We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed patio dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Azure Cafe

Azure Cafe
123 Main St, Freeport, ME 04032-1200
207-865-1237
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 57 Restaurants in Freeport
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Relaxed patio dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Great food, great location. Who would expect to find the best restaurant in Freeport right on Main Street- 123 Main Street no less. Great chowder, excellent vegetarian options.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    144
    39
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Some TA rankings make no sense to me but this clearly a top ranked restaurant in Freeport. I  tend to be harder on restaurants like Azure because my expectations are higher. You have to earn it every day and I expect them to show me why they are highly ranked. Azure does just that. My server clearly understood hospitality and she guided me through a leisurely 2+ hour late summer meal on a Sunday night. It was obviously uncrowded as I wandered me way through an appetizer, demi-salad, entree and desert, each delicious in it's own respect. I thought the pricing was commensurate with the quality of the meal. The patio area was pleasant. The experience was extremely satisfying. The high marks are clearly earned.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Another excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We love Azure Cafe - we had the same lunch there twice.....clam chowder and lobster roll. It's excellent and there is no need to go anywhere else. Clam chowder is their specialty and they do it better than any place we've eaten - and we've sampled a lot of clam chowder.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

After eating lobsters for two straight days, this place was a nice change. We went to Maine for the annual lobster festival in Rockland but decided to stay in Freeport because it was close to Portland and the shopping area was also close to our hotel. We read a lot of great reviews for this place so we decided to try it out on our last night in Freeport. The caprese salad was very fresh. It was served with olive oil infused with garlic (ask for the balsamic vinegar!). I thought the chicken alfredo was delicious. The pasta tasted homemade. My sister got the linguine with clam sauce and she thought it was a little on the bland side. My dad got the salmon with blueberry bbq sauce served with grilled baby zucchini. That was also very good. The ambience was very nice with the patio seating and the gentleman playing the guitar in the corner. This is also at a great location. You are steps away from all sorts of shops and bakeries.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Blueberry Margarita!?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Sat quickly on Sunday afternoon outside. Loved the strawberry salad with Gorgonzola and candied pistachios. Also had the caprese salad which was pretty good. But the absolute best was the blueberry margarita! Will definitely return next time in the area

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azure Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Azure Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azure Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.