We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite B&B Anywhere!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast
11 Holbrook Street,, Freeport, ME 04032   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Freeport B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Clementon, NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our Favorite B&B Anywhere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

The James Place Inn is by far our favorite B&B anywhere. We vacation up in Maine every summer and the first night is ALWAYS spent here. The rooms are beautifully decorated, the breakfast is always delicious, and Tori and Robin are always warm and welcoming. Without fail it is like this every time we visit, and we've stayed at least 4 times over the past 3 years. Not to mention that you can park your car and walk to everything in town! My husband had business in Scarborough this past weekend, but we decided to spend the night in Freeport just so we could stay at this inn. When we arrived, Tori was decorating the inn with boughs and berries. When I complimented on how pretty they were, she gave me a bunch to bring home for my Thanksgiving table. They're a beautiful reminder of the lovely weekend we had! Our hosts were very helpful in recommending a restaurant for dinner, securing a reservation, and the next day when we were looking for something fun to do close to town, they both offered more suggestions that only a local would know. We stayed in the Green Room this past weekend, and my husband and I have both decided that it's our favorite room so far. We are already looking forward to our return next summer!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong in the Green Room--large bathroom, skylights, and it's connected right to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerToriBaron, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you for making us your favorite B&B! We continue to enjoy meeting all of our guests and greeting our returning guests is a real treat. It is like welcoming good friends back with us. We are pleased to hear the inn continues to deliver what you are looking for, and I am so pleased you enjoyed the berries! They are quite beautiful this time of year. Have a wonderful holiday season and we look forward to welcoming you back next summer. Until then, be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
264
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Words truely can not describe the warm, inviting, friendly feeling you get the minute you arrive at James Place. This was our second stay, and we had a wonderful time. Tori and Robin know how to make you feel right at home. It was snowing the day we were leaving and Tori was out with her snow brush cleaning off our car, I mean come on, where will you ever get such great service!? Try this B&B. You will love it!

Kerry and Jason, Northfield, Massachusetts

Room Tip: The "Green" room is spacious, lots of light, and has a great jacuzzi tub!
See more room tips
Green Features: Top of the line. Very environmentally friendly. Very aware of saving water, and detergent.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerToriBaron, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time tow write such kind things about us! It was great fun to see the two of you back with us. It is good to hear that your second stay with us was equally as good as the first and did not disappoint! Seeing our regular guests is always such a treat for us. We enjoy the company and the chance to catch up. We look forward to welcoming you back to James Place Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Tori and Robin are wonderful hosts and are exceptional at creating an environment of comfort and relaxation. Robin's culinary skills result in gourmet breakfasts that satisfy one's appreciation for quality and creative blends of ingredients from frittatas to blueberry pancakes, to the warm coffee cake and rich quiche. Robin starts in the kitchen around 6:30 for breakfast and you can smell the incredible aromas throughout the inn.
I could not resist having the sampler plate of all offerings!
Tori and Robin compliment each other to make a great team which made our stay a truly exceptional experience.
We will return in the near future for another wonderful getaway.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerToriBaron, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you so much - we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and certainly the food! It is so much fun to watch our guests have a great experience here, especially when they were not sure what to expect when making the reservation. Saying you "will be back" is one of the nicest compliments you can give us. The two of you were a pleasure to meet and have here and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Andover, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We wanted a getaway weekend to clear our heads from work and couldn't have picked a better location on ALL fronts. The location is superb (a stones throw from the main shops). We stayed in the Pine room with a private deck and fireplace. We totally decompressed with the flickering of the fireplace. Robin and Tori couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating...just real down to earth hosts. Would invite them to our home. Lastly, the breakfasts were the best we've had at any B&B (and we sample them often). Homemade-fresh ingredients cooked perfectly. From the cinnamon French toast to the frittata and quiche. We loved that we could have had anything or all of it. Couldn't have had a nicer stay. We will recommend to many and we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerToriBaron, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We so enjoyed having you two here and talking over breakfast. Your company was delightful and our talks were fun. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and found the location, food and accommodations all to your liking. We are so fortunate to meet so many wonderful people and the two of you are two more we can add to our long list. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We recently enjoyed a trip to New England for our second anniversary. While in the Freeport area we lodged at the James Place Inn ~ and what a delightful stay we had! The Inn itself is lovely, well-kept, clean, tastefully decorated and very comfortable, but what makes the stay at James place even better are the hosts, Robin and Tori! During our entire trip, they were by far our favorite hosts, not to mention the most helpful! They made us feel right at home, gave us valuable information about local sights, etc, put together a lovely anniversary package (sparkling cider, chocolates, cheeses, a gift certificate to dinner...) and they made a scrumptious, full breakfast each morning! We enjoyed every aspect of our stay and especially loved Tori's special homemade granola - yum! If we're ever in the area again, we would definitely stay here again. The yellow room is darling and the two-person jacuzzi is a very nice addition! 5+ stars!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerToriBaron, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We are so glad that we could be a part of your second anniversary celebration. It was truly our pleasure to have you with us. We enjoyed your company and chatting about the Midwest. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our inn. We love to help people have a good time and enjoy their vacation. Thank you for sharing such warm and wonderful thoughts regarding your stay. Come see us again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We had a great time staying here at the tail end of a vacation to the Northeast. Tori and Robin are outstanding hosts, and we enjoyed chatting while enjoying their excellent breakfasts. Say "yes" to all of the breakfast choices and you won't be disappointed. Robin took the time to customize dishes for lactose intolerance, which can be tricky to handle for a breakfast menu. The inn is in a perfect location for shopping in Freeport, and it isn't far away from Portland to enjoy the sights there.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerToriBaron, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience here at James Place Inn. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to accommodate your dietary needs. We are always interested in finding new recipes. We'll keep working on them so that we are ready should we have the pleasure of your company again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Tori greets us when we drove in. She escorted us into the breakfast room where there was a fresh baked fruit crisp on the sideboard. Told us to help our selves once we had gotten everything settled in our room. We stayed in the Blue room on the second floor. She warned us about the slanted roof over the shower, and even though I'm tall, I didn't have any problems. Breakfast the next morning was AWESOME. Robin is a wonderful cook. He gave us a choice of three items or we could have a sample of all. I choose having all, and that was not a mistake. The B&B is close to all the shopping in Freeport. It's located on a side street so it's very quiet. I can't say enough about what wonderful hosts Tori and Robin are. They would do anything to make your stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: I think any room would be comfortable. Just watch the shower in the blue room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerToriBaron, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind and wonderful review about your stay at our inn. It is a compliment when people feel as though they are at home when they stay here. Our goal is certainly to make our guests as comfortable as possible, including a nice fall apple crisp to greet them! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the location, food and room were to your liking. Thank you for sharing - come see us again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 11 Holbrook Street,, Freeport, ME 04032
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
#1 Bed and Breakfast in Freeport, Maine (as rated by TripAdvisor reviewers). Beautifully restored Victorian sitting on a nice quiet side street, just 1 block from LL Bean and all the rest Freeport has to offer. Rooms have a private bath, TVs with cable and DVD (with DVD library for you to access), some rooms with Jacuzzi tubs or a fireplace. Full gourmet breakfast awaits you every morning, along with fresh-baked snacks upon your arrival. Delightful deck to enjoy during the finer weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Place Inn Bed And Breakfast Freeport, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.