We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 1912 Cafe

1912 Cafe
95 Main Street, L.L. Bean Flagship Store, Freeport, ME 04032
(207) 865-6660
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 57 Restaurants in Freeport
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Mount Holly, New Jersey
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We visited the LL Bean flagship store in Freeport Maine. It is like a campus with several buildings for various activities (e.g. biking, hunting, etc...). The 1912 Cafe serves a few sandwiches, soups and salads. I had a haddock chowder and a Cuban sandwich. Both were quite good. Not too expensive either.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    16
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SanFrancisco Bay Area
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Cafe next to LLBEAN nice sandwiches”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Excellent gluten free bread and Cuban sandwich. Nice patio seating. Salads soups children's menu. Prices are High but good quality located right next to LLBEAN retail store

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Good fresh food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I would recommend this place to grab a fresh salad or sandwich. I had a salad with nuts and berries that was very good. My husband had a sandwich that he loved. Everything made to order. They also offer soups daily.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food, dog friendly patio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Passed through Freeport on our way up to Bar Harbor with our 2 retrievers. It was too hot to leave them in the car, so we needed to find some outdoor seating for lunch. Also wanted something healthy and quick. This little place hit the spot on all accounts. Amazing wraps, fast friendly service, and ample outdoor seating with plenty of shade for the pooches. We'll be sure to come here next time we're in town for sure!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tappan, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Expected Better for the Price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

It was raining all day so we decided to stay and eat at 1912 cafe by default. The menu is limited to a select handful of sandwiches and soups that are overpriced. Their dessert menu is limited to a few cooky's and muffins.The atmosphere is missing the mark. You have to remember you are eating in a Sporting goods store and not a restaurant that depends on customer satisfaction. I'm sorry but i found the food Average, The food description on the menu was excellent as compared to the actual food taste. For the price i expected better.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1912 Cafe also viewed

 

Been to 1912 Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1912 Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.