We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   450 US Route 1, Freeport, ME 04032   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Weeley Heath, Essex, England
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

All the elements are there for a great holiday inn express but a bit of a soul-less and forgetable experience really.
Check in was efficient but hardly friendly and welcoming. Room was clean and well maintained. Breakfast was in a nice dining room but had run out of pastries completely by 8am (served until 0930 usually) and there was no-one about who looked like they were going to replenish them, clear up the coffee area or generally welcome the guests.
Facilities at the hotel were good - swimming pool, public computer, gym.
The hotel is in a good location 5 minutes from the centre of Freeport.
I would stay at this hotel again - but would not hesitate to change if there was a better deal around the corner.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Dear Essexfamilyontour,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your room accommodations and our facilities. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We're sorry you were not fully satisfied with the service you received from our staff. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Reference # 27731627
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    117
    45
    15
    13
See reviews for
94
121
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

My friend and I decided to book this hotel for our girls weekend. The room was clean and comfortable. We were not on the I-95 side, so it was pretty quiet. The staff was very nice, and helpful. The breakfast was nothing to rave about. The imitation scrambled eggs tasted horrible, and the texture was even worse. After reading previous reviews I was hoping to see a change and maybe some hard boiled eggs. We were sold on the hotel because it had a pool and a hot tub. The pool area was very nice, but when we turned on the hot tub to get in it foamed...a lot. The smell of the hot tub was very harsh, like we were sitting in bubbling bleach. After about 5 minutes we had to get out because we couldn't handle it.

Room Tip: Get a room opposite of i-95, and don't book a room here if your intentions are to relax in the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay and providing feedback for our location. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations, and your comments regarding your experience are very important to us.

The breakfast we provide is the "standard" Holiday Inn Express breakfast buffet. We do have hard boiled eggs available which are in the mini fridge with the milk. If for some reason we were out of them, I do apologize. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we will be sure to stay on top of the breakfast manager to make sure items are being ordered in a timely manner.

I will also confirm that the pool company is aware of the foam once the bubbles are turned on. Our maintenance checks the levels of the pool and hot tub each morning to make sure it is safe to swim in.

We hope to have you stay with us in the future and thank you again for leaving us a review. \

Amanda Marinko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

My family stays at various Holiday Inn Express properties on a regular basis. I think I can declare this one the worse one we have ever been to. It's not a bad place to stay but compared to other HIX it does not sparkle.

The front desk staff were generally indifferent (just like a previous stay a few years ago). My wife reported that only one treadmill worked in the fitness room and she kept getting a shock from it. I did not mind that they did not have individual servings of milk in the breakfast room but couldn't they put the milk in a jug? Having everyones' fingers on the carton mouth to open and close it was a bit of a turnoff.

The room was the HIX standard and it was nice and clean.

Room Tip: Avoid the back side as it faces I-95
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm disappointed that your stay wasn't what you'd hoped for. The fitness equipment has all been fixed and new mats placed under the machines to prevent them from shocking people. As for the milk, we do typically have both the mini cartons and half gallons. I apologize that the mini cartons were not offered that morning.

We hope you chose to stay with us in the future and greatly appreciate your feedback.

Amanda Marinko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Best week EVER!!! Great service, awesome rooms, my son LOVED IT...i cant wait to visit again...Best one so far...

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Good Evening Fsabat.

I apologize for taking so long to respond to your wonderful feedback. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write us a review.

We hope to have you stay with us in the future. Have a wonderful Summer!

Amanda Marinko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

staff is very friendly and hotel is very clean the breakfast was great

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. If your travels bring you back to the Freeport area, feel free to contact me directly and if available(hiexpressfreeport@yahoo.com) I'll upgrade you to a suite. Again thank you for taking time to leave us feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, Utah
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Check-in has always been quick and friendly. Rooms are clean, quiet, comfortable. Even when I am doing business in Northern Maine, I prefer to stay at this location and make to 2 or 3 hour drive because I feel at home.

Room Tip: Rooms on the the front side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review for our location here in Freeport Maine.

We are delighted that you enjoy staying with us and I will be sure to share this review with both the front desk staff and housekeeping.

Our goal is to provide excellent service to all guests so it was nice to see that we exceeded your expectations during your stay.

We look forward to having you stay with us when business brings you up this way again!

Have a safe, happy and healthy New Year!
Front Desk and Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Holiday Inn sets the bar for 4* accomodation. Speedy check in, clean and comfortable room. I agree with previous comments about the breakfast. Its a bit on the strange side but I think the pancake maker goes a little way to make up for the other options. Check out was as smooth as checking in. The shopping in freeport is great and this is a good lauching pad for the intrepid shoppers out there. It was a good mid point from Boston to the Canadian border and if I go back I would be happy to stop at the Holiday Inn again.

Room Tip: I am pretty sure they are generally the same. Maybe one not too far from the elevator to save you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressfreeport, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of the Holiday Inn Express Freeport, Maine, I would like say thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Thank you for your kind words regarding our wonderful hotel. We are frequently updating and always on top of all concerns guests may have, Therefore we frequently get wonderful feedback which pays for all the hard work our entire staff put into making everything exceed your expectations!

Our goal is to provide excellent service to all guests so it was nice to see that we exceeded your expectations during your stay.

Thank you again for taking time to leave us feedback and we look forward to your return visit soon!

Amanda Marinko
Front Desk and Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport

Address: 450 US Route 1, Freeport, ME 04032
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A salty, warm breeze fresh from the Atlantic surrounds you here at the Holiday Inn Express in Freeport Maine. The world's best lobster can be found here along with L.L. Bean s flagship store open 24hrs a day. Come visit the birthplace of Maine, Freeport! This history-filled town is close to many attractions such as local mountains, trails, beaches, golf courses, and lighthouses, all just minutes away. Holiday Inn Express is the ideal destination whether you are traveling for business or leisure. You are just minutes away from the adventures that Freeport has to offer. We are located just 15 miles north of Portland International Jetport (PWM) and 10 miles south of Brunswick and Bowdoin College. Our hotel with its coastal New England charm is waiting to welcome you with the newest accommodations Freeport has to offer. Our purpose is to take better care of you and your needs by offering a variety of amenities and services. During your Freeport/Brunswick stay you can enjoy amenities that include a heated indoor pool and hot tub, a fitness center, coin laundry, business center with printer, wireless and wired internet access, free on site parking, 24-hour coffee and tea service, the Simply Smart bedding collection, Express Start Breakfast Bar, Smart Roast coffee and our exclusive cinnamon rolls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Freeport
Holiday Inn Express Freeport
Holiday Inn Freeport
Freeport Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.