We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont stay on the 3rd floor” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   194 Lower Main Street, Freeport, ME 04032   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dont stay on the 3rd floor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

My family and I stayed here for 3 nights the end of April. We were placed next to a smoking room on the 3rd floor and it was terrible. The first night we arrived the room smelled stale but was OK. Then the weekend came and our last night there it was almost like someone was in our room smoking.

I complained to the person on the desk that night and also let them know in the morning and both times never felt they got the trouble. I should also mention that my wife was 6 months pregnant and we were there with my 2 year daughter.

The real issue I had was that the hotel was probably only about 30% occupancy (as I confirmed the next morning) yet they where puting most everyone on the 3rd floor which is the smoking floor. The first 2 floors are non-smoking. I can not understand why they would put non-smokers up there when they have 2 almost empty floors. In the elevator one of the guests even joked to me saying "I wonder why there sticking us all on the 3rd floor when its almost empty".

I also must say that the free wi-fi didnt work with my Blackberry for the entire time. No big deal cause they do have a computer in the lobby and you can also go to mcdonalds to get wi-fi down the road.

So if you dont mind smoke then this is a OK spot to stay but if your there with kids or someone pregnant then take my advise and stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: stay away from the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    113
    36
    7
    4
See reviews for
124
99
15
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

This is a nice Hampton inn. The staff is friendly and helpful and the rooms are very nice. The only drawback is the location, it's not walking distance to the shops. But still nice, cozy rooms.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

Took a quick trip into Freeport enroute to Portland. Such a charming little town I cancelled my reservation in Portland to stay in Freeport. Chose the Hampton Inn as it had gym facilities, otherwise I probably would have gone with one of the B&Bs.
Hadn't stayed at this chain before. Rate was $119 plus tax, and it was exceptionally clean, comfy, had a great little gym and very pleasant staff. Room was very large, traditionally furnished, but not outdated. Much more reasonable to stay in Portand, but I was very pleased with this hotel and would return.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver Bank
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

Stayed here on March 29th and March 31st. There is nothing negative to say about this location. The rooms are typical Hampton Inn quality, that is a good thing. The staff are friendly and courteous and helpful. This hotel is located at the south end of Freeport and
very near to a I295 exit. It is about a mile to the retail outlets in Freeport. A Shaw's grocery is next door, there are pub type eateries within less than a 10 minute walk. We ate at Grittys both evenings and this place is well worth the visit.

The rooms are comfortable and well supplied ( minus a fridge). The breakfast is served until 10 am and has a variety of hot and cold items. There is no reason for anyone to leave hungry. The food is flavourful, and plentiful. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff was friendly, the location is great, beds are comfortable and the rooms are clean. I guess my only complaint was that the heater in the pool was broken so the kids found the water quite cold, but we're from Maine so we're used to cold water :-)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

I will start by saying, the staff is extremely helpful and friendly, but if you are looking for rest and relaxation, this is not the place. I don't think there was soundproofing installed between the walls. We could hear our neighbors TV clear as day, along with their conversations.
If you want a place to rest your head in between shopping excursions, you can not find a more convenient location.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Connecticut
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

The hotel staff was exceptional. The rooms were clean and the hotel was relatively quiet. One thing that could improve the viability of this hotel would be mini fridges in the room.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick

Address: 194 Lower Main Street, Freeport, ME 04032
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Freeport
#3 Family Hotel in Freeport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
feel at home at the Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick hotelHave a comfortable and relaxing stay at Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick, our Freeport, Maine hotel. Unwind in welcoming bars and inviting restaurants. Enjoy the great outdoors with a mountain hike or cross country ski adventure. Walk through gorgeous forests, relax on beautiful beaches and enjoy ocean cruises just minutes from this Freeport/Brunswick hotel. Spend an afternoon shopping in some of the 120 outlet stores near the hotel. Visit L.L. Bean's Outdoor Discovery School and learn biking, kayaking, archery and fly fishing skills. Our complimentary shuttle service can get you to and from the Freeport Train Station to connect to the Amtrak Downeaster, which is located one mile from the hotel. We also make scheduled stops to downtown Freeport daily.Unwind and feel at home at our Freeport, Maine hotel in a comfortable guest room with thoughtful amenities. Relax on a clean and fresh Hampton bed® and stay entertained with a range of premium TV channels and free high-speed internet access. Start your day with Hampton’s free hot breakfast before heading off for a day’s business or sightseeing. Keep in shape during your stay in the indoor pool, and rejuvenate with a workout in the fitness center. Four versatile meeting rooms accommodate board meetings for ten or receptions for up to 100 attendees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick Hotel Freeport
Freeport Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.