We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Happy I stayed here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Park Street, Freeport, ME 04032   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
GreenLeadersBronze level
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very Happy I stayed here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

I had to travel each day up to Augusta for work, but I'm really glad I stayed here. Augusta didn't have any hilton properties, and this one was very clean and comfortable. Great staff. I grabbed a starbucks coffee each morning and make the drive to Augusta. I liked coming back to Freeport each night to do some shoping and visit the great restaurants in town. I'm planning on going back in 2 weeks.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIFreeport, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown, responded to this review, April 4, 2011
Thank your for staying with us and taking the time to post this wonderful review of the hotel. Freeport is a fabulous destination and I'm glad you found it worthwhile to headquarter yourself here while you commuted to Augusta for work. We look forward to seeing you again in a couple of weeks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    187
    38
    10
    3
See reviews for
172
244
19
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bangor, me
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

There is at least one other hotel we like to stay at in Freeport but it is $100-150 more PER NIGHT than the HGI.

The location is great and the overall experience is what you would expect from a Hilton Garden Inn. Nice facilities, generally clean, friendly staff, nice pool and fitness facility.

For the price point and location it cannot be beat. A very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

We are up the last week of Dec. and apparently in the middle of a blizzard. The staff was fantastic- given that nothing (well, except for LL Bean) was open... we are impressed by the service and the food (not often one raves about hotel dinner). We brought our 2 year old daughter who was fairly entertained by the buffet breakfast, pool, fireplace, and the "cot" that was provided for her. The cot was a twin sized bed so she was in heaven. Like previous reviews, wi-fi and cell service were not strong points. But we were on vacation and other than the day of the blizzard where the town was shutdown- didn't really care.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIFreeport, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown, responded to this review, February 14, 2011
Thank you for the wonderful feedback! I'm glad you enjoyed the serve you received, our food and your accommodations. Our food is quite a hidden gem at our property. Thank you for helping us to spread the word!

We were aware of the challenges we were having with our network. On January 3rd we began a major upgrade to our entire system which was completed a short time later. We now have amazing internet service and are excited to let our guests know. You will definitely notice a difference when you stay with us in the future.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We look forward to having you as our guest again!

~Melissa Robinson, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

We spent 3 nights and the people were great. At breakfast Sara (server) and Matt (chef) made us feel very welcome. The breakfast was scrumptious and had everything we could ask for. We had dinner here and not only excellent food, but our waitress Danica was friendly, funny and also very welcoming. Star on the desk was wonderful and the all-day coffee and evening cookies were a nice touch. Our king bedroom had a mini fridge, a microwave and a coffee maker. The bed was adjustable (both sides) and the free internet allowed us to stay in touch with home. We had no problem with our Verizon cell phones as someone had previously reported. Since it was a very cold period in Maine, it was enjoyable to walk from our room to breakfast, dinner, and the lounge. We even sat by the fireplace and had cocktails one evening after dinner.
Thanks to all the great employees and a well maintained 5 year old hotel, if you are going to visit Freeport for shopping or whatever, you cannot go wrong with this choice.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Providence, Rhode Island
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

We noticed this place in May 2010 when I bike race I did started across the street. We were going to Freeport to do Christmas shopping and decided to look into the Hilton rather than the Hampton where we had stayed previously. The room rate was the same as the Hampton down the street. No breakfast was included but the room was much nicer at the Hilton.

The manager on duty recommended a great place to eat and watch the football game. I am always impressed when people in Freeport treat you like a local and not a tourist. We felt well taken care of here.

Could use better pillows and the WiFi signal was poor. Cookies were good though!

We plan on going back in May for the LL Bean

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

This hotel is in downtown Freeport, but slightly off the main drag, making it quiet and convenient. My wife and I stayed here for a couple nights to prep, and then recover from the Lobsterman Triathlon. For the price, this hotel was great - the staff was friendly and helpful, the room was clean and well appointed (and it appeared recently updated), and they were generally accommodating of my massive amount of triathlon gear getting wheeled through the lobby.

My one gripe was the bed. This one just barely met my threshold for sleep. It very firm, with a thin pillow top that bottomed out easily. I only took off one star for this, because I'm pretty ridiculous when it comes to sleep surfaces, and any normal person would probably think it was great.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010 via mobile

This was our first trip to ME and weren't sure where to stay. We didn't want to stay in a traditional B&B or inn and weren't sure if a typical hotel would meet our standards. However, we were so happy with our choice to stay @ HGI after we arrived. It's snuggled in Freeport just a block away from downtown and close to restaurants and many shops. The front desk staff was very friendly and made a wonderful recommendation to eat at the Azure Cafe...which was delicious. My husband and I really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely come back anytime.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown

Address: 5 Park Street, Freeport, ME 04032
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Freeport
#1 Green Hotel in Freeport
#1 Romantic Hotel in Freeport
#2 Family Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park once, walk everywhere! Discover the Hilton Garden Inn nestled in the heart of Freeport village just two blocks down the hill from L.L.Bean®. Shop ‘til you drop at over 150 up-scale outlets and restaurants, most within walking distance. Unwind with a dip in the pool or hot tub. Enjoy a cocktail in our Pavilion Lounge then sit down to a scrumptious meal prepared by one of our talented chefs in the Great American Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown Hotel Freeport
Hilton Freeport
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.