We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Bargain in an Overpriced Area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casco Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Casco Bay Inn to your Saves list
Casco Bay Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   107 US Route 1 South, Freeport, ME 04032   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$10 off room rate
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
east coast
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Real Bargain in an Overpriced Area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

My wife and I found the Casco Bay Inn based on Trip Advisor reviews. It's a real bargain, especially in an area of overpriced Hampton Inns, Holiday Inn Expresses and Marriott Residence Inns. The price to these aforementioned places was $48-$53 dollars less per night for very comparable accommodations and amenities, plus the staff is friendly, helpful and efficient.
The room was clean, had a good kingsize bed, a well-thought-out bathroom with two sinks, and great in-room coffee. The free continental breakfast was varied and delicious and the toasters actually worked very well. Plus, this hotel is literally convenient to everything in the Freeport/Brunswick area. Additionally, the Casco Bay Inn is an 18 minute drive to the waterfront district of Portland down Route 295. This is a real find, thanks to Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    86
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
50
107
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We have stayed here many times while visiting the Freeport area. It is away from the downtown Freeport area and therefore a little bit quieter. Very clean, large rooms with refrigerator, new beds, and large clean bathrooms. Keurig coffee pots in each room. Although on Route 1, it's far enough back from the road that it's not noisy. We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

Good large rooms, clean and nice, the location isn't perfect but within half an hour possible to get to everywhere around

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugerties, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

We just returned from Maine and the Casco Bay Inn. It's a fabulous place to stay--clean, quiet, centrally located, great staff ..... I could go on and on.
Wish we had more time to spend. Would definitely recommend this establishment to family and friends.
It was nice and quiet, had a great continental breakfast and was a central point for all the places that we chose to visit during our stay.
It definitely gets two thumbs up !!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miamisburg, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

The location was convenient to the shopping in Freeport and Portland. Rooms were immaculate! The Inn was as nice inside as a major motel chain. Very reasonably priced including a Continental breakfast. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

The Casco Bay Inn was our first stop in Maine after a drive in pouring rain from Manchester, NH airport. Right off the Interstate and close to Freeport shopping, as we had planned a visit to LL Bean before departing for better locations in northern Maine. Breakfast was a hit, this Inn provides lots of variety and service. Employees are very courteous and helpful. However, not sure if it was the rain for days, but the room was moldy and dusty. If this is a shopping trip, this hotel will do just fine for one or two days. Longer stays you might reconsider. Note the price is reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Haledon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

What a pleasant experience! The room was large, clean and had wonderful towels. One of my peeves about reasonably-priced motels/hotels is the towel supply. Towels are most often thin and tiny. These were thick, large and fluffy!

We were first shown a room on the second floor, which was fine. We asked if anything was available on the first floor, since there's no elevator. The woman at the desk was very pleasant and gave us a first floor room near an entrance.

The w-fi worked. The continental breakfast was adequate - with great coffee. Great place to stay just outside of downtown Freeport. Only minor complaint was the less than cheerful breakfast attendant.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casco Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casco Bay Inn

Address: 107 US Route 1 South, Freeport, ME 04032
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Freeport
#4 Business Hotel in Freeport
#4 Family Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Casco Bay Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Casco Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casco Bay Hotel Freeport
Casco Bay Motel
Casco Bay Inn Freeport, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casco Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.