. Had the Whoopie Pie Sunday that was over the top good. Fun place and a not to miss if your in the Fryburg area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    41
    28
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Absolutely excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We have been visiting this tavern for a few years now and never thought that it could get any better, but we were wrong, try to visit on Tuesday when they have a 2 for 1 on drinks Between 5-6 ( less crowded then other nights) and Wednesday when it is wings night - another real treat . This tavern is always very good value and the staff are always very attentive and friendly.
.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“The Best Fish that we have eaten in Maine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We were in Maine and would like to visit small and cozy towns . We drove up to Fryeburg and was a surprise. The city of typical New England style with a restaurant very, very good. The 302 West Smokehouse & tavern .We ordered a Honey Crumb Haddock. It was delicious .With a crispy and crumb topping. The sides was very good too ,with homemade choices. We are tourists from Rio de Janeiro ,Brasil and we know fish. This was fresh, carefully prepared and very tasty. The price is great, the service very good and worth trying the desserts
It was worth the ride

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“great food nothing fancy but a bang for your buck”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I would definitely suggest trying it I live near bye and it's worth it. they have unique items on their menu it's a local place. the people are very friendly clean. the wait staff is very friendly and make sure dining experience truly a pleasure. it's nice to go out and eat and actually enjoy a good meal. you don't feel like you wasted your money

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good food but noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We went for dinner and enjoyed the food. They make a terrific corn bread (extra). We both had the Blueberry salad. You can add steak, pork or chicken. A nice combination of berries, nuts, greens and then the topping. The restaurant is known for its BBQ so we will be back for another visit. The only downside was the tables are in the bar so it was quite loud. Part of the night they had music and then a football game on. Too loud for conversation. Otherwise a very good meal and a place we will return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 302 West Smokehouse & Tavern also viewed

 

Been to 302 West Smokehouse & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 302 West Smokehouse & Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.