We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brewster House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Brewster House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Brewster House Bed & Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   180 Main Street, Freeport, ME 04032   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Freeport B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Watertown, CT
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

On May 6, 2013 my wife and I checked into the Brewster House Bed and Breakfast in Freeport, Maine. From the moment we were greeted by Innkeepers Scott and Ruth our every need was taken care of. A brief tour of the Inn and we were taken to our room, just like the picture on the website the room was warm and relaxing. I was recently diagnosed with Celiac Disease, and when my wife made the reservation she was asked about any food allergies. There were afternnon snacks, Gluten Free, just for me. Every breakfast entree was made Gluten Free, and I enjoyed French Toast for the first time in a long time. Every moment of our stay was enjoyable and we would not hesitate to return. There were great Rocking Chairs on the side porch and we relaxed there every afternoon after a hard day shopping in town. We both enjoy Freeport and the Inn was walking distance to shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Our room was Pemaquid Point and we would request that room again. Nice stting area for reading or re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrewsterHouseBB, Owner at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thanks for taking time to write such a lovely review!

We certainly enjoyed chatting with you about your activities while here, and about tips and tricks for gluten-free creations!

Ruth & Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    19
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
213
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We have stayed at the Brewster House for years, as the location, the amenities, and particularly the owners, are second to none. The rooms are always impecably prepared, the ammenities are vast, and the gourmet breakfast is always remarkable. Scott and Ruth always greet us at the door, and ours wants and needs are a given no matter what. Most recently we ventured out with our daughter, son in law, and their toddler. Taking a toddler anywhere overnight could be a challenge, but Brewester House was up to the challenge. We were given accomodations that were perfect for our unique needs, and the Brewster House magic had it's effect. The generally early rising toddler slept until after 8 the next morning, moving my daughter to say "we need to come here more often!" It may have been the cookies Ruth bakes, or the king size bed that enveloped him when he settled in, or the downtown ammenities so very close at hand, but I really believe it's that Brewster House calm that has kept us coming back for nearly a decade.

Room Tip: Take a virtual tour if you want, but there isn't a bad room in this B&B. We like one with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrewsterHouseBB, Owner at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Gary & Anne, thanks so much for your review.....our goal is certainly to be the best of Freeport!. I recall who was here on the third floor when you were here, and that was exceptional. Please accept our apologies for any disturbance they may have caused.

We look forward to your next visit!!

Yours,
Scott & Mary Gile
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Only our third stay at a bed and breakfast. We really enjoyed the Brewster House. It was very clean and prepared for our stay. Our room had a fireplace, even though not needed during our stay, it added a nice touch. The room was also quiet, and comfortable, personable. Our name was placed on the door. The linens were turned down each day also. I can't say enough about the breakfast, oh my god, was it delicious. The china settings all had the "Brewster House" design. I can't wait until next year, already. Truly a relaxing setting. The Broad Arrow Tavern was almost next door, another delight.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Brewster House B&B was a superb experience! The owners are exceptional people that made our stay very comfortable in this charming, historic B&B. The décor and attention to detail is first-rate. The rooms are spotlessly clean and well equipped with high quality amenities; fireplace, free WiFi, TV, every bathroom accessory you'll ever need, etc. The bed is very comfortable. We greatly enjoyed the freshly cooked breakfasts in which the quantity and quality were splendid. We will definitely return if in the area again.

Additionally, the location is terrific since we could easily walked into town to enjoy excellent restaurants, shopping (ex. LL Bean), boutique stores, etc. Additionally, we enjoyed the beautiful Maine coast close by and many other wonderful attractions in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrewsterHouseBB, Owner at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you very much for the nice things you've said in your review, Stephen. It was a pleasure having you both here, and we enjoyed our conversations at breakfast very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We had a reservation for the weekend of Feb 8 and 9th, just as the blizzard was coming. We left Boston early to get a head of the snow and arrived at Brewster House at 11. Ruth and Scott greeted us so warmly-I was a little stressed from the drive. Check in was not until 3 but they brought us right up to our room. It was wonderful. The West Quoddy room was calming and relaxing. We enjoyed having the gas fireplace in the room during the storm too. Ruth was very helpful giving us tips on places to go in Freeport, the Inn is very convenient to all the shops and restaurants. The breakfast was first class all the way from Scott serving us, to the gourmet dishes Ruth had made, each day we started with a small fruit dish, and then a generous breakfast, bananas foster with bacon one day and an egg dish with sausages the 2nd both were superb. I have never been to a B&B with such a gourmet breakfast. You can skip lunch!
Brewster House is a beautiful old Victorian, it was immaculate, cozy and relaxing. Ruth and Scott were great hosts and we will be back for sure.

Room Tip: I feel that any room would make you more than happy at the Brewster House. We were in the front we h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrewsterHouseBB, Owner at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Bad weather can bring with a cozy escape, so it was great fun to have you stay with us - even with the blizzard!

We're so pleased that you enjoyed the room and the breakfasts!

We look forward to your next getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed at Brewster House in late January and had a lovely time! The rooms were clean and spacious with a homey feel to them. Ruth's homemade cookies greeted us in the foyer upon arrival and again as a special treat in our room after a day of shopping. And the breakfasts were AMAZING! Deliciously hot coffee, fresh squeezed OJ, and fabulous 2 course gourmet breakfast meals that inspired us to purchase her cookbook before we left. All in all, a lovely stay and one not to be missed by visitors to Freeport.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had stayed at the Brewster House b&b in freeport, maine about 8 years ago when we were visiting the States and loved it. The atmosphere, the food, the warm and friendly hosts-the room was gorgeous-everything was perfect.
This time we returned to a "different" place. Maybe the rooms were the same, but immediately when we enterred you could feel a coldness in the atmosphere. The room was small but ok, the food was "ok" but the thing that turned us off the most was the attitude of the innkeeper. He was not friendly, was cynical, and basically a real turnoff. It's too bad, but when the innkeeper does not know how to receive people (after all, they are in the people business), and is snippy when we ordered breakfast, that just did it for us. We will never go back there again and do not recommend it at all. We've been to bed and breakfasts in the past and do know what to more or less expect; always the people who worked/owned them were so friendly and warm. Maybe this man will learn from this.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrewsterHouseBB, Owner at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
We are certainly happy to hear that you had stayed at Brewster House while the previous owners were here, and chose to return after so many years.

We're sorry to hear you didn't feel that you were welcomed properly upon your arrival. We certainly remember your visit, and that when you arrived we chatted at length about all the changes that we had made to the house since your earlier visit. We thought we were all having a pleasant conversation.

When you booked the night before, you requested our least expensive room (which is also our smallest room), but as we recall, you said you loved the large bathroom and the redecorating we had done. Your breakfast menu the next morning was our fresh fruit pavlovas, our homemade Challah bread blueberry-stuffed french toast, and scrambled eggs (which you requested instead of one of our usual egg side dishes).

We certainly apologize for any perceived offense or "snippy" attitude, as that certainly was not our intention. Our goal is always to welcome our guests in a friendly manner and help make their stay in Freeport fun and enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brewster House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brewster House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 180 Main Street, Freeport, ME 04032
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brewster House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and enjoy a romantic Victorian Bed and Breakfast along the Maine Coast. Make the kind of memories that will last a lifetime, touring the coast's dramatic lighthouses, a lobster dinner in little-known coastal getaway, or shopping at over 160 stores and restaurants in Freepot, home of L.L. Bean.Indulge your romantic dreams at Brewster House. Savor a full, hot breakfast each morning, made with the freshest available ingredients, fresh ground coffee or a large selection of teas, and home-baked scones, muffins or breads, and enjoy afternoon refreshments or your choice of wine from our excellent selections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Brewster House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brewster House Bed & Breakfast Freeport, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brewster House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.