We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and fabulous location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wolf Neck B & B

Wolf Neck B & B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Freeport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wolf Neck B & B
Save
You added Wolf Neck B & B to your Saves list
93 Birch Point Road, Freeport, ME 04032   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 Freeport B&B and Inns
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Relaxing and fabulous location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

I wanted some place special for our first anniversary ... and it was going to be a surprise for my wife. I was fortunate to find the Wolf Neck B&B because it was so much like our honeymoon in Bass Harbor last year.

The Wolf Neck B&B is right on a river which goes into Casco Bay. The bedroom has windows which give a great view of the waterway. And there is a deck for enjoying a nice glass of wine. The view is beautiful. Additionally, there is a gazebo overlooking the river. It is a very relaxing location.

Each morning Dianne provides a fabulous, gourmet breakfast. You can have homemade blueberry pancakes, bacon, hash browns and your choice of eggs. That's just an example. Unbelievable.

It couldn't have been a better location for our anniversary. And as an added bonus, the outlets in Freeport are just a hop, skip and jump away. You can't beat it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wantagh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

It was like staying in our own vacation home. We had an upstairs suite with a great water view. It's a beautiful place. Ms. Dianne Gaudet, the innkeeper, served wonderful breakfasts of our choice and was generally most accomodating. Best of all, no other guests stay there at the same time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

My wife and I stayed for four nights at Wolf Neck B&B and thoroughly enjoyed it. The accommodation was spotless and very comfortable, Dianne and Steve were perfect hosts with plenty of advice on things to do and places to see. The breakfasts were excellent with plenty of choice. In particular, Dianne’s blueberry pancakes are really delicious and highly recommended.

The B&B is in a beautiful location and not far from Freeport and many other interesting and varied attractions. In fact we wished we had stayed longer and if we are in the area again we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

This bed and breakfast is a short distance from Freeport Maine, on a point of land with beautiful water views. Accomodations in this home are for 1 couple only on the 2nd floor of a lovely home and include your own bedroom, bathroom, sitting room, and deck with water views. My husband and I stayed there 1 night July, 2009. We found the hostess very business like which made us feel more stiff, as if we were trespassing instead of a warm welcome we've enjoyed at so many other bed and breakfasts. Understandably we were late in our arrival (7:00 instead of 5:00) because of extremely slow service where we had dinner, but we had called ahead explaining this. Upon arrival we were told where our room was , when breakfast would be, and told "good night", nothing more, like "How was your trip?" In the morning the hostess made breakfast for us, and we were escorted through the living room to the outdoor patio. The hostess served our breakfast w/ the slightest conversation, giving brief answers to our questions about our surroundings and it felt like she really had no interest in any further conversation. Stay here if you want a beautiful setting, expensive cost, and no more connection w/ the owner than you would have at a hotel that serves breakfast. I would never choose to go back or recommend this to anyone. We were happy to leave.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2009

Diane was a great hostess. Breakfast was hearty and delicious. Her sightseeing tips were very valuable for first time visitors to Maine. The solitude and serene setting were an added bonus.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Endicott
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2008

The Wolf Neck B&B is hands down one of the best places to stay while in the Freeport area. With roomy accomodations and a peaceful setting, once I'm there, I never want to leave. The breakfasts are something we look forward to every day. From the freshly made fruit cup to an omlette with everything on it, Dianne does everything to perfection. It's hard not to get lost-in-thought with the tranquil setting just outside the window. Watch for a few minutes or an hour or more. There's allways something to see. This year we were treated to a number of bald eagles fishing the Harraseeket River just outside. Nature seems to come to you here. With so much to do and see all within easy drives from Freeport, it's hard to think about going anywhere else. We've vacationed here for the last three years and add a few days to our stay each year. We'll definitely be returning again next year.

  • Liked — Spacious room and great food
  • Disliked — There's nothing not to like
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

We stayed here for 3 night and found it to be excellent. The accomodation itself is very attractive - spacious and comfortable.
I chose it because although we wanted to visit LL Bean and so on, I didn't want to actually stay in the town. This is the perfect getaway from Freeport and yet it is only a 10 minute drive away. It was truly hard to move from the balcony, with that fabulous view over the water. So peaceful!
Wolf Neck State Park is small but lovely and we were thrilled to see a family of Osprey's there, fairly close up. In fact we also saw them from our balcony flying over the water, along with a heron, an Egret (we think) and many other birds that were new to us. If you want to stay in the countrside with the convenience of a town nearby, then Wolf Neck B & B is ideal.

  • Liked — view from the balcony
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wolf Neck B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolf Neck B & B

Address: 93 Birch Point Road, Freeport, ME 04032
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wolf Neck B&B offers 2 special guests a secluded, tranquil waterfront suite including spacious bedroom with queen-size bed, cozy sitting area with TV & Wi-Fi connection, A/C, private bath and private waterfront balcony. Enjoy reading from the bedroom window seat overlooking the water or on the gazebo at the water's edge. This is a little bit of heaven just 4 miles from all of Freeport's fine shops, outlets, restaurants and LL Bean. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wolf Neck B & B Freeport, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wolf Neck B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.