We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good nights stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Freeport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Freeport to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Freeport
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   537 US Route 1, Freeport, ME 04032   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
“Good nights stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Front desk courteous, Restaurant recomendation turned out badly, room was clean, bathroom was clean, tv up to date flat screen, room had fridge and microwave, room was spartan, one night stay, price was right

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kquirion, General Manager at Econo Lodge Freeport, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel about your recent experience. We are pleased that you had a good stay and the "price was right." We appreciate your compliments about the staff and room cleanliness, but do apologize that you had a poor dining experience elsewhere. We hope that you will stay with us again if you ever return to Freeport! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    68
    32
    22
    17
See reviews for
46
69
12
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I was here about 3 years ago and they treated me well, so came back. It's still a good news story.

The property is about 25 years old and outside, you can still see the occasional bit of deferred maintenance waiting to be completed. It is very solid construction and no squeaky floors or rattling furniture or sound transfer that you find with older motel properties from the 50's and 60's.

Inside, the rooms are all modern with newer carpet and tile and great beds. House-keeping is great and rooms are well maintained. There was one tiny construction/planning oddity in the room we had. The bath and toilet are in a separate room and the door was framed about a half inch too close - so the door caught on the toilet seat when you went to close the door. No big problem - lift the seat, close the door, lower the seat - not rocket science, just a bit of an oddity that didn't affect the stay.

The breakfast area seats 20 and gets a bit crowded at peak times, but people tend to turn-over the tables fairly quickly, so no major inconvenience. No matter how busy, the staff were very good about keeping items replenished and the last person to arrive for breakfast gets the same choices as the first person in the door. Breakfast is fairly standard (cereals, bagels, muffins, toast, apples, orange and apple juice, coffee) with the nice addition of a waffle maker to cook fresh hot waffles.

Staff are all extremely pleasant and efficient. The rates are decent for the offering, with discounts for AAA. Great coupon special if you get hold of the book. A great choice for a basic, no frills stay in the area. [Ask the staff for directions to the Freeport dock (just a couple of miles) and enjoy a great no-frills seafood lunch or dinner at the Harraseeket Lunch and Lobster (see separate review).]

Room Tip: I prefer further from the office, near the back of the property, away from the roads. There is a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kquirion, General Manager at Econo Lodge Freeport, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you very much for writing such a great review about your stay! We are happy that you have stayed with us in the past and that you came back to try us again. We appreciate your compliments regarding the decor of the rooms, housekeeping, breakfast, and the staff. Thank you for understanding the oddity in your room and that the breakfast room does get a bit crowded when we are full. We value your compliments and suggestions. Thanks again for staying with us. We are happy you had a satisfactory experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anadyr, Russia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here during clam fest because all other hotels were booked, worst desistion of my life. The rooms were smelly the beds hard as a rock. The breakfast was very stale and flavorless I hurt my tooth just biting on an English muffin overall just not worth your money. After that we went to the super 8 and had much better experience with new soft beds improved breakfast and more .
And it has been recently renovated too .
Also much cheaper than this econo lodge . Overall a very crappy stay

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kquirion, General Manager at Econo Lodge Freeport, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for writing us a review. We appreciate your feedback as it gives us a chance to evaluate what we can improve on. I am sorry that you had an unpleasant stay with us. I am sure we could have given you a different room, if you were unsatisfied with the first room. Our Serta pillow-top mattresses are very new and normally very comfortable, but unfortunately this was not your experience. We do not have English muffins for our continental breakfast, and all of our items are very fresh, so I am very sorry that you had this experience. Thanks again for your comments, and we hope that you will give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights, room was clean and spacious a bit noisy (traffic) because we were in front of the building. Bed was comfortable but pillows and towels too thin. Check in was long, clerk did'nt seem to familiar with the computer system, she did'nt inform us about the facilities. Breakfast was good but too crowded.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kquirion, General Manager at Econo Lodge Freeport, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and making an effort to write a review regarding your recent stay. I am glad that you received value for your money! Thank you for the compliments regarding the spaciousness and cleanliness of your room. I am sorry that it was a bit noisy towards the front of the building; route 1 is very quiet at night, but unfortunately we can still hear some of the noise from 295. I am glad that the bed was comfortable, but sorry you felt the towels and pillows were too thin. We do have new ones on their way. I am sorry you were unsatisfied with your check-in experience and the amount of space at breakfast. We do have a couple of new guest service representatives who are just learning the ropes, and I am pretty sure this was the case when you checked in. I appreciate this feedback as clearly the routine parts of the job need to be reinforced. Unfortunately our breakfast room is just too small for the hotel when it is full. Hopefully next year we will have some tables and chairs outside to accomodate the large crowds. Thanks again for your feedback, as it is from this that we are able to grow and improve as a team. We hope you will stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athol, MA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

In reading other reviews it hardly sounds like the place I stayed. My family went to Freeport for a nice long weekend. The room we had was definetely outdated. The bathroom door didn't even close. The tub was covered with nicks, spiders throughout the bathroom. We had to go around the room to find a plug that worked. Several of them the plugs just fell out of the wall. The deadbolt on our door didn't work well. Worse yet, for the first time ever (and we travel frequently) with staying in a hotel room, my daughter and I came home with several bed bug bites. Found that very disturbing. As to not sound completely negative here, the staff was very friendly and we did enjoy the breakfast that they served in the morning. Cereal, muffins, bagels, waffles, fruit....my daughter loved the breakfast. All in all, I'm not planning on returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kquirion, General Manager at Econo Lodge Freeport, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you for writing us a review regarding your recent stay. We appreciate this feedback since it tells us what we need to improve, and clearly there are some things that need to be evaluated. I am so sorry that your stay was unsatisfactory. Maintenance has assessed all of the problems that you mentioned, which will benefit our future guests and would have been unknown if it hadn't been for your review. I am just sorry that none of these problems were caught before you arrived! After the review posted, we immediately inspected the room for bedbugs and fortunately did not find any. We do monthly inspections of the rooms for bedbugs as well, so I am very sorry if you and your daughter were bitten by something. Thank you for your compliments regarding the continental breakfast; we are glad you were able to enjoy it. We hope that you will give us another chance to make your next stay memorable for the right reasons. Again I do apologize for your unpleasant stay and thank you for this valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut, United States
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We had not stayed with them for a number of years and we were pleased at the improvements. An excellent value for a high priced weekend, Yarmouth Clam Festival. Room was clean and quiet. Continental breakfast had good selections and breakfast area was fastidisly cleaned.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kquirion, General Manager at Econo Lodge Freeport, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review about your recent stay! We are so happy that you were satisfied with your stay and the hotel's improvements. Thank you for the compliments regarding the cleanliness of your room and breakfast. I am glad that you felt you received value in staying with us during such a busy time. We hope that you will stay with us again if you are ever in the Freeport area in the future. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fall River, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I was very disappointed with how sneaky they are!! We had checked in and rates seemed decent, room overall was okay. Clerk seemed to be helpful when we checked in. We were never asked if we had a pet. We saw a sign that said pet friendly so did not see a problem with bringing our pet in the room with us. Our 12 lb puppy is hypoallergenic so should not have been a problem.The next am we checked out and were not told of any problems. When we got home we noticed that our credit card had been billed twice. Once for the original charge for the rooms and an additional charge of $85.00. When I contacted them back they said it was because I had a dog..I told them well we were never asked and the sign said pet friendly. She said that only certain rooms were pet friendly and that room that we were stayed in would have to be reconditioned for others who have allergies. I explained to her that our dog is hypoallergenic. Although we were credited our money back others should be aware, as I found them to be very sneaky in the fact that they billed us 2 days later and were never even notified!! Very disappointing..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kquirion, General Manager at Econo Lodge Freeport, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We appreciate any and all feedback. It is unfortunate that you were not asked at check-in whether or not you had a pet traveling with you, as all of the front desk is aware of our procedure with guests traveling with pets. I am glad that you felt the rates were decent as well as the room. Lots of guests with hypoallergenic dogs stay with us, and we do put them in pet-friendly rooms as well. When you departed, housekeeping had not yet been to your room, so there was no way of knowing at checkout whether a pet had been in your room. I do hope that refunding your card for this matter has solved the problem and assure you that we are not trying to be sneaky, just trying to keep pets in designated rooms as a consideration for our other guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Freeport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Freeport

Address: 537 US Route 1, Freeport, ME 04032
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Freeport 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gold Awarding Winning by Choice Hotels Econo Lodge(R) is conveniently located less than a mile from L.L. Bean's Flagship Store, a world-famous outdoor gear & apparel store, open 24 hours every day year round. Also nearby is the Desert of Maine, a famous natural phenomenon, hundreds of outlet stores, Bradbury Mountain State Park, Wolfe's Neck Woods State Park & the Maine Maritime Museum, featuring gallery exhibits, a historic shipyard & narrated boat cruises. Springtime in Freeport is an exciting time of year! Popham Beach State Park, Reid State Park and Old Orchard Beach are about 30 minutes away. There are many outdoor activities for the whole family to enjoy including sailing, biking, bird watching at the Mast Landing Bird Sanctuary and even lighthouse tours! Want to squeeze in a game of golf or two? The Freeport Country Club, Toddy Brook Golf Course, the Falmouth Country Club and more are just a short drive from our hotel. In addition, Portland International Jetport is 18 miles from the hotel. This Freeport, ME hotel features Free Expanded Continental Breakfast and free local calls. Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like free wireless high-speed Internet access, a business center in the lobby & access to copy/fax services. All spacious guest rooms include work desks and cable television with Showtime. Non-smoking and Pet-Friendly rooms can be requested. Whether your favorite activity is hiking a mountain on a crisp spring morning or spending the afternoon laying in the sun at Popham Beach State Park Freeport, Maine provides a great room, convenient location and wonderful service at an exceptional value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Freeport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Freeport Hotel Freeport
Freeport Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Freeport Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Freeport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.