We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not What I Expect From Best Western” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Freeport Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Freeport Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Freeport Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 U.S. Route One, Freeport, ME 04032   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #8 of 11 hotels in Freeport
Bend, United States
1 review
“Not What I Expect From Best Western”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I'm not sure what the "Plus" in this property's brand means, but there was no "plus". In fact, the room we stayed in was in a separate building quarter-mile or more down the road adjacent to a pub bar. No elevator, no microwave, no coffee pot. Very inconvenient. Satellite building was fairly new, but evidently cheaply built since every noise in the room above could be heard, and the ceiling flexed with every step above. BW is usually among my first searches when travelling because of the its typical consistency and price value. But this one was not what I expected from my BW experiences to date, especially at an off-season rate much higher than other much nicer hotels we used on this trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainerbychoice, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Freeport Inn, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
The Muddy Rudder is actually a really nice restaurant with a beautiful dining room on the tidal river. It closes at 9:30 and I have never had a guest complaint about noise from there. Many of our guests enjoy the fact that they just have to walk across the parking lot and down the stairs to get to the restaurant for a great lobster dinner! All of our rooms have a single cup coffeemaker and a small refrigerator. Microwaves are available upon request, it is best to ask when the reserve the room. We have a 24 ground level rooms as well as 32 which are only 8 steps from our back parking lot. We are always happy to accommodate your choice of rooms based on availability.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    30
    17
    12
    5
See reviews for
35
41
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The hotel was very clean and handy to both the main highway and the outlet shopping in Freeport. The staff were very friendly and helpful with any questions I had. Also located on the property was an awesome restaurant called The Muddy Rudder which had fantastic food and super helpful/friendly staff. I would definitely stay there again on my next trip to Freeport.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainerbychoice, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Freeport Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We do offer a Holiday Special package which includes a $20 gift certificate to the Muddy Rudder, a $20 Freeport Shopping certificate, and $15 gift certificate to the Freeport Café for a rate of $144.99. This Holiday Special is available 11/1/13 through 12/31/13. Besides only being about 3 miles from Freeport we are only about 10 north of Portland. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Great place to stay with a dog, large exercise area with bags provided for pickup. Staff is very friendly and helpful. the adjoining restaurant is very good and provides a 15% discount for guests. It is close to Freeport, LLBean and the Outlets, and has easy access to I295.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainerbychoice, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Freeport Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are a very pet friendly hotel. Most of our guests with pets prefer our Hillside Building because there is more grassy area for them to get their exercise. The only floor in the Topside Building that is pet friendly is the lower deck which looks out over the tidal river. We are lucky to have The Muddy Rudder and The Freeport Café so close to us. They are both great places to eat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My wife and I visited Freeport Maine for the very first time in order to celebrate our 27th wedding anniversary as well as attend a friends wedding in town. We stayed for two nights and found the accomodations comfortable. One small issue we encountered while relaxing in our room during our stay was the uninvited intrusion by about a dozen or so Lady Bugs. Most likely they found their way into our room through a worn out insulation strip beneath the (balcony type) door that provides a nice view of the river and foliage during the daylight hours. There is no balcony, but when the door is opened, a wood safety railing secured to the door casing prevents you from exiting the room. One other issue we encountered on the morning we checked out, was a noticeable drop in water pressure and temperature as we were getting ourselves ready to depart. My wife ended up with a cold shower which was very unpleasant. We did not experience this the previous morning. When I mentioned it to the front desk clerk upon checkout, I was provided with an apology and the assurance that a maintenance worker would be instructed to look into the matter. Overall, the hotel provided a good nights rest in our King-Sized bed and the room was clean and warm during the cold fall nights. We would stay at this establishment again if we ever find ourselves needing a place to stay in Freeport in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainerbychoice, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Freeport Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
We would love to have you back when you come to visit Freeport again. We are always happy to help you pick out the best room for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

A huge disappointment!! Hotel staff were unfriendly, young and uneducated, hotel is old and smells musky, room was next to the stairwell and ice machine door, beautiful view of the highway. Sad. Not worth the price by any means. Cafe on property was okay for breakfast but certainly nothing special to talk about although the waitstaff were friendly. Would not stay or recommend anyone to stay here. There seems to be plenty of other hotels to stay at in Freeport, ME.

Room Tip: With the age of this place I cannot imagine any room here worth spending a night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, NB, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

A short time after we checked into our room the was a very large beetle type insect about 1 1/2" long comfortably resting on our pillow. I removed it assuming it was carried in from our or someone else's clothing or luggage. The following day, after an afternoon of shopping, we arrived back at our room to find approximately 50-60 harmless Lady bugs crawling around the ceiling of our room. I called the desk to inform them of the problem and they were very apologetic and relocated us to another room in another building. While moving into the new room there was another large insect the size of the first lingering on the ceiling in the corridor. I ignored it and entered our room only to find another Lady bug crawling around the curtains of this room. As there was only one visible, we tolerated it's harmless nature. I realize that the forested surroundings makes for some enhanced insect activity, on the mild afternoon we had, to be expected. However, the number of insects entering our first room was way beyond acceptable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainerbychoice, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Freeport Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
You stayed in our Topside Building which many of our guests prefer since many of the rooms have nice water views. It has always been part of our property here. It has the additional benefit that you can have a great dinner and some drinks at the Muddy Rudder and do not have to drive back to the room. The other building is called Hillside and we are always glad to put guests where they prefer based on availability.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Okay so the big attraction is the shopping in Freeport, 14 years ago this was the first accommodation out of Boston on a Friday night in October that had a room. We liked it and the Café next door we made a return visit that holiday, then came back again in September 2004, so this was our fourth stay. This time our room was Topside, across the river behind the Muddy Rudder. The room was on the lower level with the veranda to sit on (luckily there was a gap in the trees so we could look across the river) The room was clean and everything worked

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainerbychoice, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Freeport Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed your stay on the Topside deck. Thanks for your repeat business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Freeport Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Freeport Inn

Address: 31 U.S. Route One, Freeport, ME 04032
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 hotels in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Freeport Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to this Freeport, Maine hotel offering comfortable and affordable accommodations near L.L. Bean, Freeport Outlets and Bowdoin College. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Freeport Inn where the staff is friendly, the service is impeccable and where the accommodations are family friendly and affordable. Nestled on 25 acres of quiet lush marsh, this hotel offers convenient access to many local attractions, shopping and dining options in and around Freeport. Guests staying at this Freeport Best Western hotel will enjoy a non-traditional, two building property featuring some guest rooms with beautiful river views, all equipped with cable television, and free high-speed Internet access. Dining is made easy at the BEST WESTERN Freeport Inn with two restaurants located right on-site. Guests are welcome to take a refreshing dip in the hotel's outdoor swimming pool or enjoy some family fun on the children's playground. Pets are welcome at this Freeport hotel.There is no better lodging choice than the BEST WESTERN Freeport Inn when visiting Freeport, Maine. Guests to this Freeport hotel can enjoy a day of shopping at nearby L.L. Bean and the Freeport Outlets complete with over 100 plus brand name outlet stores. Located in the mid coast region of Maine, guests will certainly not be short of activities to enjoy including playing golf or exploring the local sites like Winslow Park and Portland Headlight Lighthouse. Bowdoin College is located nearby making the BEST WESTERN Freeport Inn the perfect place to stay while visiting students. Guests often choose to stay at this Freeport hotel because of its convenient proximity to area events such as the Clam Festival and Lobster Triathlon. The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN Freeport Inn is ready to ensure an enjoyable stay in Freeport, Maine. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Freeport Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Freeport Hotel Freeport
Best Western Freeport Hotel
Freeport Best Western
BEST WESTERN Freeport Inn Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Freeport Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.