We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rude, rude, rude” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Freeport Chowder House

Freeport Chowder House
2 Mechanic Street, Freeport, ME
(207) 865-3404
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 59 Restaurants in Freeport
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Californai/New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“rude, rude, rude”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Took my friend to Freeport for the day and this restaurant was handing out flyers to solicit diners for dinner. We decided to give them a try. It was ridiculously hot in the restaurant, the seating is uncomfortable, prices are not reasonable and the staff was outragously rude.
Think we are going back?? Absoltutely not!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas B, Manager at Freeport Chowder House, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Since your last visit we have got all new seating as of April 2013. I have to agree with you there is never any reason to be rude to a customer. Thank You Thomas Brown, Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    14
    10
    12
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Our favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is our favorite spot to stop in for lunch while in Freeport. We visit Freeport once a year and the cook remembers us year after year. The lobster rolls are THE BEST ever .. Worth every penny. Onion rings are hand cut to order and are delicious. Don't miss this spot!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Chowder & Haddock are amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I stopped in for a snack before we went to llbean. We ended up with a feast! First off-get their onion rings! Best I have ever eaten. I don't like fish so I got the corn chowder which was delicious. I tried a bite of my husbands haddock because it wasn't greasy looking (which is why I don't like fish) & it was very good! I ended up eating the whole piece. I've never eaten more than a bite of fish off my husbands plate in our yrs together. I don't understand the so so rating of this place! It was honestly very delicious & I can't wait to return in April!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Could have been better.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Slow Wednesday in January, the cook is talking to the owner about how to increase business... I get an order of Maine shrimp with fries, and my wife got a fish chowder. Being from N.E. we are brought up with good chowder, this on the other hand was just O.K., my shrimp order had maybe 5 shrimp and the fries were so soggy! Want to increase business, make sure each customer is happy!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oneida, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

On our trip to Maine, we were hungry for some chowder! And found this place, it was fast and not many people, and the food was very good. The only thing was the dining area was small and there wasn't much room.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freeport Chowder House also viewed

 

Been to Freeport Chowder House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freeport Chowder House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.