We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Gem. Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast
11 Holbrook Street,, Freeport, ME 04032   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Freeport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wallingford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“What a Gem. Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2007

What a beautiful Place to stay! I booked a weekend getaway
for some well needed R&R and good shopping, and let me tell you that this place was so therapeutic and had such an amazing energy, it far exceeded my expectations. I would have never known the Innkeepers were new owners. I stayed in the Green Room which was impeccably clean. Tori is very special and was so accommodating making sure all of my needs were met and Elyse certainly added to making my stay comfortable and a pleasure. The breakfast was very wholesome and delicious as were the cookies. Unfortunately, I did not get to meet Robin, as he was out of town, but hopefully he will be there the next time as I certainly intend to be a returning guest. I've stayed at many B&Bs and would highly recommend The James Place Inn.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
273
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the James Place Inn just 7 weeks after the new owners opened... what a wonderful place this is! Robin and Tori are superb hosts and should've been in this business long ago. We stayed in the "green" room right off the dining area on the 1st floor. The room was spotless and decorated in soft, relaxing colors. The room had a 2-person corner jaccuzzi and nice sized bathroom. There were skylights over the bed that allowed the moon to shine into the room (quite romantic). The breakfast was also wonderful - quiche with goat cheese, spinach, and onions, and blueberry pancakes... with a "starter" of homemade granola, yogurt, fruit, and banana bread. Homemade cookies were a great afternoon/evening snack too. Nice touches and decorating throughout! Perfect location - 2 blocks from LL Bean and all the outlets. Make sure you eat dinner at Azure Cafe and pick up a "chowda" at Morrison's for lunch. We are definitely coming back!!! Highly recommended!!

Stayed November 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudson, ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2006

My wife and I had booked our trip a month or so ahead, so when we heard there were new owners we were a little nervous. Well, Rob and Torry (sorry if I messed up the spelling) put any concerns to rest right away. While they may be new at this, you sure wouldn't guess it. Their sincere warmth and kindness made us feel like we were staying with old friends. In addition, the rooms were spotless, the breakfast was out of this world (freshly made granola, Maine blueberry pancakes, cinnamon bread french toast, fresh coffee and orange juice, etc.- in short, the classic Maine breakfast), the towels and linens were fresh, and the fresh baked cookies were a godsend after a long day of shopping. The location was also perfect; two blocks from L.L. Bean, but away from the hustle and bustle of the main road through town. My wife and and I plan to make this trip our new annual tradition, and we're already looking forward to next year. Go Buckeyes!

  • Liked — the location and the innkeepers
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Tips/Secrets — Book early! This a hidden gem that can't stay hidden forever!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati,OH
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2006

Stayed her sept 8 2006, the old owners said Next Tues Sept 12 was their last day. THey have sold the house. The house was very nice and was close to the shopping. Easy couple mintue walk to shopping. The house was in excellant condition , but in most cases what makes the B &B is the owners and service. So the new owners have a great house and a great location for those wanting close to shopping and in a quaint , quite setting. So it will up to them to keep the good reviews comming.

  • Liked — location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing bad
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washingon, DC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2006

Stayed in the Yellow Room for two nights and enjoyed it immensely. Breakfast was delicious and the inn keepers were wonderful. Took a peak at the Wisteria Room and that is definately the room to request. Great location to stores.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2006

This is a great place to stay! My husband and I stayed in the Pine Room and enjoyed the fireplace; very cozy and romantic. Breakfast was huge...great blueberry pancakes! Only a couple blocks from LL Bean and other shopping in Freeport. We found the Harraseeket Lobster pound to have great food while in Freeport.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2006

My boyfriend and I just spent a night at the James Place Inn. It surpassed our expectations. We stayed in the Wisteria room. The room was very private and warm and cozy. The spacious layout was great and we loved the two person jacuzzi. Breakfast in the morning was spectacular. A great place to stay and the perfect location for shoppers.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 11 Holbrook Street,, Freeport, ME 04032
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
#1 Bed and Breakfast in Freeport, Maine (as rated by TripAdvisor reviewers). Beautifully restored Victorian sitting on a nice quiet side street, just 1 block from LL Bean and all the rest Freeport has to offer. Rooms have a private bath, TVs with cable and DVD (with DVD library for you to access), some rooms with Jacuzzi tubs or a fireplace. Full gourmet breakfast awaits you every morning, along with fresh-baked snacks upon your arrival. Delightful deck to enjoy during the finer weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Place Inn Bed And Breakfast Freeport, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.