We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great lunch spot….” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tuscan Brick Oven Bistro

Tuscan Brick Oven Bistro
140 Main Street, Freeport, ME
207-869-7200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 57 Restaurants in Freeport
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Tuscan Brick Oven Bistro in Freeport, ME brings together traditional Tuscan recipes with the freshest, local ingredients that Maine has to offer. The result is a menu filled with dishes that locals and tourists alike will love. Whether you choose our house made pasta dishes, brick oven pizzas or wood grilled steaks, you’ll be enjoying the taste of Maine with the flavor of Tuscany!
Huntington, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A great lunch spot….”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stopped here on a Saturday afternoon looking for a place that had great drinks and an exciting menu. The drinks were strong and tasty. The menu, although not super exciting was delicious for what we had. We tried the truffle pizza and pulled pork sandwich. Although the sandwich was very different than what I was used to, it was delicious and great for a hot summer afternoon… almost refreshing in a way.
I have heard this place holds a 2 hour wait during the busy season and I'd question if it would be worth it then, but I was NOT disappointed at all.
It's a great place in Freeport to catch a bite! I'd definitely return back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    53
    21
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very popular, with good reason.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is a great place to eat. However it is very popular, so there may be a wait time to get in for dinner.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nova scotia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Myself and two sisters had a wonderful meal here.The atmosphere and service was just what we were looking for.I am always impressed with comfortable seats which are much appreciated and this restaurant provided some of the most comfortable. All of our meals were excellent especially the Prosciutto wrapped dates appetizer. The red wine sangria also was top notch.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We ate there a few days ago while on vacation in New England. It's only been open a year and not hard to see why it is so popular. Great pizza, mussels and salad. If we could only do dairy the menu would really open up for us. Very well designed and great service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slc
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Small portions, High prices, Poor Service, Tastes good tho.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

The $7 bowl of meatball and kale soup and one quarter size meat ball, and the bowl was very shallow. I complained and they refunded the cost. I asked the waitress for butter for the bread instead of olive oil and she told me "We don't have any butter in the restaurant." I don't believe that, would you??? The lobster roll was $18 at lunch. It was hard to find the lobster but easy to find the copious amounts of lettuce that stuffed the roll. The bread itself was delicious.

I would not go here, the prices are very high, the quantities are very small and the waitress was abysmal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tuscan Brick Oven Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Tuscan Brick Oven Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tuscan Brick Oven Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.