We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for breakfast!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Freeport Cafe

The Freeport Cafe
29 US Route 1, Freeport, ME 04032
207.869.5113
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 57 restaurants in Freeport
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Description: The Cafe serves breakfast all day! We also serve lunch and dinner. A local hotspot! We make all items from scratch. Baking fresh muffins every morning, and homemade soups daily. We serve award winning Clam Chowder every day! Open daily at 6 AM to 9 PM. Kids menu, bottled beer & wine.
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Had breakfast twice while visiting Freeport. Good variety of items, from muffins to oatmeal to omlettes. Homemade jams and marmalades. Great blueberry pancakes with lots of fresh blueberries. Great omlettes. Friendly staff; photos and paintings of Maine on the wall for sale.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    46
    36
    11
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Scallops worthy of a five-star restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

My husband and I visited The Freeport Cafe to escape from the exhausting melee of the Yarmouth Clam Festival. We just wanted a quiet,simple, home-cooking-type dinner. What a pleasant surprise! I ordered the special -- broiled scallops, he, the yankee pot roast.

My scallops were not only done to perfection in a garlicky, buttery sauce, but were accompanied by the best mashed potatoes I've ever eaten anywhere.

My husband's pot roast meat was very tasty and melt-in-the-mouth tender with absolutely no visible fat.

The service was brisk and friendly and the price very affordable. We can't wait to try one of their breakfasts.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manahawkin, New Jersey
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Well worth the slight detour off 295”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

I have only had breakfast at this hotel, and I think they largely serve lunch and breakfast in the winter season, dinner on the weekends. It is a charming friendly cafe with excellent specials and a wide selection of made to order food. I rarely stop in Freeport, but I would make the slight off road detour to eat there again. Very good friendly service. Looks like all the locals know a good place to eat!

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“The Food and Service are Good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

The place is really a little diner attached to the Best Western. As we were staying at the motel we ate there each morning and the food was good, although there wasn't much in the way of atmosphere.

The prices were reasonable and the staff attentive and friendly.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Disappointed after reading the reviews...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

After reading the reviews, we decided to eat breakfast. Though our group had four, the staff gave the last table for four to two people though there were several tables for two available. They told us to wait or use the very unappealing porch. They finally got us a table and we ordered. The breakfast was very average. The eggs were overcooked and the biscuits where obviously from a frozen pack. Overall it was just ok but not anything memorable.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Freeport Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Freeport Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Freeport Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.