We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harraseeket Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Harraseeket Inn to your Saves list
Harraseeket Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   162 Main St., Freeport, ME 04032   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is a beautiful hotel set in a lovely surround. Highest quality all round. We never ate in the main restaurant but the tavern food was excellent quality. All staff really friendly and nothing was ever too much trouble. The location couldn't be better. Close to the shops, bars and restaurants. We could tell that many guests return frequently and it is easy to see why. Thanks to everyone for making it such a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    104
    41
    10
    11
See reviews for
119
299
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Quispamsis, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My husband and I saw an ad in our local Saint John NB newspaper for a package for 2 nights in a super comfy King bed, dinner, lunch, 2 breakfasts and 2 afternoon teas - all for great value. We had originally booked elsewhere for our trip & changed plans to stay here and are we ever glad we did. When you enter Freeport, the Inn is right as you enter the town. It's a mere block from great shopping including LL Bean, outlet mall, and great local shops - you never need to use your car, easy and pleasant walk to everywhere and they have loads of free parking. Our room was clean, pleasant and the bed was sooo darned comfortable. The entire Inn is gorgeous and they have antiques and unique items spread throughout the Inn that we enjoyed looking at. The bedding and towels didn't have that stiff bleached awful feeling of traditional hotels and the room was a very nice size. We thought that having dinner included meant a restricted menu - not the case. We were informed we could order anything off the menu including starters, salads, entrees and desserts - we paid only for our drinks and gratuities. The food was extraordinary, a real treat & lovely romantic meal. Lunch and breakfast buffets were equally good - lunch buffet had such nice options and the best potatoe salad I have ever had ! And don't miss tea - a lovely opportunity to visit with other guests and staff.
The staff were wonderful and welcoming - all seemed happy to be working there and added to the experience.
The only minor criticism we would have is that we ordered room service for dinner one night and it didn't even come close to meeting the standards of either restaurant in the Inn - take the time to go downstairs, you will be disappointed if you order to the room.
This was an extravagant treat for my husband and I and the experience has converted us. Goodbye Comfort Inn, Hello comfort....we will never stay in a conventional hotel again !

Room Tip: Next time we will ask for a room overlooking the garden out back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

At the Tavern, Despite no apparent entrance ( had to go to 3 mislabeled doors) it has a lovely interior, attentive staff and delicious food and drink at a very reasonable price. Spouse had the best risotto ever!!!! Will need to stop whenever we pass through again!!!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your review of our Broad Arrow Tavern! We're sorry it was so difficult to find, and we plan to update and improve the signage directing guests who aren't staying at the inn. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Yes, the Harraseeket serves "tea & crumpets" every afternoon (a great value, in fact). But, turn on all of your senses, and wander around- smell the maple woodsmoke from the Broadarrow Tavern's oven. Note the prints by Winslow Homer and JJ Audubon on the walls.

This is an Inn on the edge of the Great North Woods. Eat hearty, sleep well, and pull on your calked boots in the morning!

A big tip of the hat to Celeste and Jessica in the Harvest dining room; Jennie, Christine and Sheila in the Tavern; and to Deb (our Five Star Char) on the 2nd floor.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
"This is an Inn on the edge of the Great North Woods. Eat hearty, sleep well, and pull on your calked boots in the morning!"
What great imagery; harkens back to Maine's lumbering days of tall trees and tough men. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay, and your praise of our excellent staff will keep them walking on air for days. Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My family lives in Freeport so they go often for their Sunday Brunch and love every part of it. Four of us went to lunch in the Board Arrow Tavern to partake of their Lobster Rolls with regular or sweet potatoe fries. We opted for both. It's a beautiful, historic tavern. I didn't stay there so can't speak of the rooms but the staff are friendly and accommdating so I'm sure your stay would be memorable. I was allowed to take photos of the main rooms and this old Inn sparkles with cleanliness and has authentic decor. A lot of the locals go there for lunch and dinner so you need reservations.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review! Both our Broad Arrow Tavern and Maine Harvest Restaurant are supplied by local Maine farmers and fishermen, and our talented chefs create wonderful fare with the freshest of ingredients. We also offer gluten free and low glycemic options for those with dietary restricitons. Our Broad Arrow Tavern does not take reservations, it's first come, first seated, but the Maine Harvest Restaurant accepts reservations both by phone (1-800-342-6423) and on Open Table for dinner and Sunday Brunch. Thank you again for your wonderful review and we hope to see you the next time you visit your Freeport family!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I will be definitely returning to this inn. Make sure you book with the inn itself over the phone or online and you receive afternoon tea included in your stay. Tea is definitely worth it, who needs dinner after their true to english style tea. I had a beautiful garden view. Rooms were clean, beautiful bathroom and great products. Very helpful staff and plently of free parking

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We're very glad you chose to stay with us! Guests who book direct with us, either over the phone or on our web site,will receive a full buffet breakfast and afternoon tea included with their room rate, a great value. Thank you for your review and we look forward to your next visit!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surry, Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great Sunday Brunch, Lobster and Prime Rib all you can eat, you have to try the home made Ice Milk. Hotel is wonderful very clean. Staff is better than best, nothing was to small. Have reservations for Christmas and their Grand Buffet.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from elevator, however room was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We're so glad you enjoyed our Sunday Brunch. Chef Elizabeth DeFranco is just amazing; her brunch is a year round celebration of locally grown and harvested Maine foods. Reservations highly recommended! Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Harraseeket Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harraseeket Inn

Address: 162 Main St., Freeport, ME 04032
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Freeport
#1 Family Hotel in Freeport
#3 Business Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harraseeket Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn in Freeport,Maine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Harraseeket Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harraseeket Hotel Freeport
Harraseeket Inn Freeport, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harraseeket Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.