We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a B&B!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast
11 Holbrook Street,, Freeport, ME 04032   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Freeport B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Providence, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A gem of a B&B!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Absolutely lovely B&B I found initially through Oyster.com and then also saw it got great reviews on Trip Advisor. It's literally a 5 minute walk to the center of town, LL Bean campus, stores, ect. The owners are lovely, and can offer great advice on where to go for a day trip- they directed us to the Orr and Bailey Islands which were spectacular! Comfy beds, private rooms, HUGE and amazing breakfast. Absolutely coming back the next chance we get!

Room Tip: The Pine room has both a fireplace and private deck-quite lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinolover_ME, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed Orr and Bailey islands. We think they are pretty special and we love to send guests there. It was a delight to have you two here and we are pleased you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to your return and more great conversations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
263
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ny
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I always look at Trip Advisor before choosing a place to stay and James Place Inn was #1 in Freeport-- and deservedly so. Its a beautiful home right off the main street . There are about 7 rooms and when we arrived I was shown all of them and loved having the choice. The innkeepers are so welcoming and gracious that it was a pleasure to stay there. Tori gave us a great recommendation for dinner which was Azure -- and fantastic. And she also recommended the Bow Street Market where we bought lobsters and they cooked them for us so we could take them home,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinolover_ME, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
It was so nice to meet you and have you with us. Your conversation and company at breakfast were enjoyed by all. It is always fun to hear the expereinces of our guests, things we may have shared and have in common - part of what makes the inn lively and fun. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at James Place Inn and would certainly enjoy the opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate ny
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

On my travels up to Booth Bay Harbor for a wedding, I made an unplanned stop in Freeport, Maine. I stopped at the info center and picked up B&B brochures. The James Place Inn seemed to have everything I was looking for. When I called, Tori said they had 2 rooms. I went right over and settled in. I was given a great recommendation for a place for dinner. Breakfast the next morning included REAL maple syrup...yummy!! Innkeepers as nice as can be. Hope to return sometime.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinolover_ME, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you here and certainly a delight at breakfast to have your smiles and conversation. Hope your time in Maine was wonderful and we certainly hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester-by-the-Sea, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We had a wonderful time on the first night of our honeymoon at the James Place Inn. The Inn keepers were more than accommodating, friendly and gracious. The home-cooked breakfast in the morning was to die for - definitely worth a trip!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinolover_ME, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Congratulations once again! It was wonderful to be a part of your celebration. May you have many wonderful years together. Enjoy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The innkeepers are wonderful people and help you plan an awesome vacation in Maine. We were busy the whole week and the food was excellent. Perfect location, right in the middle of Freeport, with shopping, hiking, swimming, eating, everything right there. They are so welcoming and treat you just like family. Overall, we recommend this B&B, two thumbs up!!

Room Tip: They were all beautiful rooms. Quieter rooms upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinolover_ME, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
It was so delightful to have you here for the week and to be part of your first anniversary celebration. The two of you are delightful to be around and we miss the smiles and morning coffee chats already. May you enjoy many more wonderful celebrations together. Best to you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenkintown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Accommodations were great and the hospitality of our hosts was outstanding. The full breakfast deserves special mention for the excellent quality and presentation. We have stayed at more than 20 B&Bs and our breakfast at James Place Inn was the best ever.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinolover_ME, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
We are pleased that you enjoyed the food and your overall experience here with us at James Place Inn. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your encouraging words. We hope to welcome you back sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seeheim
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We can't praise Tori and Robin highly enough. It wasn't just the beautiful house, great location, comfy room and amazing breakfasts that impressed but the tremendous warmth and genuine interest they displayed in us as guests and first-time visitors to the US. They found the perfect blend of courteous and professional while making you feel part of the family - always there to help but never intrusive. We left with heavy hearts and would love to return one day. Thanks again!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinolover_ME, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to write your review. We remember you fondly and hope that the rest of your first holiday in the U.S. was enjoyable. It would be our pleasure should our paths cross again someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 11 Holbrook Street,, Freeport, ME 04032
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
#1 Bed and Breakfast in Freeport, Maine (as rated by TripAdvisor reviewers). Beautifully restored Victorian sitting on a nice quiet side street, just 1 block from LL Bean and all the rest Freeport has to offer. Rooms have a private bath, TVs with cable and DVD (with DVD library for you to access), some rooms with Jacuzzi tubs or a fireplace. Full gourmet breakfast awaits you every morning, along with fresh-baked snacks upon your arrival. Delightful deck to enjoy during the finer weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Place Inn Bed And Breakfast Freeport, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.