We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Anniversary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harraseeket Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Harraseeket Inn to your Saves list
Harraseeket Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   162 Main St., Freeport, ME 04032   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
fullerton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Wonderful Anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This was our second stay at the inn and our 30th Wedding Anniversary. Our first visit was 7 years ago with older school age children, this time we came solo. Still such a lovely place!! The rooms are quaint yet comfortable and the included breakfast is absolutely WONDERFUL! A very nice way to start the day with an all-you-can-eat breakfast in a beautiful sunny room overlooking the gardens and lawn. The tavern is relaxing and cozy after a long day of sight seeing or shopping for a late supper and/or drinks. The Freeport Outlet Shops are within walking distance (for those that can walk without difficulties) and there are several nice dining places sprinkled around town. Freeport is also a nice central location for traveling to many of the major tourist attractions. Since we live on the west coast, this is a beautiful place to stay while taking day trips around Maine and southern New Hampshire.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    100
    39
    9
    10
See reviews for
109
275
13
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Berkshires, MA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Harraseeket Inn for Freeport's "Sparkle Weekend". The location, in downtown Freeport, is fabulous. The inn also is dog-friendly, a feature we needed. The fireplaces room was lovely and clean. We didn't need the jacuzzi tub, but it was available. The bathroom was very bright and spacious. The bed had nice linens, but the mattress was somewhat soft for sleeping. The stated dog amenities were provided: treats. a can of food, clean-up bags, bed. The "bed", however, was just a small rug. Fortunately, we brought dog bed, dog kennel, etc. The evening we arrived, we decided to order room service for dinner so that we didn't have to leave our dog until she got more acclimated to the room. The person taking the room service order did not seem to know the menu as she had to get off the phone a number of times to check on things about which we asked questions. We stated that I had a tree nut and pesto allergy when we ordered. The meal took much longer to arrive than the stated 20 minutes. The food was cold enough that I wondered if it sat for a time before someone delivered it. (I don't expect it to be piping hot when it has to be delivered to the outside carriage house, but it was beyond that.) My initial bites of food were reasonably tasty. After a few bites of coleslaw, however, I found a whole walnut in the middle it. This was a huge concern due to my nut allergy. I had to take medication and quickly made some black coffee. Then I waited it out to see if I got to the point of needing an ER visit and wondering how that was going to work with our dog accompanying us on this trip. I did not feel well for the rest of the night, spoiling our first evening at the inn and leaving me unable to finish my meal. I reported this in the morning to the registration desk. The woman who listened to my concerns assured me that she would inform a manager. For the rest of my visit, I heard from no one. The fact that no one addressed the issue was very disconcerting to me. I also would not attempt ordering room service again. We did eat the included breakfasts in the dining room without incident. The food was tasty, though somewhat limited. The cinnamon rolls on Friday morning were delicious and I looked forward to having them again on Saturday or Sunday, but they did not appear again. I was afraid to eat most of the other pastry-type items because of the fear of ingesting nuts again. The serving dishes need some re-thinking, as there are no spaces for the lids when serving oneself. We were unable to experience the afternoon tea on this visit, as we had other plans during that time it was offered. On a past visit, it was very nice. The Harraseeket Inn is a lovely property, albeit rather pricey, but the lack of communication from anyone about the walnut incident marred our visit this time.

Room Tip: If you have a dog, you will be in carriage house, but it is very nice.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very good; we appreciated having a recycle container in the room
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, Maryland
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Harraseeket Inn has been on my "bucket list" for years. On our recent trip to Maine we decided to spend two nights in Freeport and chose our room based on this description from the website- "This quaint and cozy room is reminiscent of typical New England, with slanted walls, dormered windows, a Queen size bed with an interesting Twig headboard." I didn't realize that slanted walls meant you couldn't stand up in about one-third of the room. I'm a short person and bumped my head on several occasions. My husband did as well. The bed wasn't particularly comfortable and the room itself just didn't function for us, however the bathroom was nice. The rest of the inn is great- we enjoyed the walking accessibility to Freeport, the common rooms are lovely, breakfast is well done. We loved the fire pit in the front of the inn and met several other couples there we enjoyed chatting with. The front desk staff was especially friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice hotel, right where you want to be in Freeport. Easy walking distance to all Freeport attractions LL Bean etc. Nice fire pit to enjoy a drink by. Pool was warm. Food is pricey but generally quite good. Dinner service was somewhat lacking in their higher end restaurant but ironically, the pub service is exceptional. Nice breakfast buffet every day. Overall, a good value.

Room Tip: They're all pretty nice.
See more room tips
Green Features: Talk the talk but doesn't walk the walk. Exchanged towels everyday no matter where we put them. Nice enviro friendly signage though.
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your review. We apologize for your less than perfect service in the Maine Harvest Dining Room and we'll bring your comments to our wait staff's attention. They're usually on top of their game. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again!
Happy Holidays from the Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Connecticut, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you have a chance to stay here, DON'T!!! Don't miss the wonderful food in the tavern, don't miss the ambiance of the decor, don't miss the fine service and dinner offerings in the Maine dining room, don't miss the genuine friendliness of the staff, don't miss the comfortable room, the swimming pool, the antique furniture. If you are going to Freeport and don't stay here, don't go to Freeport. The only recommendation I would suggest is to allow guests to make reservations for the Tavern at night. The breakfast buffet, included with the room, is perfect. I will.definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you! We appreciate your patronage and your review and hope you have a wonderful holiday season. DON'T forget to visit us again next time you're in Freeport!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We make a yearly visit to the Harraseeket Inn and are never disappointed. This quaint inn with lovely grounds has a wonderful staff, a nice restaurant and tavern, and cozy rooms.It also has a heated indoor pool. Included in the room price is a full afternoon tea and a delicious buffet breakfast. It is 2 short blocks to L.L. Bean and many shops and outlet stores.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are very quiet.
See more room tips
Green Features: This hotel is qualified as a green hotel with many environmentally friendly practices.
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your review! We hope you have a lovely holiday season and we look forward to seeing you next year!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Throughly enjoyed out 30th anniversary getaway. We had a hand-written congratulations note along with fruit,cheese and cracker plate when we arrive. Our room was large with a nice wood fireplace. We had dinner in the Broad Arrow Tavern - sat at the bar talking to regulars. Jeremy, the bartender, was very friendly. We had dinner in the Main Dining room for our anniversary and the rack of lamb was the best I have had in years and service was great.

Room Tip: get a room with a fireplace
See more room tips
Green Features: This inn does it right - recycle bins in bathroom and great soap.
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We're so glad you enjoyed your 30th anniversary with us and we wish you many more! Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again!
Happy holidays!
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Harraseeket Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harraseeket Inn

Address: 162 Main St., Freeport, ME 04032
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Freeport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Freeport
#3 Business Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harraseeket Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn in Freeport,Maine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Harraseeket Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harraseeket Hotel Freeport
Harraseeket Inn Freeport, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harraseeket Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.