We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Southwestern Haddock Wrap” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Freeport Seafood Co.

Freeport Seafood Co.
175 Lower Main St., Freeport, ME 04032
+1 207-865-9105
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 57 Restaurants in Freeport
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Portland, Maine
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Southwestern Haddock Wrap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Our third visit to the Freeport Seafood Co. did not dissapoint us. The Southwestern Haddock Wrap was once again a hit with us. Our rating falls short of "excellent" due to the lame excuse for clam chowder....mostly potatoes and milk, with not a clam to be seen.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    21
    22
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very over priced and very bland”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Beside the prices being very high, the food was bland and small portioned. The jumbo shrimp was not jumbo. The lobster stew had very little in it for a price of $15.00. Tasted like a base soup that had just added the lobster. Very bland. The atmosphere was not inviting. Staff was pleasant, but seemed a bit dis- shoveled. This is not a place I would recommend to a Mainer wanting good seafood.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Maine, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yikes”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

When you first enter what do you smell? Good food, wine garlic, butter? No. Industrial cleaner coming from the bathrooms at the entrance. If you can make it past the smell you enter the most incredibly sterile atmosphere for restaurant. It has the personality of a presto log. A seafood restaurant in a coastal village in Maine. What do you get? A couple of baseball posters. Huh? Really? is this a joke? Sadly no. Next comes the food. We tried lobster nachos. Basically the worst nachos I've ever had. A bad combo or bad lobster not sure which. Next a haddock burrito. An improvement to be sure, but nothing I'd ever order again. Even the water in the glass tasted like chemicals. Couldn't wait to leave.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by the name”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The name is what attracted me to this restaurant. I tried the chowder and it was served warm, not hot, and the bowl held what you would expect to get in a cup. Also had crab cake appetizers that was also served warm. The restaurant is clean and seems to be geared to a fast turnover of families. The server was friendly but seemed a little less than truthful when I asked if the chowder was good and he recommended the lobster bisque as being his favorite. I think it is his favorite because it is about $3-4 more. I would not go back to this restaurant unless I had a bunch of hungry kids and I would order their all you can eat fish fry.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

My wife's seafood chowder had plenty of potato but not much seafood. My clam chowder was good. For the price of $7 or $8 per cup the value wasn't there for counter service.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freeport Seafood Co. also viewed

 

Been to Freeport Seafood Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freeport Seafood Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.