We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motorcyclists Retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of White Cedar Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added White Cedar Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
White Cedar Inn Bed and Breakfast
178 Main St, Freeport, ME 04032-1407   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Freeport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Motorcyclists Retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

Two road weary motorcyclists were treated to a most enjoyable stay. The hosts are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent. The room and beds provided us with a very pleasant nights rest.
We enjoyed being in town. After riding for hours on end , it is very nice to be able to walk out for dinner and some shopping at LL bean.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    24
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
95
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2008

The White Cedar Inn is a beautiful B&B that is walking distance from the LL Bean Factory Stores as well as the plethora of other factory stores. The owners are a delightful couple who made us feel very welcome, prepared great breakfasts, and had answers and excellent advice whenever we were in need.

The Inn is immaculately kept and beautifully decorated. Everything worked perfectly. I can't recommend this Inn highly enough!

  • Liked — The owners
  • Disliked — Nothing thatn would not be nit-picking
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2008

We always have a great stay here and have returned so often that we have earned "frequent sleeper" status! There are always treats when we arrive, plenty of reading materials and lots of coffee and breakfast in the morning. Thanks for the hospitality.

  • Liked — Hosts
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2008

I highly recommend the White Cedar Inn. It is a beautiful Inn with lots of character and very comfortable rooms. Breakfasts are fantastic - blueberry pancakes are my favorite.

The innkeepers Monica and Rock are very welcoming hosts. Monica took time to share interesting places for us to go and see while we stayed at The White Cedar Inn. I also recommend her Blog where she details different events and places nearby the Inn. Invaluable first hand information, things I would not find on my own.

Overall we had a wonderful stay and look forward to seeing them again on our next visit.

  • Liked — Walking distance to LLBEAN
  • Disliked — SNOW! Next time we go in the summertime
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2008

We stayed only one night at the White Cedar Inn with Monica and Rock but what a wonderful place. We stayed in the Palor Room with the fireplace and it was spacious and cozy. The breakfast was delicious and both Monica and Rock we terrific to talk to. The Inn is historic and has a wonderful story behind it. Thanks so much for a wonderful time.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadsworth, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2007

We stayed in Freeport for two days in September before going on a Schooner boat (Isaac H.. Evans) in Rockland, ME. The warm hospitality of Monica and Rock made the first leg of our trip very memorable. The Inn is very comfortable and we felt very much as if we were in our home. Rock creates a wonderfull fluffy blueberry pancake breakfast and great conversation! Monica creates a warm, welcoming environment! The Inn is within walking distance to downtown Freeport. I would highly recommend this Inn while in Freeport. We will for sure stay there again the next time we visit Freeport.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2007

We only stayed one night at the White Cedar Inn, but we could have stayed for a week! Great location, within walking distance to all of the shops, or within a short car ride of many other great destinations. The hosts are very hospitable, and the room we stayed in--The Crow's Nest--was very well appointed--we loved the down blanket. They also gave us a great recommendation for dinner, and gave us plenty of info about the area. This B&B is definitely worth a look if you're headed to the Freeport area.

  • Liked — The friendly hosts, the location, the blankets!! :)
  • Disliked — The climb up the stairs might be difficult for some--we were fine, but something to consider.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Cedar Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Cedar Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 178 Main St, Freeport, ME 04032-1407
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to White Cedar Inn! Centrally located in Mid Coast Maine, this charming B&B is close to LL Bean, the Freeport Village Station, Freeport's best restaurants and 3 state parks.A full, scrumptious breakfast is served each morning in the sunroom overlooking the gardens. After breakfast, walk into town for a day of shopping or relax on the one acre grounds.A/C, fireplaces, private baths, non-smoking inn. Free parking and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your White Cedar Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Cedar Inn Bed And Breakfast Freeport, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Cedar Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.