We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Isabella's Cafe And Bakery

Isabella's Cafe And Bakery
2 School Street, Freeport, ME 04032
+1 207-865-6635
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 59 Restaurants in Freeport
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Bakeries, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: We strive to create a warm and friendly cafe that reminds you of home cooking. We prepare all of our food from scratch using fresh ingredients and family recipes. Next time you're in Freeport, stop on by for breakfast, lunch, and of course one of our famous sticky buns! A long time feature of Freeport, Maine, Isabella's Cafe has recently come under new ownership by Caite Maynard. Caite has worked in the food industry for over 40 years; she is renowned for her baking, soup, and her attention to customer service. Isabella's Cafe now focuses on fresh food made by hand, using locally-sourced ingredients and family recipes; breakfast and lunch are available all day, and Caite's passion for baking results in a bakery case filled with delicious items from cookies, muffins, and scones, and the homemade sticky bun bread pudding is not to be missed!
Bangor
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Isabella's seems to be the sort of place local working folk run in to for a quick bite or a to-go dish, as well as a nice place to sit and rest while enjoying the food. Hubs always likes to have a breakfast omelet - no matter the time of day - and I like to experiment with sandwich fare - we run early, lunch early, so our breakfast/lunch tastes are nicely satisfied.The redesigned interior was a great improvement, and the menu changes were very nice...we like the Isabella's we had come to for a few years, we like the revamped menu and space even better.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    33
    4
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Tucked away cafe.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Nice coffee even if it was made in a push buttom flask. Bun was delicious and as is American, very large. Not overly busy due to it's out of the way position.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
290 reviews 290 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 149 cities Reviews in 149 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“My Last Stop and a Good One”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I’ve been in Freeport for two full days and was ready to get something nice to take back to my room to have with a cup of tea later. I went in and was pleased that the counter staff is about as lovely and personable as you can want. My order was simple, a walnut maple scone. It was a generous size and absolutely filled with flavor, moist, and delicious.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
319 reviews 319 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Best meal we had in Freeport, Maine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Miserable freezing rain in middle of an ice storm, we walked the two blocks from the Hilton to this place and we were glad we did. Superb service, creative breakfast selections, good ingredients, and nicely prepared. A counter service place, so the ambiance is nothing special. But for a nice, hearty, and healthy breakfast at a reasonable price, I can highly recommend it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very nice home made breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

My husband and I and our 7 yr old daughter enjoyed a very nice breakfast on our trip to Freeport for Sparkle Weekend. The owner was very pleasant and the food was made fresh to order. The home made hot chocolate was amazing & even though we filled up on our egg n cheese on biscuit sandwiches, we left with a big bakery box full of scones and sticky buns for later.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isabella's Cafe And Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Isabella's Cafe And Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isabella's Cafe And Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.