We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for Overnight Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   450 US Route 1, Freeport, ME 04032   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for Overnight Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Checked in late from Seattle on the way from Boston Logan to Bar Harbor. Got last parking spot at 10:30 pm. Room was clean and bed comfortable. Breakfast was good with a nice variety. Stayed on freeway side of building and traffic was noisy all night long. Advise staying on entrance side to avoid it. Overall stay was comfortable, not great, but not bad. Pricing seemed high as compared to other similar properties/stays on west coast, but competitive with other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Stay in room on front side of building to avoid freeway noise on back side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for leaving our property a review. We appreciate you taking time to share your experience with other guests and our staff. I do apologize that the highway noise kept you awake. If you are ever to stay with us in the future, please contact us so we can be certain you receive a room on the front of our building.

Again thank you for leaving us a review and we hope to have you stay with us again if you are ever on the east coast again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    117
    45
    15
    13
See reviews for
94
121
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, Maine
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were quite pleased to find this hotel in Freeport! It was a perfect out of the way hotel to relax and then hit the outlet shopping in Freeport.
It was welcoming, clean and comfortable. This is where we will stay when in Freeport!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking time to leave our hotel and staff a review. We are glad you enjoyed staying with us. I will be sure to share this review with our staff and we hope to have you stay with us again on your next trip to Freeport!

Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel enroute to Bar Harbor, Maine. The room was comfortable and the king bed very relaxing. Coffee was available anytime. The receptionist was helpful and we asked if they had any cookies or fruit, she went in the back and brought out two bags of apples. The fitness room was small with only 3 pieces of equipment. One of them was broken. The pool was small and full of kids so we couldn't use it. The breakfast was tasty and had lots of choices. Bacon, eggs, yogurt, bagels, pancakes, and cereals. They also had cinnamon buns and danish. The cinnamon buns were under a hot lamp but were cold and hard. The bacon was very tasty but had mostly fat with little meat. The price was higher than other hotels in the area but we stayed here as we were traveling with friends who made the reservation.

Room Tip: Upper floors have quieter rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking time to leave us a review. I apologize it has taken me quite some time to respond to thank you. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our property. I am sorry to hear that you were unable to enjoy the pool due to all of the children occupying it. Please in the future let us know and we would be happy to leave it open late for adults without children to enjoy. You will be happy to hear that we now have 3 brand new, working pieces of equipment in the fitness center.

Thank you so much for taking time to leave us a review and we hope to have you stay at our location if you are ever in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stopped here for one night on the way home from PEI. The pool closed at 8pm (weird considering it's a shopping town, so you'd think the pool would stay open later than the shops). I asked at the desk and the clerk said they would leave the pool open a bit longer. Turned out to be packed when we got in there anyway, with a dad letting his kids run wild. My kids couldn't enjoy the pool. They were whipping a ball around, running and leaping in from the deck, doing flips, etc. Tried to go in the hottub and his whole clan rushed there and were horsing around in it. Uber annoying. The room was spacious though, and clean enough, no complaints on bed cleanliness, though the bathroom had some roughness to the edges, the caulking around tub was wearing out, etc. Breakfast was standard fare, the kids liked the pancake machine.

Room Tip: We had a 2 bed "family" suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,


Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review with us. I apologize that you were misinformed about the pool time. I do understand we have it posted as closes at 8pm however we do keep it open until 10pm as long as the pool service is not clening or adding chemicals to the pool.

I hope that the inconvenience you experienced does not prevent you from staying with us in the future. Enjoy the last few days of summer and we hope to have you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

A wonderful clerk welcomed us and happily helped us with restaurant recommendations and shopping choices. If I had not just spent a week on the road at Hoiiday Inns in 5 states maybe I would not be so critical. Our room (106) was across the hall from the laundry that ran all night, next to the swimming pool with guests at night and in AM and the view out the window was of the busy highway which roared with traffic all night. Not the best nights sleep for a road warrior. The food was good and the room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Chicagoehc,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. We are pleased to you were satisfied with the service you received as well as the food and our accommodations. It was unfortunate to see your stay was not as comfortable as it could have been due to the room location and the noise. Please remain assured that we have recorded your comments and will forward it to the appropriate departments for future considerations. We hope that you take the time to stop in for a visit soon to see how we have taken every comment very seriously in order to make your future stays with us as pleasant as possible.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I've stayed in worse hotels, but considering this one carries the Holiday Inn brand, I would have expected better.

We checked in late after a long day of travel, and really just needed a place for my family of 4 to get a good night's rest until we got back on the road the next day. Unfortunately, that wasn't in the cards.

We had a "suite" with 2 double beds, plus a pull out sleeper sofa. My daughter chose to sleep on the sofa. Only one flat sheet was provided for the sofa bed so we went down to get another one. Even with one of the comforters from the double beds used as padding, there were springs poking into her all night.

The pillows on the other beds were lumpy and not very comfortable. The sheets seemed to be cheap and were very scratchy. To make it worse, the air condition barely cooled the room and rattled all night. Roughest night of sleep in a hotel that I can ever recall!

To top it all off, the fire alarms went off the next morning (twice), apparently caused by someone splashing water on one of the sensors in the pool. On the second alarm we quickly packed our bags and left.

When I mentioned the issues that we'd had to the clerk on duty, I received a very luke-warm "I'm sorry" and that was that.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave our property a review. I apologize that your stay was not up to our typical high standards. I would greatly appreciate if you could kindly send me an email or call me so I can have someone replace the mattress on the pull and make make sure the air conditioner is functioning properly.

As for the bedding and pillows I apologize greatly. We have all new bedding and pillows and I have already spoke with all housekeeping staff to make sure they have all been upgraded to the new stuff.

I wish there was something we could have done to prevent the alarms from going off however there is nothing we could have done to prevent that. The fire department and alarm company have already replaced the sensor.

We hope this does not prevent you from staying with us in the future and I really appreciate you taking time to leave us feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepperell. MA
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed one night on July 27th. Room rate was reasonable for Maine in the summer in the tourist area - $244. We stayed on the way back from a day trip to the Boothbay area, so it was a mini-getaway. Stephanie was excellent when we checked in, the room was fine, and quiet once we turned the environmental controls from "auto" to "on". Room 330 was a great location - end of the building, no one above us, and facing away from the main highway. The hotel is located between two main roads - Rte 295 (the busier, odd numbered rooms) and Rte 1 (less busy, even numbered rooms).

Hotel is convenient to Freeport, only a few miles and a short drive.

Breakfast was good but not exceptional - hot eggs, sausage, make-your-own pancakes, bananas, and a variety of garden variety pastries.

Staff were all very helpful, and guests were polite as well.

Would return!

Room Tip: Even numbers face away from the larger highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you kindly for the fabulous review. I will be sure to share this with the staff. We strive to make everyone's stay as enjoyable as possible and glad to hear your stay was just that!

Enjoy the rest of your summer and again thank you for taking time to leave us a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport

Address: 450 US Route 1, Freeport, ME 04032
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A salty, warm breeze fresh from the Atlantic surrounds you here at the Holiday Inn Express in Freeport Maine. The world's best lobster can be found here along with L.L. Bean s flagship store open 24hrs a day. Come visit the birthplace of Maine, Freeport! This history-filled town is close to many attractions such as local mountains, trails, beaches, golf courses, and lighthouses, all just minutes away. Holiday Inn Express is the ideal destination whether you are traveling for business or leisure. You are just minutes away from the adventures that Freeport has to offer. We are located just 15 miles north of Portland International Jetport (PWM) and 10 miles south of Brunswick and Bowdoin College. Our hotel with its coastal New England charm is waiting to welcome you with the newest accommodations Freeport has to offer. Our purpose is to take better care of you and your needs by offering a variety of amenities and services. During your Freeport/Brunswick stay you can enjoy amenities that include a heated indoor pool and hot tub, a fitness center, coin laundry, business center with printer, wireless and wired internet access, free on site parking, 24-hour coffee and tea service, the Simply Smart bedding collection, Express Start Breakfast Bar, Smart Roast coffee and our exclusive cinnamon rolls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Freeport
Holiday Inn Express Freeport
Holiday Inn Freeport
Freeport Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.