We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but SLOW” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Freeport Seafood Co.

Freeport Seafood Co.
175 Lower Main St., Freeport, ME 04032
+1 207-865-9105
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 59 Restaurants in Freeport
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Troy, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good but SLOW”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stopped recently for dinner...the appetizer came out quickly & was good. We wanted to share a meal since it was late & did not want a BIG meal. Lobster mac & cheese - it was very good but took forever...too long & you lose your appetite. Server was friendly. Reasonable prices. Not outstanding but good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    22
    22
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Think this place has gone thru a name change”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

This place was a quick stop along our trip for lunch. Seems we were there for their soft-opening. Not to shabby. Food was good and menu had a wide selection of different items. I had the lobster pie and it was darn good. Service was just a tad bit slow, but we were not in a hurry anyway. Overall good experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We are locals and had not yet hit the Freeport Grill (they have recently changed their name). We had an OK meal but it wasn't outstanding.

The decor is interesting. It's kind of dark and plain. We were seated in the bar area. The atmosphere is missing something but I can't quite put my finger on it.

We started with Lobster stew which was very good. Our main's (Stuffed Haddock and Fish Tacos) were OK. The haddock was a bit heavy - lots of butter and the Fish Tacos was more like a fish pizza with kind of a thick breaded base. Not a whole lot of flavor. Bill was $60 before tip with 2 beers and a soda. Our server was very good and attentive to our needs.

Overall it was OK but you can get some better meals for the money in Freeport.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I am from the area and go there often with my family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

I go there often with my aunt, mother grandmother and daughter. We have never had anything but great food and service!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We were in Freeport for a girls shopping weekend and could not wait for some delicious Maine seafood. Well we did not find it here. First the atmosphere was simple, tables and chairs. We sat in a corner and had a terrible draft. As I looked around I noticed that we were not the only folks wearing winter coats while having dinner. The clam chowder was ok, but then I ordered the haddock. I truly believe it had been frozen and then not fully cooked. I actually had to send it back, and the new piece of fish they brought me was not much better. Others at my table had the lobster stew and found that the pastry was good,but the stew itself was bland, hot on the bottom but the center just warm. The meal was very over priced, I would not recommend this place and will not be returning.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freeport Seafood Co. also viewed

 

Been to Freeport Seafood Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freeport Seafood Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.