We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buffet in the Buff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harraseeket Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Harraseeket Inn to your Saves list
Harraseeket Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   162 Main St., Freeport, ME 04032   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Danvers, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Buffet in the Buff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

No, you can't really enjoy the delicious Harraseeket lunch buffet in the buff, unless you order room service! Just returned from another weekend at the Harraseeket with our friends, the Solomons! We always make sure we arrive in time for the lunch buffet! They always have a wonderful selection of fresh and organic foods. A warning though, you may eat so much you won't feel like a big dinner that night! We were on the Girlfriends Getaway package which included a $50 LL Bean gift card per room, breakfast buffet 2 mornings, afternoon tea/cheese/cookies and a full dinner at the Inn with no restrictions or surcharges for prime rib or lobster! Our room (305) was actually a suite with a fireplace and sitting area for before dinner cocktails with our friends. As usual the staff, including Jacky and (the other) Penny from the front desk, and Sarah and Jenny, our waitresses were superb! We also had a nice chat with Chip Gray, the General Manager and one of the owners. When you're in the Broad Head Tavern make sure you see the picture of his mother Nancy who opened the Inn. It's from 1945, showing Nancy as a 12 year old posing with a floatplane on a lake in Maine! Can't wait to go back, next time including a Sunday for their fabulous brunch with all you can eat lobster and prime rib for only $29.95 I believe. Thanks again to the whole staff for a great weekend!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    104
    41
    10
    11
See reviews for
116
290
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wareham
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Excellent time. A blizzard and then illness forced us to postpone this getaway twice, yet the Inn was very understanding and accommodating. Third time was a charm. Very nice room and furnishings. Probably one of the best Inns we have stayed at in that regard. The food in the grill was also outstanding. Best lobster I have had in years. Sweet, tender and juicy. Lunch Buffet also had a wide and interesting variety. Breakfast? More than you could ever eat. To top it off a gift certificate to LL Bean. Excellent. Would do it again only stay longer.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for your wonderful review! This is the season when cabin fever reaches epidemic proportions, and our "Cabin Fever" package is a sure fire cure. We're so glad you enjoyed your getaway with us, and hope to see you again soon!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My Girlfriend & I spend the past Saturday night at the Harraseeket Inn and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Could have been warmer outside for walking around but not something the Inn could have fixed ... The Front Desk Staff was excellent, we enjoyed the Afternoon Tea and there was plenty of food available as well. The Buffet Breakfast was well stocked and the food was better than good, as was the Tavern, where we went for dinner. The Inn is a nice & enjoyable walk from LL Bean, Clarks Shoe Outlet, Whoppie Pie Store, Bass, etc. along with various other restaurants. Our Room was in the Carriage House, which accepts pets (we do not have one) but we could not tell if there were any there. Room #114 was exceptionally large and we enjoyed the sauna as well as the Fire Place. The Inn makes it very easy to start a fire, in fact one was set-up when we arrived and we took it from there. Sauna, Wine & a Fireplace, excellent time.

Room Tip: We got a great room so not sure what you would need to do. As cold & windy walking between the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 3 days ago
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, despite the unseasonably cold weather! It sure has been a long cold winter and a chilly spring thus far, but we're hopeful that the tulips and daffodils will soon be in bloom and warmer weather will prevail. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a girls weekend this past weekend (March 13-15,2015) and we had a great time.
The Harraseeket Inn is a very well kept inn. Its beyond clear. The help at the inn is wonderful always greeting you whatever part of the inn you are in. A full course breakfast is included if you book on line(but check to see if it is included if you phone them).
The breakfast is a buffet and its all you can eat. The food is excellent, everything from soup to nuts. The have a very nice indoor pool, which we all used on mini vacation. THe pool was very relaxing. They have an afternoon tea with tea and cookies that is included. They as turn your bed down at night and a leave a piece of candy on your bed. If you like to shop they have many outlets including LL Bean, Coach, North Face
just to name a few. A great place to go even if you don't like to shop. I would give the Harrasseket Inn 5 stars if I were the one to rate it. Go and have fun, its only a 3 hour drive from Warwick, RI

Room Tip: If you go there web site they all different price room which may have a sunny side, larger room etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for your review! Our room rates do include a full buffet breakfast and afternoon tea if you book your reservation directly with us, either on our web site or by phone. This is a great deal so it's well worth taking a few minutes to book your own reservation. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athenry, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I first visited the Harraseeket Inn when invited to a scrumptous buffet lunch in their tavern, I had been staying at the other "name" inns/hotels/motels in Freeport and Portland over the years since the family homeplace was sold, but none are like this!! Stayed with a friend on business for three nights, mid-week in March - the Innkeeper kindly upgraded our room to a two room suite. The sheets and towels are luxurious and made in the USA, as are most of the room's fixtures and decor. Nice touch!! The food is locally sourced and most, if not all, is organic!! Tastes wonderful, too! The breakfast is to die for - a true full hot and cold feast - far surpassing any other I have had, including the Four Seasons in Dublin!! Home made everything! Even the giftshop has locally made items and books by Maine authors! (Although, Robert McClosky's Time of Wonder was noticeably missing) I really wish I could have simply stayed, relaxed, and taken a swim or two in the gorgeous indoor lap pool!! Highly recommended, especially during the week in the winter :) I am looking forward to returning!

Room Tip: The suites are lovely and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and you're so right about Robert McKloskey's "Time of Wonder" deserving space in our gift shop, along with "One Morning in Maine" and "Blueberries for Sal". His children's books are iconic Maine legends. We will look into getting them on our book shelf ASAP. Thank you so much for posting your review and we look forward to your next visit!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Last July, I celebrated my own birthday by inviting my two adult children on a four-day L.L. Bean Adventures kayaking trip; we spent four days kayaking and camping on deserted islands off of the coast of Maine. There were no showers, of course, and we had no running water. We used a compost potty station in a tall narrow tent, and slept on the ground on little air mattresses. On the final day, in a heavy downpour (great way to finish!), we came back and spent the night at the Harraseeket, and it felt to us like we had arrived at a paradise.

The staff was cheerful and friendly. Our room was huge, elegant, and sumptuous. The bathroom was spotless and luxurious, and the toiletries were a treat. When I called to say we only had two plush white terry robes in the closet, and there were three of us in the room, they immediately sent another robe. And amazingly, a few minutes after we chucked in, room service arrived with a gorgeous fruit and cheese platter for us, their gift to me because it was my birthday. We took long hot showers and then naps and then had a fun meal in the tavern. The next morning, we couldn't believe how much wonderful food was offered at the complimentary breakfast buffet. I forgot my brand new L.L. Bean yellow rain jacket in the room's closet, and the front desk staff found it and mailed it back to me cheerfully. I promised to return--thinking of course of a summer stay.

But yesterday, I drove four hours to Freeport to look at some solid cherry Shaker furniture I was thinking about buying--it was beautiful--and when I asked for the best place for a lobster roll for lunch before my drive home, the locals at the store suggested Harrasseket. I went to the Tavern alone, sat at the bar, had a conversation with a female bartender who shook a perfectly icy martini, and ate perhaps the best lobster roll of my life (ordered a tavern side salad instead of fries--and it was beautiful roasted beet chunks and goat cheese on field greens with a mustard vinaigrette), while chatting with the locals who come here for the lavish lunch buffet. I had the sense that everybody here really cares about making you happy. If you come, I feel pretty confident that you will remember your stay. This is the first hotel review I've ever written, but after two great experiences, I think they deserve it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Wow, your four day LLBean kayaking adventure/birthday celebration last July sounds absolutely wonderful...all except for the downpour at the end! We're so glad your first stay with us was the perfect end to your grand birthday adventure, and we're so pleased you enjoyed your lunch in the Broad Arrow Tavern. Thank you so much for posting this review, and we hope to see you again soon!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Maine
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for two nights in room with two queen beds. Easy check-in and friendly front-desk staff. Comfortable room, a little on the tired side, but fine. Loved the Jacuzzi tub. Free wi-fi worked well for Netflix. Ate at the bar and had room service. The food is just average - don't splurge here. An easy walk to shops in Freeport. Nice tea time in the afternoon in beautiful room with fireplace.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your review. Your comments about the food being average will be passed on to our chefs in both the Broad Arrow Tavern and Maine Harvest Dining Room. We utilize the best and freshest of locally grown and harvested ingredients and the fare is usually very good. Our farmers and growers work hard to bring us their harvest and we try very hard to prepare it with the excellence it deserves. Your feedback is important to us and helps us to improve our service. We hope to see you again soon!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harraseeket Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harraseeket Inn

Address: 162 Main St., Freeport, ME 04032
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Freeport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Freeport
#3 Business Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harraseeket Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn in Freeport,Maine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Harraseeket Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harraseeket Hotel Freeport
Harraseeket Inn Freeport, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harraseeket Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.