We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Azure Cafe

Azure Cafe
123 Main St, Freeport, ME 04032-1200
207-865-1237
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 57 Restaurants in Freeport
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Bangor
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delightful Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

In Freeport for a girls day of shopping, we looked for a new place to eat, our prime criteria being there MUST be Calamari. The atmosphere was inviting, the staff friendly and helpful - our server was especially patient in answering all our questions and describing the lunch special a second time as I was having difficulty making up my mind. Our Calamari Azzimata was the first I've had not served with a dipping sauce - and it was the best I've ever tasted - the delicate flavor, enhanced unbelievably by the dressing of Parmesan cheese, onion and vinaigrette, left me wishing we had ordered more. The lunch special was a lovely lobster salad served on a bed of fresh spinach and tomatoes (how flavorful they were!) in a crusty sub roll, with an aioli drizzle that added so much to the dish - the portion was generous enough that it had to be eaten with knife and fork. Served with either very thin shoestring fries (yummy) or pasta salad (my friend's choice and it looked delicious) it was a satisfying and filling lunch without being in the slightest heavy. For as few shoppers as we saw in Freeport that day, the Azure Cafe seemed to have a plenty of diners. Our server, Zeus, was attentive, prompt, and very helpful, all of which contributed to a truly enjoyable experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    145
    39
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Freeport, Maine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“You Can't Improve on the Best of Everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

How lucky can you get when you're a local and get to enjoy the bes food in Maine a couple of times a month? Whether it's business, pleasure, romance, catching up with old friends and conversation, or new friends...bring them to Azure, try the Blueberry Salmon, there are NO words to describe the taste of that one. I've always believed that 'simple' is best, their chefs have cornered the market on producing the BEST. They make love through the preparation of the food, it's all in there...why waste time eating anywhere else?

Carole H. from Freeport

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpswell
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“ALWAYS TASTY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Azure Cafe is our "go to" restaurant in Freeport, ME. The food selection is varied, the seating is
comfortable, the service is professional and the meals are as satisfying in taste as in presentation.
The outdoor summer seating is especially delightful.
Lots to like!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Food is always great. The service is always attentive.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

The food was fantastic. This is my third time dinning at Azure. They have a very good wine list. The service was great but the heater was out which made it a little uncomfortable.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“always amazing, 10 meals and all were great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

a fine wine selection only topped by the friendly staff

every visit has bought a new ah ha moment with the food

my wife has Chiponni and calamari on each visit and they are second to none

i'm a taster and this trip was the lamb special -it did not fail me

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azure Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Azure Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azure Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.