We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 years in a row...best customer service ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Recompence Shore Campground at Wolfe's Neck Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Freeport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Recompence Shore Campground at Wolfe's Neck Farm
134 Burnett Rd, Freeport, ME   |  
Hotel amenities
Frederick, Maryland, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“3 years in a row...best customer service ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

In August of 2012 we arrived at "our tent site" (which is premium bayview) which we had stayed in the previous 2 years. Much to our extreme dissappointment and dismay, the once pristine site was deeply rutted, a mud pit and slick with some fluid which had leaked from the RV that had just left the site. Despite the fact that it was Sunday and a major event was being attended to at the Recompence Shore Farm (which is the best farm we have ever visited as far as cleanliness and animal treatment is concerned), we had the camp manager and two of his assisstants respond immediately to our concerns for the horrible condition of the site.

Not only did the staff assist in moving all of our equipment and choosing the best alternative site based on proximity to the great playground, brand new bathrooms/showers and still a view of the Casco Bay but the manager supplied us with free firewood and comped the entire stay to insure we would return.

Our one improvement we would make if we were management at Recompence Shore Family Campground is to have a separate area for RV camping. RV's mixed with rain render the campground dangerous for tenters and completely obscure other's view of the bay not to mention the generator sound and smell.

We have recommended Recompence Shore Family Camprgound to many friends near and far (we live in Maryland) and cannot wait to camp there in 2013!

Room Tip: Try to get a bay view camp site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recompence, Manager at Recompence Shore Campground at Wolfe's Neck Farm, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Hi Deb:

Thank you so much for your kind review about Recompence. I chuckled when I read it as I very clearly remember you, your friend and great kids when you arrived this summer. You were all very patient with us! Thanks again for writing this and please stop by the office to say hello when you are here this summer.

Best,

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    20
    9
    9
    3
See reviews for
32
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed for two nights on a waterfront site. The site was extremely muddy, and I felt that the office should have recommended another site since the campground was not full. Of course, we probably should have requested a change, but by the time we drove in and found our site, we didn't want to brave the gravel road back out. The long gravel road was in poor condition with potholes - not fun with a truck and camper. The scenery was beautiful, but we enjoyed it most at the nearby state park. Freeport is a lovely town, but the main attraction is shopping...not a favorite pass time for us with four young children. The restrooms were clean, and the kids enjoyed ice cream at the snack shack, but otherwise we were quite disappointed with the campground. It was quite pricey (I believe $55/night) for a site with no water or electric.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recompence, Manager at Recompence Shore Campground at Wolfe's Neck Farm, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Hi L S – Thank you for your feedback! I’m sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your stay. It is very important to us that our guests enjoy their camping experience, and would have been glad to help you find a site that was more suitable for you. With 130 campsites priced between $26-46 per night, we have a wide variety of sites, and nearly every one is a little different. Sometimes our roads do get a little bumpy, especially after wet weather. However, many people find our unpaved roads a welcome change and enjoy the rustic, scenic quality of camping on a historic working saltwater farm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed this campground! The lady that works in the office during the day is so nice. We are from Georgia & I found this campground online. Couldnt have been any happier with it. Beautiful scenery & great spots to put up tents with a great view!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This was a perfect camping spot. Beautfiul scenery, private, quiet, peaceful. This is what camping should be! Love the farm. I've camped for 30 years and my 4th time at Recompence and it just keeps getting better and better. Thank you Jackie & Jim for suggesting an amazing site. We will definately be back!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, NH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This past July my boyfriend and I enjoyed a quick camping (and shopping) getaway in Freeport, ME. I was a little unsure of what to expect as we were in the section of the campground with the new bath house and playground area - I am happy to report that we were pleasantly surprised. We had a great wooded campsite that fit our tent, truck and pop-up canopy perfectly and we were conveniently located to the new bath house. This campground has great walking trails and ocean access (kayak rentals were available) and offered fun amenities like a community lobster bake and wagon rides. My boyfriend and I lucked out because they were also hosting a wedding that weekend; we sat fireside underneath the stars with the faint sound of bluegrass music in the distant background.

P.S.
The various outlets, L.L. Bean center, restaurants and other downtown Freeport attractions are literally 5 minutes away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, New Hampshire, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is our first time back into camping now that our kids are off to college. We were very happy with the location by the ocean, yet had a lovely quiet site in wooded shade. We were impressed by the size of each site and that we did not feel as though our neighbors were crowding us at all. Yes, the campground is a few notches above primitive, (outhouses rather than bathrooms throughout, but very clean! and always with plenty of TP) - we were not looking for a campground with a pool, activities director or lots of noise. This is a great place to get back to nature and enjoy each other. The Lobster Bake at the Farm was a great experience with Barn Dance after.
Staff were very helpful and friendly - the website sealed the deal for us to book!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, Massachusetts
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

My sister reserved a section on the campground for the night of her wedding but some how the reservation was never made, people got booked in our section and when the camp realized their mistake they did not move them. So the end of June they figure things out and I reserve a site for late August. I get to the camp site and just unpacking in the site between me and my sisters high school buddies is a family with a baby and a yappy little puppy. Poor people, I'm sure we ruined their night, every time we laughed or used the bathroom the puppy started barking and then the baby cried, and poor us after months of careful planning we got security called on us for sitting by the campfire. It seems the campground was not concerned about the experience of ANY of their guests,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Recompence Shore Campground at Wolfe's Neck Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Recompence Shore Campground at Wolfe's Neck Farm

Address: 134 Burnett Rd, Freeport, ME
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty lodging in Freeport
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 50 years, our family-friendly Recompence Shore Campground has given families the opportunity to stay at a working saltwater farm just 4.5 miles from downtown Freeport and L.L. Bean. Set on our 626 acres of farmland and forest with over 4 miles of Casco Bay ocean frontage, our campground is the perfect place to enjoy your Maine vacation in the country. Open May-October (winter camping by appointment) 3 oceanfront cottages & 130 oceanfront, inland and wooded campsites Tents-only area (Middle Bay) 20 RV sites (inland) with water & 30 amp electric service (35' max) Limited oceanfront sites that accomodate motorhomes and trailers (dry camping) Adjacent to Wolfe's Neck Woods State Park Pet-friendly (max: 2 well-behaved, leashed pets per site) Summer kayak and bicyle rentals, farm tours, lobster bakes, Snack Shack and haywagon rides, history tours and family programs ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Recompence Shore Campground Hotel Freeport
Recompence Shore Campground At Wolfe's Neck Farm Freeport, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Recompence Shore Campground at Wolfe's Neck Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Recompence Shore Campground at Wolfe's Neck Farm to your Saves list